We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in the lodge that needs updating big time!! We were in the executive suite and while it was large, there should have been more places to store personal items in the bathroom and bedroom. Hooks and shelves in the bathroom are a must!! A dresser in the bedroom is expected but not found. I don't expect a 5 star hotel but a 3 star one would be nice for the price. The service in the restaurant for dinner was poor, we waited for 30 min and there was only 2 other tables full in the restaurant. We went somewhere else the next day for dinner, and there were 12 of us! The next day, we went downstairs for breakfast before fishing and the service was even worse!!! The highlight of the weekend was fishing with guide Ralph!!! He was so kind and helpful. He knew so much about the lake and the area. We caught some great fish! I would request Ralph every time! We felt safe and respected plus had a great experience !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. We appreciate your comments about having the extras – hooks, shelves, dressers – in our lodge rooms. It is something that has not come up before so we will definitely look into that. We are disappointed to hear that our service in the restaurant was poor. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and would appreciate additional feedback. Was the 30 minute delay an issue with seating or did you order something that needed additional cooking time? With breakfast, it is important to allow sufficient time for ordering before fishing. We did find that your server was new and we are always looking for ways to improve our staff training so that we can provide the best service possible for our guests. We hope you will contact us directly so we can have the opportunity to fix the issue and make this up to you. We are delighted that had a wonderful fishing experience. Ralph is definitely an experienced and knowledgeable guide and we are lucky to have him on staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Mike/Ralph were the best guides moving us across the gap with 6 to 8 foot waves to catch the walleyes up at oak Island. The boat ride was long up to oak Island but well worth the trip to catch the walleyes. The shore lunch was great at oak island can`t beat the fresh walleye lunch.Enjoyed the view of the Rainy River from the room. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. We make every effort to provide you with the best guides in the area and Mike and Ralph are certainly two of them. With the ever-changing conditions of the lake, we want all of our guests to feel safe on the water. While we can’t change the duration of the boat ride, we can give you the satisfaction of catching great walleyes that can be cooked into a delicious shore lunch. The Rainy River does offer some spectacular views as well. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sportsman’s Lodge.

Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at sportsmans and fished one day. The weather was not ideal but the fishing was unreal, our guides were very knowledgable not only of where to fish but the islands we passed and different points of interest on our way out. We limited on walleye and had an awesome shore lunch on Oak Island. I would definitely recommend getting Ralph or Mike M as a guide, both are outstanding. As far as the Lodge, the rooms were great and Bar was good, the only thing was the food wasn't the greatest other than that our stay was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jglass9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. It is unfortunate that we cannot always control Mother Nature but we are fortunate to have very knowledgeable guides on our staff and Ralph and Mike are certainly two of them. Lake of the Woods is definitely a vast area with a lot of rich history attached to it and great fishing as well. A classic shore lunch is always a good way to enjoy fresh walleye. We are disappointed to hear that you felt the food wasn’t the greatest. If you would like to contact us direct with additional details regarding this, we would like to have the opportunity to make this up to you and make improvements in our dining facilities. Thank you again and we hope you will come and see us again!
Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I wanted to get into some good walleye fishing, and this surely was one of the best. Captain Mike took us across the giant lake to find the right spot and boy did we hit 'em. We ended up with about 25 nice eating fish. The boat was nice and good equipment/tackle.

The lodge is a bit tired and the restaurant a bit disorganized with so-so food but I'll definitely head back for some great walleye fishing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Grnhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. Lake of the Woods is definitely known for its good walleye fishing. We take great pride in providing you with guides that can get the job done. We appreciate the feedback regarding our lodge. The lodge has been around for over 43 years and we are continually making updates to the facility. Several of our rooms have been updated, the bar, and the addition of our brand new villas. If you could contact us directly and provide us with additional details of your stay, such as which unit/floor you stayed in, it will help us to understand how we can improve our facilities. If you could elaborate on what you mean by the restaurant being disorganized and so-so food, that would be helpful to us in order to know how we could improve in this area. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sportsman’s Lodge.
Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at sportsman lodge two nights and did one day of chartered fishing. When we made the reservation we were told the cabin would have air conditioning and double beds, unfortunately when we arrived none of the cabins had air and had twin beds. After calling the front desk a woman arrived and showed us one of the villas, which we could upgrade. Definitely a must, the only way to go!
Mike was our fishing guide, and I would highly recommend him. He had a great personality and was very accommodating and helpful. Answered all silly questions we could think of! We all felt we were in the best of hands! !! Thanks again, Mike! !!

Room Tip: Do a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. We are sorry for the confusion and the miscommunication regarding the amenities of our cabins. We will definitely remind our reservations staff to communicate the differences of our facilities so that guests are able to make informed decisions of the accommodations. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the villa. We are also in the process of upgrading all of our classic cabins to new villas. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience fishing with Mike as your guide. We are fortunate to have knowledgeable and helpful guides such as him on our staff. Thank you again and we hope that you will come and see us again.
Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

3 generations of my family stayed in the 5 bedroom villa for 4 nights with 3 days of guided fishing on Lake of the Woods. Keith and Mike were the best guides zooming us across the gap with 6 foot waves to catch tons of walleye...biggest at 26 inches!! The other resort guides were hiding behind a sheltered island but we braved it and had the BEST time ever! Shore lunches were tasty and WOW was the bar and restaurant on Oak Island posh for a MN fishing trip! My entire family had a blast!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. What a memorable experience for your family to have and for the generations to talk about for years to come. Our weather this year has been something to talk about as well. We are glad to have great guides on our staff and Keith and Mike are certainly two of them. Having a fresh walleye shore lunch is a great experience in itself. Thank you again, and we hope to see the generations of your family for years to come.
Gregg & Diana Hennum
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose not to stay at the Lodge itself due to reveiws written by prior guests here on Trip Advisor. We have eaten at the restaurant with family and on our own while making our annual visit to the area. We enjoy the view of the Rainy River. It is obvious that some of the welcoming staff is hired to work only for the summer. They were friendly enough, but not so well trained for the job at hand. We waited for a period of time that allowed us to choose our items and drinks. With the river and Canada in view the time passed quickly. Food arrived, however it was nothing special and it would be given an average rating. Our waitress was friendly and with a sense of humor. I would say with having in dined in several places around the area this is the average way service and food are done in this northwoods location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank pebitpeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmansLodges, Owner at Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Sportsman’s Lodge and for sharing your review. While we do end up employing a vast array of staff members, we make every effort that our staff is knowledgeable and well-trained. If you would like to contact us direct, we would like the opportunity to make up for your service, and obtain additional details to improve. Thank you again and we hope that you will visit Sportsman’s Lodge again in the future.
Gregg & Diana Hennum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baudette hotels
8.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Baudette
9.3 mi away
River Bend's Walleye Inn
River Bend's Walleye Inn
#5 of 5 in Baudette
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Bend's Resort
River Bend's Resort
#7 of 11 in Baudette
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods

Address: 3244 Bur Oak Rd NW, Baudette, MN 56623-8849
Region: United States > Minnesota > Baudette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Baudette
Price Range: £69 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sportsman's Lodge, Lake of the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman`s Lodges, Lake Of The Woods Hotel Baudette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing