We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven - no worry, excellent service and time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We are currently in resort but have been so impressed ( to date) with service standards that I felt compelled to write some review now and conclude on our return to the uk. Check in was smooth, cold towels, welcome drink we arrived early from Dubai but were allowed to use hotel facilities until actual check in at 2pm. Room was spotless, luxury, comfortable bed, complimentary mini bar (excluding alcohol) great toiletries which are regularly replenished, complimentary daily newspaper and a WOW at breakfast with complimentary daily smoothie, morning booster juices, self service buffet or choice of al a carte menu, a wide range of tea and coffer, genuine natural and heart felt smiles and service with nothing at all being too much trouble. Said at the pool area deserves great recognition running for towels, looking out for us before we arrive on the pool deck, complimentary cool box with evian facial mist, orange juice, mineral water followed throughout the day with sun glass cleaning, wet scented cold towels, fruit, more towels, sorbet or ice cream before the option of complimentary afternoon tea, followed by a quick change before enjoying canapés and complimentary wine from 6pm - 7pm in the court yard. As the Managing Director of my own recruitment firm another "service industry" in need of peace and relaxation and time out this continues to be a fantastic experience the hotels in Europe could learn a lot from this group and their people however I wonder if the same service levels would be experienced in other resorts within the shangra la or if we have hit on the jewel in the crown?

We would certainly be interested in learning more about other locations around the world in which our experience in oman would be replicated if someone could spare us 5 minutes. more to follow....

Outstanding staff - Geoffrey on reception, Siad - pool area and all of the breakfast staff for Al Husn guests

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerslogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Travellerslogs, Thank you for the lovely review of Al Husn and I hope your stay continues to be enjoyable. Your detailed descriptions of the services and little touches that the guests of Al Husn experience are certainly appreciated and I am sure will be useful to guests to decide which of the hotels within the resort to choose. The staff members you mention are certainly some of our stars within the resort and thank you for highlighting them. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

The resort was lovely, super kid friendly!
Food was ok, depends in which restaurants you dined in.
Rooms were very very small and very basic for a Shangri La.
Very expensive for what you get for the price per night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghanfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Meghanfa, Thank you for posting your review in regards to your recent stay on TripAdvisor. As you mention Al Waha is the hotel within the resort that is most suitable for children with the large kids pool, splash pad and lazy river. I am sorry to hear that you found the room assigned to be small. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It is a few years since I have been to this resort but it still holds lovely memories. I have in fact been three times, one with my husband and twice with one of my daughters. There are three grades of hotel in the resort - Al Waha, Al Bandar and Al Husn. We stayed in Al Waha and found this perfect. All areas of the hotel were air-conditioned. The rooms were spacious with a good sized bathroom en-suite. There was a small balcony but as we spent most of our time in and around the pools, we didn't really use this. There are several pools catering for both adults and children. There is a stretch of water called the Lazy River on which you sail in a rubber boat. Very relaxing and doesn't need much effort to move as the water moves for you! Also a beach but the sand was generally too hot to walk on! Camel rides on the beach too. Restaurants are good although some slightly expensive. We had breakfast in the main restaurant which caters for all nationalities. Not sure what the other two hotels offer although we did get a sneak view of Al Husn which was very grand. There is a Kids Club, a Spa, Craft shops etc. To get to the resort from the airport, you would need a taxi which approx 4 years ago cost about £25 each way. The staff were all very polite and helpful too. Would thoroughly recommend the Shangri-La resort, whatever grade of hotel you opt for and hope to go back there one day. Please note I have had to opt for staying in August 2013 as no other years mentioned but it was in August we were there - the cheapest time of the year but VERY hot so if you don't like the heat go at another time of year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haeremai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Haeremail18, It is very nice to hear that you have decided to review the resort in regards to your last stay a few years ago and for highlighting that it still holds special memories for you and your family. Oman has changed slightly since four years ago with better roads, a beautiful opera house and three golf courses. The resort also added two new restaurants so it would be great if you visited again! Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday. We had a smooth check in and when entering our room saw that we had two (not one) cakes and a bottle of bubbly to our surprise.

We ate in most of the restaurants where the food was of a very high standard and well presented. To eat at Samba evening buffet you will pay RO 18.000. We found it cheaper to eat at the buffet restaurants but order from the a la carte menu. Expect to pay RO 18.500 on average for a bottle of wine (RO 3.8000 for a glass of wine) and beer is Heineken draft at RO 4.200 (large glass). Would recommend the tapas and fish restaurants. Key thing to remember with these prices that there is an added service charge of 8% and then a government tax of 9% which you will find mentioned at the bottom of all menus so do not be surprised when you get the bill.

We enjoyed the service by the beach and pool areas. Staff are swift to make up your sunbed and then bring you an ice box full of cold bottled waters together with cold towels and fruit. To top it there is a lady who comes and cleans your sunglasses on a daily basis.

We also would like to mention the following:

Courtesy bus to Central Mall was a great way to see Muscat and to do some shopping.

Rooms are large and the bed was so comfortable.

Hotel is very clean in all areas.

The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. They are a credit to Mark the General Manager.

Final tip: Do not book a taxi transfer through your travel agent back home. They wanted £80 one way at time of booking our holiday. We said no and got a taxi at Muscat airport costing £25. There is a taxi booth you pay outside arrivals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAFCWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear TheAFCWombles, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your tips with the other readers which I am sure they will find helpful. Hopefully we will see you back at the resort next year. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth time staying at the resort and the third time staying at Al waha. The service is not Shangri la standard at all. They checked us in a wrong room, not as per our request. Then we had to wait for almost 2 hours to get our room.
They have a shortage in staff as we have been told, therefore the pool area is filled with towels. The service at Al Tanoor restaurant was horrible, no one is attending you. The food quality was poor as well for a $75 buffet per person.
Not a Shangri la standard at all

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibrahim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Ibrahim 1,Thank you for returning to the resort for the fourth time and please accept my sincere apologies that on this visit we failed to meet your expectations from previous visits. Should you decide to return in the future please advise me in advance at mark.kirk@shangri-la.com and I will personally ensure that your required room is ready on arrival. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here with my daughter and her partner for 4 days in November, the sea-view rooms were good not as good as the Meridian in Fujairah where we stayed a few days before, but the view was stunning over the lazy river, through the palm trees to the beach.
The most prominant thing about the whole resort which is made up of the three hotels, set in a beatiful bay with the mountains as a backdrop and no-one else near, is that the staff are amazing, they are so friendly and helpful, not in a this is my job sort of way, but just genuinely really nice.
The beach and rest areas are very pretty, and the service is again amazing, with towels laid out when you arrive, cold water supplied in a chill box, just everything done for your enjoyment, even snorkel gear if wanted, as there is a lot of interesting fish life.
The restaurants were good, and spending the evening in the long bar in the Al Bander courtyard looking out over the bay in the warm wind, with a glass of wine in your hand was to me as close to perfection as it could be.
They lay on some good activities, we went sea kayaking and snorkling one morning, great fun and saw lots of interesting marine life, and had great fun in the waves that had been wipped up by the wind.
If you are going, it's worth noting that you have access to almost everything no matter which hotel you are staying in, apart from a few parts of Al Husn that are only for the very rich.
Though we had some showers and high winds, it wasn't cold averaging about 25c and didn't really effect us much, as the showers were short.
We will definitely be returning, as the whole experience is magnificent.

They also lay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Webbers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear EnglandPorky, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your family and thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback on the staff is appreciated and I assure you means a lot to them, I am happy to hear you took advantage of the activities offered and saw some interesting marine life just of the beach. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a absoultely amazing weekend at this hotel. The weather was rain and thunder but it did not spoil it. The location is fantastic, to see the mountains and beach from the balcony was a dream.

We dined in the italian the first evening and the food was lovely and service was spot on.

Happy hour in the piano bar is also a must.

Do not have one complaint about our stay, and that is rare!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear S2331, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay. I am happy to read you enjoyed the Capri Court and Piano Bar and recommending these outlets to the other readers. It is good to hear that the unusual weather did not spoil the enjoyment of your visit. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
17.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
14.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 63 in Muscat
1,607 reviews
12.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 63 in Muscat
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 63 in Muscat
327 reviews
13.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
3.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel

Address: Barr Al Jissah, Muscat 100, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range: £167 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Waha
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Waha Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Waha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing