We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect.”
Review of Kohl's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kohl's Resort
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

No complaints whatsoever. This is by far the best resort we've ever stayed at in MN. (And yes I've stayed at quite a few.)

Exceptionally clean. Very professional and friendly staff. And fun things to do that are all included!!! Bikes, paddle boards, canoes, hot tub, indoor pool, Lounge chairs.. And I could go on and on.

Please, if you are looking for a great place to stay, choose Kohls. It's family owned and well worth your business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2016
Thanks for your kind words. We are always looking to improve. We are glad you had great experiences and created fond memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    10
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were at the resort in a group of 5 persons (three sharing one lodge and two in another) for a short stop. The cabins are really nice and well kept. There are enoug everything inside for cooking, relaxation, sleeping etc. The yard looked inviting (not spent time there because there was still snow on the grounds) and I can imagine that it can be truly beautiful in summer.

The only tiny minus point was the pools/sauna area. It was the beginning of the season and the owners didn't yet had properly opened it or cleaned it. It was dark, dusty and damp and even though we were invited to use the facilities, none of us went there after seeing it. Maybe it works in summer. This however was a minor issue, but dropped my rating from 5 to 4.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthropol_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2016
Thanks for your kind words. I hope you try us again. We have updated our pool area with new carpet and the walls were all renewed. There have also been updates to our pool bathrooms and we are creating a new lodge check in next to the pool. We appreciate your taking time for a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I always love going to Kohls. The whole family does. We've bin going every year for the last 10 years. Twice a year if we are really lucky! ( I almost don't want to tell you this, in case they would ever have to tell us they were all booked up!) The wood cabins look warm and rustic, but with all the amenities a modern traveler would want, including heated floors. (Very nice on cold winter mornings!) The wood stairs have railings made from tree trunks with some of the smaller branches left on for added texture and they look really cool. We were there with extended family in the winter. Jim and Debbie always help us find anything we need, be it a buisness in town or and extra cake pan for a birthday. We go skiing, downhill at a nearby lodge, and cross-country at the nearby trails. We go snowmobiling right from the cabin onto the beautiful lakes and trails. We've spotted beaver and swans on the small spots of open water on the lake and a huge Ospreys nest on a telephone pole on the way into town. Not to mention all the deer and eagles and even a porcupine on the trails. At night we take a few laps in the pool and then relax in the outdoor hot tub. If we are lucky, it will be snowing while we do this, perfect! Back at the cabin, with the fire place going we watch the snow fall on the lake. The beds are warm and comfy and I always get a great nights sleep there. We've gone in the summer too, fishing and boating. The kids loved Debbies scavenger hunt! And the kids and the adults loved these things that were like stand-up paddle boards, that you could self-propell by rocking back and forth. They were a blast, but I forget what they were called. No matter how long we stay, we are always sad when we have to go home! Being there always makes me wish I could move there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2016
Janel,
Thanks for your kind words. Your family is always welcome. We always feel you make our other guests feel welcome too. You are missed when you leave. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hospitality of Kohl's Resort is top notch!! Deb and Jim are wonderful hosts and are always willing to help and share their time with you!! If there is something you may need, just ask. Deb and Jim will give you the info you need or direct you to where you can find the info or item. We have spent at least the last 9 years snowmobiling in the Bemidji area and look forward to going back next year! The cabins are very clean and spacious. Cabin #20 is huge and accommodates the 10-12 people in our group. Bedrooms are just the right size for all our needs. The 3 bathrooms are clean and greatly appreciated with this number of people. The pool is great, but the hot tub, after a day's ride, is fabulous!! We have meet some very nice people, also staying at Kohls, sitting in the hot tub. Snow angels are usually seen around the hot tub, Our evenings are spent grilling our supper meal on the charcoal grill, time in the pool and hot tub, and finishing off the night by watching other snowmobiles crossing the lake, watching a good movie, or just relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubuqueFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It has been nine years since our family has been to Minnesota for a fishing trip. It was a great time coming back to Minnesota, with our grown sons, for a week of family time and tons of fishing. The cabin was spotless when we arrived. The view from the screened in porch and deck overlooking the lake was wonderful. Plus, to the guys on the trip, the fishing was excellent. They caught Northerns, walleye, bass and my personal favorite, the pan fish. We actually had to eat five meals of Northerns so we could go back out fishing again, plus brought enough fish home to have a fish fry with family. There were so many available activities for families that looked like a lot of fun. However, with three fishermen, it was out in the boat first thing in the morning and coming in after the sunset. The scenery was wonderful and the stay was great. It was decided to save the money we had left over to start the vacation fund for next year! We would definitely come back to Kohl's Resort!

Don and Shirley Knight

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyKnightOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Lots of fun beach type activities for families and kids (although one of my kids ended up getting attacked by leaches, twice in the week we were there) and the scenery of the lake itself is really lovely.

However, our cabin was really pretty dirty. All the floors were visibly dirty and the counters and cabinets in the kitchen were sticky upon our arrival. The bathrooms were also kind of gross and mildewy, but worst of all our cabin had a terrible ant infestation problem. It's apparent that the owners have attempted to recently fix the place up with new wrought iron railings and whirlpool tubs in some of the cabins, but the tubs themselves are ridiculously shoe-horned into the rooms so that they are inches away from the bed and leave no room for other necessities such as a dresser or hanging space of any kind.

The ownership would be well advised to stop with the costly and unnecessary whirlpool installations and get back to to the basics. Give the cabins a serious deep cleaning, replace the threadbare carpets, and get rid of those awful '80s era bedspreads. And stop charging $1.50 for the washers and dryers, it's ridiculously excessive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonynousforthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest, I don't quite know how to respond to this review as the complaints you seem to have would put someone to believe this is an older cabin. We recently purchased this cabin and hired a well known local construction company build the addition, while we pulled out all carpeting, linoleum, tons of new, including appliances - all new. All the furniture newly purchased at the time of your stay. Nothing in the cabin is old. Most guests want amenities such as a whirlpool tub. As with the great outdoors, we can get ants occasionally and a leach is not uncommon, but also it is more common for you not to encounter a leach as it is that you may have one find you. In eleven years, I have seen one. Our lake is one of the clearest, being among the start of the Mississippi. People are amazed by the clarity! We do hope that you did have an enjoyable stay and that you may think to try us for a future stay. We do reinvest in our cabins and you will see the updates happening yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great place for families. Tha beach had all the 'toys' kids needed to have a good time, plus the in-door pool when/if the weather turns bad. Plus the beach is shallow eneough for kids to enjoy themselves Our cabin was large and either new or newly remodled and was very spacious and clean.
And yes a canoe can tip over in three feet of water! Fishing was good for those of us that fished and Itasca State Park is about a 40 minute drive. Itasca being the headwaters of the Mississippi.
Didn't use the hot tub as the weather was too warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bemidji
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
9.0 mi away
Best Western Bemidji Inn
9.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bemidji
Quality Inn Bemidji
#8 of 10 in Bemidji
95 reviews
11.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bemidji
16.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Blackduck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohl's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Resort

Property: Kohl's Resort
Address: 15707 Big Turtle Dr NE, Bemidji, MN 56601-7143
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bemidji
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bemidji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohl's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family resort in northern Minnesota. We have an indoor pool, outdoor Jacuzzi hot tub, sauna, and game room at the lodge. We are just north of the headwaters of the Mississippi River. We are located on a chain of three lakes with good fishing, and we have daily summer activities. We rent boats, and provide guests with canoe trips. We offer WiFi, cable, and non-motorized water sports included. Our cabins have full kitchens as well as air conditioning, gas fireplaces, and campfire pits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kohl's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohls Hotel Bemidji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing