We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Oasis Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tulip Headington Ruwi(Ruwi)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,978)
Filter reviews
1,978 results
Traveller rating
1,498
344
90
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,498
344
90
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaal husnprivate beachsorbetpre dinner drinksother hotelscocktail hourcool boxsultanah restaurantcomplimentary mini barfacial sprayinfinity poolsoft drinkscapri courtbait al bahrcold towelsevian spray
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,978 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Shangri La after reading some top-notch reviews on this site. The Shangri-La has two key strengths which are its location and its employees. The resort is located on a beautiful beach with impressive cliffs and coves, together with amazing views of the sea. We found the staff very outgoing and friendly, eager to get to know us and share details of their background and experience in Oman. The Shangri La made some basic blunders though, which unfortunately gave a poor first impression. There was no one outside to meet our car and take our bags. After idling at the front door for about 10 mins, we parked and walked in to find a huge line and only two employees at the desk - and others asking us if we'd mind letting them cut in line so they can check out and make it to their flight. I overheard the front desk tell a guest that "it's the busiest time of day, so there is often a line." If that's the case, I'd recommend adding a few staffers at that time since it's an easy issue to anticipate. It was a contrast to the other hotel we patronized in Muscat which immediately escorted us to a private area and checked us in with towels and a welcome drink. Also, in terms of aesthetics of the hotel itself - the building and decor are a bit tired, but just bypass it and head to the beach. I'd highly recommend the Moroccan restaurant for dinner and the tranquil tea time on the patio. Be sure to strike up a conversation with the staff at some point, who are among the friendliest in the industry.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ryeguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear ryry79. Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay in June. I certainly appreciate you highlighting the staff in your review and of course the beautiful location. I am sorry that you did not receive are usual arrival experience as our standard is welcome drinks, cold towels served on the sofas located in the lounge or reception. We have also refurbished the public areas of Al Husn over the month of July. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Oman and the resort and if so I look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel manages to capture and to deliver a luxurious experience basically due to details and this effort of going the extra mile.
RECEPTION : quite good, rather slow, but helpful, polite, effective.
CONSIERGE : eager to help, savvy, professional, but also showing care to follow up satisfaction of clients.
ROOMS: spacious, elegantly decorated, with minimum Arabic details that gave the ambience without over burdening the total result. Clean, with wonderful view from the balcony. Kettle, free water, complimentary fruits, complementary WiFi, bathroom accessories great. Ice room, fast and polite room service. Really, whatever one expects from that level of hotel and more. Notes to help us out in relation to Ramadan rituals and customs. Drying rack on the balcony.
BEACH/POOL : exceptional surroundings, green, very well kept. Cozy chairs, shadows, great atmosphere. Towels clean and soft. Complementary water in ice box. Waters unique. Sand wonderful.
BREAKFAST : abundance of everything, for every taste and every preferences. Very polite and fast service.
It is a place that makes you feel at ease, pampered and deserving it, without any pretense. It is luxurious and unobtrusive, posh and easy going at the same time, with this care for detail that makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Ramadan period very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Little_Summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Little_Summers, It was a pleasure to read your TripAdvisor review and I am trilled you enjoyed your stay at the resort and appreciate your description’ of the resorts facilities and amenities. Since your review we have added Bose sound systems to all rooms in Al Husn and by mid August Nespresso machines will also be added which I am sure will be appreciated by future guests. Hopefully you will be returning soon. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful place to go for some r&r. The hotel is divided into sections for family with young kids, adults with or without bigger kids and a couples only part. If you stay in one part you do not see the other sites. There is no need to go to the other sites. Every hotel part has plenty of beach and pool space. The setup is very spacious and de gardens are luscious and well maintained. The restaurants are of a high standard. Room service is quick and their menu is ok. Housekeeping is the best I have ever experienced, making sure that we had a fabulous stay. The family side of the hotel could use a revamp. The decor is dated. The contrast with the other two parts of the hotel is quite stark, but all young kids activities are on the dated side. We travelled with our 2 and 4 year old. We will return here it is an oasis, but probably go for a room in the Al Bandar, since we will take our kids Al Husn is no option sadly. The diving school next to the hotel is very professional and knowledgeable, lots of fish different kinds, quite unspoiled and nice combinations of hard and soft corals.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Globe-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Globe-World, Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay. In regards to your comment on Al Waha I am happy to inform you that over the month July we renovated all guest rooms and the hotel is looking like new. When you stay next in Al Bandar I would happily show you around the other two hotels to show you the improvements. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent our Easter holidays at the resort in the Al Husn part. Excellent service, great views, high quality food but the overall complex is too big and somehow vaguely remembers Las Vegas. Having said that the location is breathtaking and the quality is top.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Masimo A, Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind comments on the service and facilities. With regards to your comment on the size of the resort, while the complex is large the three hotels all have a different identity and the advantage for all guests is the large selection of facilities, restaurants and bars available. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well what to say, incredible hotel, its a very luxury hotel, money worth paid, service fantastic, facilities brilliant, so cleaner, to be honest the best hotel stayed so far. There is a apartments areas where children are no allowed to access so quite you can have your holiday quietly however, there is another area where are concentrated families which i recommend too, brilliant children area.

Room Tip: Al Husn Deluxe Sea View Room (King) All from this building are quite no children allowed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniloMaciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear DaniloMaciel, Thank you for the high ratings you have given to Al Husn in your recent review. I am happy to read you appreciated the way the three hotels have targeted different markets and thank you for your kind recommendations. Great pictures which I am sure will be enjoyed by the readers of your review. Warm regards, Mark Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews