We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Lazy Dolphin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed 2 nights here and really enjoyed it. The hostel is located in a beautiful spot above the beach with incredible views. I loved the large kitchen/lounge area. Easy walk or drive to nearby viewpoints. I had a room on the ground floor, which was very comfortable and clean. Glenda is pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hostel and Curio Bay when touring the Catlins.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had an upstairs room with sea and hill views from the windows - not that we spent much time in the room! However, we loved the views and left windows and curtains open all night. The stars were bright and beautiful.
The kitchen-dining-lounge room at the rear of the building has full sea views with a large balcony. Kitchen was well equipped and very clean. Teabags, instant coffee and sugar are provided (you need to bring your own milk). Cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery are all provided. A microwave, electric stove, hot water pot and toaster are also available. And a large refrigerator, too.
On this floor, the bathrooms are very good - but you have to wait your turn for only shower. This was not a big inconvenience and is just a normal part of communal living.
Curio Bay's famous dolphins were shy this time, but we did see and enjoy the penguins in the evening - within walking distance of the lodge. We also explored Niagara, some of the back roads on the nearby peninsulas and a day trip to Invercargill and Bluff.
This is a beautiful part of the world. Not crowded, with plenty of natural attractions.
The Lodge Manager, Glenda, was ever so welcoming and helpful.
We thoroughly recommend the Lazy Dolphin. Even the ground floor is OK (without the sea views) because you won't be sitting indoors looking out windows while you are there - there's too much to see and do outside.
Internet access is expensive and there is no mobile phone coverage.

Room Tip: Upstairs is best, but don't be too disappointed if your room is on the ground floor. You will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Y, Owner at Lazy Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you very much, much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Curio Bay is a great little spot and we were looking forward to staying here, but because there were others in the house, we were confined to the bottom floor only. The kitchen was dark (needing lights on during the day), an old cloth gave an awful smell to the place, and we had people traipsing up and down to go to the bathroom. Unfortunately the walls are a tad thin so we were kept awake by our neighbours and then woken up by the family upstairs. No view, no TV or games... It sounds like people love this place from the other reviews so I can only assume that the top level is lovely. It was a shame that we weren't allowed access, or our experience might have been very different.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place. Extremely friendly (Glynda I think is the name of the lady that runs the place - she's great) and it's clean.
10 minute walk to the beach where you can see yellow eyed hoiho penguins which was magical on a lovely evening. There is also a short cut down to the main beach where you can apparently see dolphins though it was too rough when we were there. Great having a dishwasher!
The only faults - and they are minor - is that a) Internet access is outrageously expensive to the point where it's laughable ($2 for 10minutes!) and b) go food shopping before you get to Curio bay as there is nothing nearby apart from a tiny shop at the campsite next door which only carries a couple of overpriced items.
Bring your own food, switch off the Internet and you'll love it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hostel with a great view of the beach from the large kitchen/living room upstairs. The beds were comfy and the hostel was warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a dishwasher so you not have to worry about dirty dishes, as well as a couple of sofas to relax in and read or watch a film. Will book here again next time I head to The Catlins!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Elm325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Two kitchens on two levels of the house. I had a shared room and was pleased with the room and the amount of space each person had. There is not much in terms of restaurants so stock up on kitchen items before you arrive. House has a dishwasher so no one seems to leave their dirty dishes in the sink which is nice.

House is not like many Backpacker locations. It is very very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgwieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Perfect place to see Hector's Dolphins and Yellow-eyed Penguins. Curio Bay is not huge, but it's a fantastic base in the Catlins. Curio Bay Road has a number of places to stay, with identical views and locality, so this is a great little find for excellent value. You can walk out onto Purpoise Bay in a hired ($5ish) wet suit and be swimming with the dolphins in minutes. The (fossil forest) bay from which to see the yellow-eyed penguins is just at the end of the road and right. The rooms, cooking facilities and bathrooms are all to a very decent standard. There aren't any shops in this area though, but Glenda has chocolate to purchase and can point you in the direction of a camping shop to purchase bread and milk. Glenda is a really friendly host and was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southland Region
0.0 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
South Sea Hotel
South Sea Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stewart Island
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
0.0 mi away
Ascot Park Hotel
Ascot Park Hotel
#2 of 33 in Invercargill
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dolphin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dolphin Lodge

Property: Lazy Dolphin Lodge
Address: 529 Curio Bay Road | Curio Bay, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Southland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of Curio Bay from the balcony. See dolphins swimming in the surf, penguins nesting & seals basking in the sun. Split level accommodation. 2 kitchens & 2 common rooms - plenty of room to spread out. Minutes walk to petrified forest & penguin viewing platform. Private access to the beach. Friendly, helpful host. Double, Twin and Shared accommodation available. Great place to get some time out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Dolphin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing