We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort, but a bit too big”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent our Easter holidays at the resort in the Al Husn part. Excellent service, great views, high quality food but the overall complex is too big and somehow vaguely remembers Las Vegas. Having said that the location is breathtaking and the quality is top.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Masimo A, Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments on the service and facilities. With regards to your comment on the size of the resort, while the complex is large the three hotels all have a different identity and the advantage for all guests is the large selection of facilities, restaurants and bars available. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well what to say, incredible hotel, its a very luxury hotel, money worth paid, service fantastic, facilities brilliant, so cleaner, to be honest the best hotel stayed so far. There is a apartments areas where children are no allowed to access so quite you can have your holiday quietly however, there is another area where are concentrated families which i recommend too, brilliant children area.

Room Tip: Al Husn Deluxe Sea View Room (King) All from this building are quite no children allowed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniloMaciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear DaniloMaciel, Thank you for the high ratings you have given to Al Husn in your recent review. I am happy to read you appreciated the way the three hotels have targeted different markets and thank you for your kind recommendations. Great pictures which I am sure will be enjoyed by the readers of your review. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was attending conference organized by our head office and they have selected the best hotel for that. We had to travel nearly 45 mins from the airport to reach the destination and the location is simply amazing. We enjoyed the luxury and tranquility with the breathtaking view of the sea. Rooms are large and extremely comfortable and I do not have anything to complain about .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank mahesh9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear mahese9910, Thank you for posting your review in regards to your business trip last year. I am thrilled to read that you found the resort the right choice for your conference and hopefully you will choose to return with your family for a leisure trip. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The view at this resort is simply astounding! I stayed at Al Bandar and my suite was awesome. The attention to detail and the service at this hotel really makes the stay a very pleasant one. I definitely did not want to leave at the end of my stay!.

Pros
- Rooms - I was fortunate enough to get a one-bedroom suite upgrade and boy was I not disappointed. The room was really nicely furnished and the welcome gifts were a really nice touch. I've stayed in bigger suites but I must say that the look and feel of the suite furnishings and the view over the sea really tops the other suites I have been in.

- Food - I tried a few of the restaurants here and they are all of really high quality and pretty good value for the type of hotel it is. I'm usually not a big fan of buffet food, but I found the buffet they served for dinner to be of pretty high quality. The Moroccan restaurant in al Husn had a great ambience with live music and food was really amazing!

- Attention to detail for your needs - The hotel has customer service at the forefront and center of their philosophy. For example, they provide flip flops for the beach in the room - which really came in handy as I forgot to bring mine. In addition, they also provide daily services to the city and the nearby Souk

- Quality service from Golden Circle - As a Golden Circle Diamond member, I was impressed by the effort the guest relations manager took in investigating my profile and making sure I obtained my favorite fruits!

- Recreational facilities - They offer the option to rent a kayak for free, which really came in handy as I used it to paddle all the way around to admire the astounding views. There was also a dinghy that I took out for one of the days. There is also a diving centre attached to the hotel so what more could one ask for!!

Cons
- Location is a bit far away from everything, but that's probably the whole point. If it rains and floods you are stuck
- No Horizon Club Lounge

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Han N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Han N, Thank you for the lovely review of the resort in regards to your recent visit. It is always nice to read positive feedback but as you’re Diamond member in our company’s Golden Circle program your feedback is extra special to us. Your feedback has been shared with the team and displayed proudly on the notice boards especially in the kitchen. Hopefully you will return to the resort in the near future. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent four days at Al-Husn just to confirm this is one of our favourite resorts in the Middle East. A superb location, wonderful rooms, charming restaurants and a cozy private beach just for Al-Husn guests (which means no children) makes this place a real paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Ricardo N, Thank you for choosing Al Husn and I am delighted to read that the resort has become one of your favorites resorts in the Middle East. The team and I look forward to seeing you back at the resort in the near future. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Service, accommodation and food at its best. What makes it even more perfect are the location and facilities. Very special with a wonderful mix of local charm and culture and modern luxury.

Friday brunch was very special!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mark R, Thank you for staying with us and posting you review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you appreciated the mix of local culture with today’s modern luxuries. Since you stayed in Al Husn with have upgraded the room amenities and now added Nepresso machine and Bose docking station to all rooms. I am sure you and other guests will appreciate these added luxuries when you return. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Really it is worth to celebrate your anniversary in shangri la alhuson.
All rooms have lovely sea views. The most thing I liked in alhuson was the privacy and the romantic atmosphere.
Even if you want to live some actions and entertainment, you can just use the elevator and share the others in albander and alwaha hotels where the beach is shared while in alhuson the beach is totally private.
Simply it is worth. ..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alkhaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Alkhaldi, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay in Al Husn with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that Al Husn was the perfect choice for your vacation. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
16.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
14.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,458 reviews
12.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 59 in Muscat
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
13.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa

Address: POBox 644, Barr Al Jissah, Muscat 100, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range: £219 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 180 rooms and suites, including the largest entry level rooms in Muscat, Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa elevates Omani hospitality to new heights, embracing the natural Asian service for which Shangri-La is renowned. Your private butler, daily afternoon tea, pre-dinner cocktails, pre-loaded iPods with personalized music selection, and complimentary mini bar ensure all needs are catered to. A team of dedicated Shangri-La specialists is available to tailor your experience from pre-arrival to departure. As a guest at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, you will enjoy signing privileges at 15 additional dining venues across adjacent sister property Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Husn
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Husn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing