We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queen's Residence B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Ypsilanti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a wonderful place! My family and I ended our holiday with a two night stay at the Queens Residence. We were treated like royalty! Our special diets were catered for perfectly and we wish we could have stayed longer!
Joe and Marla were very welcoming and their home is stunningly beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

One of the very best parts of owing a B & B is that you get to meet wonderful people from all over the world. We are so glad that we were able to host this delightful family from Ireland. Hopefully this review will encourage others from outside the U.S. to stay with us. And yes, we make every effort to accommodate special dietary needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I were warmly welcomed by the owners, who readily accommodated an early check-in we requested a half-hour before we arrived. The first thing we noticed is the home is beautifully decorated and maintained. We stayed in the Newton Suite, which has a large comfortable bed, and another bed (and an additional sleep sofa) in an adjoining room. The adjoining room is set up like a living room, where we enjoyed watching movies and reading. The bathroom was enormous! We didn't eat breakfast because we were visiting family, but it smelled wonderful. And there were always (absolutely delicious) homemade cookies available (such as peanut butter and cinnamon nut), which we enjoyed with complimentary sherry in the evenings.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Newton Suite. It feels like your own private home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are glad you liked our inn (and the cookies!). Next time you will have to eat breakfast with us...that is half the fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

In March, my son had his Senior Voice Recital at Eastern Michigan University. We flew from Colorado for this event and stayed at The Queen's Residence, yet again. My family took up four of the five rooms and everyone loved the stay. Marla and Joe took care of special diets for the breakfasts, which was greatly appreciated. My mother is still talking about the house and what a great weekend it was! Marla even attended the recital which was very special to us. Thank you! I will be there again in a few weeks.

Room Tip: The Newton Suite is great if you are bringing along a third person, as there is a bed in the adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

This family has been coming to The Queen's Residence for most of their son's tenure at Eastern Michigan University which is right here in Ypsilanti. Guests who return repeatedly are what make this such a great business. We look forward to seeing them and think of them as friends. Thanks so much for your loyalty. We will miss you when Jeff graduates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Could not have been better. Our 2 night stay was wonderful. This was a quick getaway for us and was very pleased. Joe and Marla were wonderful and the home and rooms are absolutely stunning. Thank you for the fantastic breakfast each morning, we enjoyed great conversation with other guests and the atmosphere wasjust perfect. You can tell the thought and care you have put into your home and we thank you for sharing it with us. We will definitely be back!!

February 14,15
Erie, Michigan

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjolymcso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Your review is a great testimony to the benefits of B & B's and "stay-cations", e.g., vacations that are often spur of the moment and close to home. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our B & B, conversation with other guests and the breakfasts. Again, where else than a B & B can you experience a unique home, great people and good food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

An exquisitely decorated B&B and a beautiful old home. In Ypsilanti on business, so unable to enjoy the full meal, but Marla went out of her way to leave us breakfast items that were fresh and delicious. Joe and she made local restaurant recommendations and really made a routine business trip delightful. I would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We are trying to attract more business travelers so I am hoping your glowing review will give other folks away from home on business an incentive to stay somewhere other than the usual cookie cutter hotels. When you come back you will hopefully be able to have one of our full three course breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our stay was wonderful. The home is immaculate, the furniture and all appointments period, the breakfast delicious. We only regretted that we didn't have time to tour the 18th century tavern located in the basement - next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much! We try very hard to keep standards high so that our guests have the best possible experience. We appreciate the recognition for our efforts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Sometimes you hate to write a glowing review because you know that you'll have a hard time booking your next trip! However, The Queen's Residence deserves nothing but exceptional praise. The Inn is a late 1800's, impeccably restored jewel. Marla spared no expense and gave up lots of time up-fitting for modern creature comforts and yet not disturbing the elegance that this Grand Dame possesses. The home is beautifully decorated and the elegant rooms are well appointed with beautiful baths, and many, many amenities. We LOVED Marla and Joe - wonderful Innkeepers who understand that inn-keeping is an art. Another amazing thing about this property is the circa 1783 tavern that is in place in the basement. Way too much history to discuss here, so be sure to ask Marla and Joe all about it. We had wonderful local restaurant recommendations from the Innkeepers. We also savored a delicious breakfast of strawberry stuffed French toast, sausage, and eggs! We liked the Inn SO much that we stayed on a Saturday night and returned on the upcoming Friday evening. Thank you, Marla and Joe, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VASusie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Wow! I feel so blessed to have such wonderful guests. Thanks for this glowing review. It is so great to be appreciated. What other job can you think of where you get such positive feedback?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ypsilanti
0.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest
3.5 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Parish House Inn
Parish House Inn
#2 of 2 in Ypsilanti
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Residence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Residence B&B

Address: 220 S Huron St, Ypsilanti, MI 48197-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ypsilanti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ypsilanti
Price Range: £105 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Residence B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Located in downtown historic Ypsilanti, just minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia, Belleville and Canton, The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast, is a unique relaxing experience that can not be duplicated anywhere for any price! The inn is ideally situated in the Ann Arbor area for University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University visitors and parents as well as convenient to the Detroit Metro Airport. The exclusive amenities make The Queen's Residence Bed and Breakfast popular for getaway weekends as well as for business travelers to the Ann Arbor area. Here you can enjoy the one of a kind experience of a fireside chat in our original 1700s tavern. Each guest room is unique in its décor and does not have a common wall with any other guest room increasing your privacy during your stay. The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast is famous for its level of guest service and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Queen's Residence B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing