We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was our secret but the secret's out!!”
Review of Drake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drake Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blackduck
Monticello, Minnesota
1 review
“Was our secret but the secret's out!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Absolutely love this place. Hosts are wonderful and make you feel like family. Rooms are so clean and cozy! If you are looking for a great value and homey atmosphere then this is it. We have stayed here annually for years and look forward to it every year! Am so happy that the secret is out, but sad at the same time! This place is close to food, fun, and fishing!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MJLarson1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us & stay with us each year. We do try to make sure our guest feel at home during their visit & give it that homey atmosphere! Again, thank you for your review & will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have been traveling from lower Michigan to Blackduck, MN. since 1993. We have always stayed at the Drake Motel. Since the current owners took it over, they have redecorated all rooms to reflect the "Northwoods" effect of the great North Country of Minnesota. Each room has a theme and the decorations reflect that theme. Very clean, comfortable beds and the feel
of home. We would recommend it highly. Fishing is great and we hear that hunting is too.
Give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your review! Wow, 20 years, now that's a returning customer! Glad that you have the 'feel of home'! Thank you again and hope you continue staying with us for another 20 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

First time at the Drake but thought the room was very clean and the best value by far. They don't have an ice machine but gave us a small bag for drinks. There is a full sized coffee pot and packets of instant coffee. But we brought coffee and filters along. No hair dryer or shampoo, but with the price of $55 I can go next door to the store. Rooms were very quiet and ample parking available, although it is gravel. Def will stay at the Drake again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelli127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review! Yes, we do provide instant coffee for our guests, but we have the coffee pots in the rooms as we have several guests who like to bring their coffee to fill thermos up before hitting the lake. But if you ever need coffee filters, shampoos, hair dryers or even an iron & ironing board just give us a shout & we'll be glad to bring them to your room-at no charge. Thanks again for the review & we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Have stayed here numerous times in the summer and winter for fishing trips since Mike and Diane bought the place about 10 years ago. (Had only stayed there once in 2000 before they got it, but when we heard new owners we decided to give it a try again). It is a 'mom/pop' motel which we like over the chain motels, try to support family businesses. Every time we go back they have done something new, they redid all the rooms, the next time we noticed all new windows and doors, made a fish and game cleaning room, added a big room (which is great with a bedroom, living room and a big kitchen with table and chairs, great for a long stay or if you have a group for a gathering room), and our regular room this time was redone again. When you are a family owned you can't always afford to do everything all at once (and they are really affordable, we paid $54 a night and then they gave us a discount for staying a week), but they continually do something. You can tell they take pride in their business and go out of their way to please their guests. You walk in the office and Diane has it decorated as my wife says 'inviting', they take the time to talk to you and give you information and brochures about what you might want to do in the area, where the fish are biting, etc. There's been times we've checked in we see they are eating supper but they still take their time to welcome their guests. The rooms are spotless, my wife is picky, and the beds are really comfortable. Some of the rooms have connecting doors which is nice when we go with another couple or when we do father/son trips. Mike did a fish cleaning room and they have a freezer where we can put them. They have a basketball net for the kids, and when we come back with the fish Diane comes out and takes the pictures and when my son caught his first fish not only did she take a picture and put it on their facebook page but she also framed it and gave it to him! They have a grill and a nice picnic area in the summer to sit out in. There is a grocery store, restaurant, bait shop, bowling alley and bar that you can walk to. Kudos to Mike and Diane for making the Drake a great place

Room Tip: Big room is the best set up like a apartment with a private bedroom then big kitchen and living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perchman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review! And thank you for noticing the re-do's! Always trying to update & redo! And yes, I do love taking the photos, especially of the young outdoorsmen-they seem so proud-love getting kids interested in fishing and hunting. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We lucked out getting a room at the Drake one rainy evening in July. We grabbed the last room. I was traveling with my son and dog. The Drake takes dogs as long as they are kenneled. The rooms are appointed nicely and clean. Comfortable beds. WIFI. And did I mention clean? In reality, that's the most important. Are the towels thick and luxurious, no. But they do have a few extra "cleaning cloths" for wiping off wet dog feet. That was a huge plus. Each room has a theme with a sign on the outside. You can tell this place is loved and cared for. The walls were a little thin, but the clientele (fishermen and workers) were very quiet in the morning. If I needed a place to stay in the Bemidji/Blackduck area again, I would not hesitate to stay at the Drake. I might make a reservation first, because in the summer, I bet it is usually booked.

Room Tip: With a dog, the rooms on the backside were really nice. There is a grassy area in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNWineLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review! Yes, we do allow dogs if they are kenneled in the room or have their doggie bed (problems in the past with pets on the furniture & bedding). Hope you make it back to our area & stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My group of ice fisherman has been staying at the Drake Motel for over a dozen years. Diane and Mike are wonderful hosts and they really cater to fisherman and hunters. The rooms are always clean and well-appointed and they have a great heated fish cleaning room. The motel is located very close to grocery stotres, a bar and gas and bporting goods store. The location is awesome.

There are many great lakes in the area including some of the states largest in Upper Red, Leech and Winnibigoshish. There are also some hidden gems in the area.

You cannot go wrong in staying at the Drake Motel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We sure do love having your group stay with us & happy to see your gang in the fish cleaning room cleaning your catch of the day! Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

You can't ask for more gracious hosts than Mike and Diane. Our group rents the entire motel for a long weekend of ice fishing every year. Mike and Diane make us feel like we're at home. They put up with our shinanigans, locking ourselves out of the rooms at all hours, and take it all with a smile. Great fish cleaning room for the outdoorsmen. If you're looking for a clean, simple place to stay while you enjoy the Blackduck area, the Drake is for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drake M, Owner at Drake Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review! It has been our pleasure to have your military group stay here for your annual excursion the last few years-thank you all for your service! And thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackduck
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Blackduck
23.3 mi away
Best Western Bemidji Inn
22.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bemidji
Quality Inn Bemidji
#9 of 10 in Bemidji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
23.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
19.6 mi away
Ruttger's Birchmont Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Motel

Property: Drake Motel
Address: 172 Pine Avenue, PO Box 362, Blackduck, MN 56630
Region: United States > Minnesota > Blackduck
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blackduck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Drake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Drake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing