We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion Hosted by the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biwabik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We scheduled our class reunion to be held at the Lodge. While some attendees resided at the Lodge, this review is limited to the reunion event.

The room prepared for the gathering was well done, with tables seating 6. We arranged for a cash bar. The asst manager assisted me in getting our media equipment to work, so we were able to show a DVD and some photographs.

We elected to have 3 entrees for the buffet and they were all great. The Lodge gave us very reasonable pricing on the buffet. I received a number of compliments from attendees concerning the room and the food.

The manager Chrissy was amazing, remaining on site during the evening event making sure everything went smoothly. She and the other staff were very accommodating.

I was impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

John,

It was a pleasure meeting you and working with your group.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with your classmates in Biwabik.
Please stop in and say hello when you are back in town!

Sincerely,

Chrissy Mraz
General Manager
The Lodge at Giants Ridge
cmraz@leisurehotel.com
218.865.7170

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised. The staff (especially the boat rental staff) was great! The bar area was excellent and they even had live music for both nights of our visit. The nightly rate was a bit pricey compared with other hotels, but worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us the Lodge at Giants Ridge! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Please be sure to visit our website to learn about our current specials & packages. You can also sign up for our e-mail campaign that give you first access to our new offers. We hope to be of service to you again.
Sincerely,
Chrissy Mraz
General Manager
The Lodge at Giants Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just spent a couple of days at the Lodge and it was a great place to stay to golf at the Legends and the Quarry. The Legends pro shop is right outside the front door of the Lodge. There were two families in one Hillside 2 bedroom condo (7 people total). The room had a definite 'lodge' feel to it with turned log furniture. The room was nice, however could use some maintenance and new couches and mattresses. The fridge looked like someone took a golf club to it. The room was clean and well kept and the bathrooms were nice. The lodge itself was nice and roomy with a nice restaurant and lounge. The kids made good use of the indoor pool and jacuzzi. There was hardly anyone else there so it was very uncrowded and quiet. It would be nice to have a later check out time available (check out was 11am) to accomodate a round of golf on the day you are leaving (especially if you have family that doesn't golf and stays back at the lodge). I would definitely stay there again.

A note on the Legends and Quarry golf courses: Both top-notch quality golf courses with excellent amenities and service. Very challenging and picturesque. If you haven't had the opportunity to play these two, you definitely need to add them to your list for the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkrivergolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A, General Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us the Lodge at Giants Ridge! I am so pleased that your family and friends enjoyed their stay with us. I understand there were a few maintenance issues that we are actively addressing. Any specific information regarding the specific room number or name on the reservation would be appreciated so that I can personally look into the maintenance issues. My contact information is below.

We understand that when families stay with us some are golfing and some are enjoying the amenities at the lodge and in the area. The next time you are here please feel free to request a later check-out and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

We hope that you will choose to visit us again, thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Chrissy Mraz
General Manager
The Lodge at Giants Ridge
cmraz@leisurehotel.com
218.865.7170

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the Lodge in one of the attaching rooms this past weekend to attend a wedding. The rooms were 360 dollars. We stayed in part of the room that had a queen size bed and a bunk bed while my mother in law stayed in the other room with the king size bed. Our bedroom had a air conditioning problem where the room never got below 75 degrees. Now I understand that this area of the country does not often need air conditioning but it seemed as if air conditioning was a after thought(some kind of over the door contraption) The rooms were appointed nicely but ridden hard and put away wet. Scratches and wear marks in the kitchen cupboard areas, dents in the refrigerator and just a hot plate for a stove. My wife and I have stayed in some nice hotels in our travels including the Trump Sonesta in Miami. WE PAID LESS FOR THE TRUMP HOTEL! I think they should cut the rate in half.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank walletbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisure-Management, General Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Lodge at Giants Ridge.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience at our property.
I am so sorry that you did not have a favorable experience with your accommodations.

My name is Chrissy, I am a General Manager at the Lodge and work for Leisure Hotels & Resorts. We are the management company that just took over management of this property last December. We are working on details in the rooms and appreciate your feedback. Please know that we have begun the process of fixing and replacing items in the rooms that are no longer functional or are in need of repair.

I have included my contact information below, it would be helpful to know what room you stayed in so that I can specifically address your issues. I would like to look at the room rate you paid and I would be happy to make an adjustment based on your experience. I would also like to invite you to come back and stay with us, possibly this winter, to give us an opportunity to make a better impression the second time. Please let me know if you would consider this opportunity and I can send you a certificate through the mail.

Thank you again for taking the time to send us your feedback, this is our opportunity to listen to our guests with the goal of providing exceptional accommodations and service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Chrissy Mraz
General Manager
The Lodge at Giants Ridge
Resort: 877.442.6877
Cell Phone: 218.831.2900
cmraz@leisurehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Beautiful big timber decor adorns the great room lobby. Rooms are complete with kitchen and living room area. Granite tile bath is complete with large, soft bath towels. I always stay here when in the area on business. The restaurant is good. I love the Walleye Fingers.
The Lodge is set at the base of the ski hill and on one end is the golf pro shop. The first tee of the Legends course is just outside the door. A great setting in some of the most beautiful scenery in Minnesota.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisure-Management, Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Lodge was terrific - the room was amazing!!. The dining was great. Staff were very accommodating and to top it off fresh snow and terrific skiing. James went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. Will definitely return. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leisure-Management, Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We pride ourselves on customer service and only want to provide you with the best! We are lucky to have James on our team and I will make sure he is aware of the impact that he made on you. Again, thank you for your 5 star review. We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I had read the reviews on this site and was not sure what to expect when I got there. I was greeted and felt right at home by the staff, we had stayed in a 4 bedroom and the room was amazing! Beds were comfortable, and kitchen was very clean and well stocked. The living room was chilly however instantly warmed up with the beautiful fireplace. All other bedrooms were perfect temperature which was surprising considering how cold it was outside. There was no stove but the hot plate did the trick for cooking and we had brought our own electric fry pan for eggs and bacon, Great size fridge fit everything we needed. Loved that you could cozy up by the fireplace after a long day of snowboarding or relax in the hot tub! Also it was nice that the lobby had amenities such as free wifi and pool tables. Overall great stay and experience! Thank you to the staff for the great experience.

Room Tip: We were hillside which you can from time to time hear the groomer machines. If you want quiet reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biwabik
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
11.6 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
82 reviews
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Northern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
12.8 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 2 in Eveleth
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas at Giants Ridge
Villas at Giants Ridge
#1 of 1 in Biwabik
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Giant's Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Giant's Ridge

Address: 6373 Wynne Creek Dr, Biwabik, MN 55708-7000
Region: United States > Minnesota > Biwabik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biwabik
Price Range: £90 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Giant's Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1999, The Lodge at Giants Ridge offers 67 luxurious suites, and is the ultimate four-season vacation destination. Guests can select from a variety of suite layouts from a one bedroom to a four bedroom that will sleep up to 14 guests. The Lodge is located among the towering pines and the deep blue lakes of Minnesota's Superior National Forest, your suite will surely be the perfect retreat for you and your guests. Along with our fabulous Northwoods decor, comfy and cozy linens, full service kitchens (in select suites), luxurious whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and you can't beat the amazing views! This condominium resort is situated near the beach area on Wynne Lake, and is also near Sabin Lake, both prime fishing locations. The ski slopes of Giants Ridge and the Legend Golf Course are right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Giant's Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Giant`s Ridge Hotel Biwabik
Hotel At Giants Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing