We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penguins one side, dolphins the other - Impressive”

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Penguins one side, dolphins the other - Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Superb wildlife watching spot even in the rain (and we had plenty of that!). This small peninsular has a rocky coast on the right and a large sandy bay on the left and a 'rugged' camp site between. We saw several yellow eyed penguins from the viewing point board walk. Note that a volunteer warden comes and puts a rope 'barrier' down to stop you getting too close to the penguins but this is not the only spot they come ashore so keep your eyes out on other parts of the rocky platform and in the tall grass. The sandy beach was huge we saw dolphins in the afternoon and again in the morning very close into the beach. The campsite was huge. The powered sites were well screened but no sea view. If you don't want or need a powered site there are plenty of spots with a sea view to choose from. Facilities were very basic. We didn't see sealions but plenty of signs telling you to watch out for them.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank S V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Though nearly 4 hours from queenstown was clearly worth the drive
Was a highlight of our trip
Saw 8 adult penguins
Got even better when chicks came out from the brush and saw them being fed by parents

Helpful?
1 Thank tbII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alba
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The petrified forest was high on my list of things to do in the Catlins, and I was not disappointed. The wave-cut platform is just stuffed full of fossilised tree stumps and logs, and with a fairly big swell at sea there were waves crashing on the shore with masses of spray. There are notices warning visitors not to get within 10 metres of the Yellow-eyed Penguins that nest there, because they are easily scared. I sat on a fossil tree stump for ages watching people trying to get photos without upsetting the birds, and I discovered that the penguins haven't read the notice telling them to stay at least 10 metres from people. Two came right past me, one about 7 metres away and one about 3 metres away, completely ignoring me as I sat there, so I got my photos without creeping about among the rocks or bothering the penguins. Oh, and you need to go at low tide because the petrified forest is under water at high tide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean-astair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Another fantastic place to visit in The Catlins, Curio Bay has so much to see before you even walk down the steps on to the beach you get a very good view of the petrified forest laid out on the rocks below you. As you walk around the bay the waves are crashing against the rocks in the background and keep your eyes open as you might be lucky enought to spot a yellow-eyed penguin and when i was there last November we saw about six of them going about their business and they're so wonderful to watch but please remember to give them plenty of space. Also on the right hand side of the bay is a deep gully which the waves rush up and makes the giant sea kelp dance about and when you manage to get this close to the kelp it's amazing just how large it is and it looks like you could even walk across it! I've been lucky enough to visit Curio Bay three times and it never fails to be spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Most things about this place were already said. It was one of our favorites in Catlins. If you have time plan whole day in Curio Bay and stay overnight. We wished we could have set up our tent on a hill with the view on beach and bay where dolphins swam... There was no time for that unfortunately. This is picturesque place, heaven for nature lovers. Petrified forest is very interesting and we loved the opportunity of walking across the rocky cost in search of fossils. Or penguins... To wrap it up, in Curio Bay there are nice places to walk, a few options to do some water activities and spots just to sit and admire various views. Really great place to stop for longer time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PiotrNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curio Bay Natural Heritage Centre also viewed

Curio Bay, Southland Region
Waikawa, Southland Region
 
South Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Curio Bay Natural Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing