We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Raphael's Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Bemidji
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
grandmahenry
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Unassuming place with a bakery side and a cafe/diner side, they also have a HUGE collection of cookie jars in the window. We ordered sandwiches - I had a turkey on pumperknickel and my husband had a grilled cheese with ham. Each sandwich came with a scattering of chips and a little bunch of grapes, which worked out beautifully for us as I do not eat chips and he does not eat grapes. Service was fast but not super fast, just right. Traffic was steady in an out, drinsk were refreshed and my tea came with extra hot water - always a good thing. After we finished teh waitress told us we could go through and buy what we needed at the bakery and pay for it all at once, which we did. We bought two cake donuts and two sawdust buns, both were excellent, but the bread? OMG! The Sour Dough was amazing, we are home and haven't ried teh Dutch Crunch or Rye yet, but that SourDough is truly wonderful. Definitely a great stop for a nice light lunch with all homemade items.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Much more than a bakery”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had the soup/sandwich special -- pea soup with ham and a tuna salad on a croissant. Expected a cup of soup, got a bowl. Expected a sandwich on a plate, got a sandwich, a small bowl of noodle salad (with some salami in it), some nice chips, AND a desert square. What a treat. My partner had a veggie salad and half a turkey reuben. The salad was huge and delicious -- not a piece of iceberg in sight. The sandwich half was generous and delish. A delightful mix of folks filled the place. Great staff. Seem to really enjoy serving people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BandB-1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely love”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this place. They have the best filled long john donuts ever! There lunches are hit and miss. I love their sandwiches but some reason always order the special or something random and always think I should have gotten a sandwich. You get lots of food for a great price! Definitely try!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in town”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Waitresses are friendly, great service, coffee as long as you want to stay. Rolls and danish set the standard for great taste. Also have breads, cakes, cookies. Breakfasts and lunches are tasty and very fair value. It is a meeting for friends, small groups and where our Senator Amy K comes when she wants to get the pulse of local, regular folks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNwoodsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downtown baked goods.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It's almost a daily stop for treats for work. The breakfast and lunches are really good with a local flair. The lunch specials rotate each day. The fresh bread and other baked goods are delicious, especially the Beehive cake and the date cookies. They are far above store shelf goods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank greencheeksBemidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Raphael's Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing