We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cabin”
Review of Melkevoll Bretun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Briksdalsbre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melkevoll Bretun
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent cabin”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very large cabin with beautiful panoramic view to 3 glaciers and several waterfalls. You can sit on your balcony and enjoy one of the most amazing places in the world. In July sun is behind mountain range in the evening. Short walk to Briksdalsbreen. A lot of tourist buses comes to this glacier, but from Melkevoll you have enough distance to avoid the hectic activity on the main road. Water in the river is very clean. The air is unbelivable fresh. Fill up your lungs.

Room Tip: Cabin number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were adviced by other travellers and read the good reviews so decided to book a big cabin with shower and toilet in Melkevoll Bretun, to spend the last day in Norway and visit Brikdalsbreen in the evening.
We made the booking 2 months ago and received a confirmation e-mail that everything was ok with the reservation.
Today we arrive to do the check-in and they tell us that there´s been a mistake and they gave that cabin to other customer ( that hasn´t registered yet and probably made the booking more recently than us). Why us? The other customer hasn´t registered yet...They offer us a small cabin without shower and toilet and as a compensation they offer us the coins to have a shower for free!!! ( the shower is coin operated).
We ask for a complaining form, they say they don´t have that.
The only response that they have if we decide not to stay with them, when I say that I´m really disappointed is: "These things sometimes happen". So have this in mind, it could happen to you.
Luckily we found a nice accommodation nearby for a better price with good views of the glacier, good location and more customer attention.
It just could have been worked out with some kind of compensation, that´s what I would do to fix that kind of mistake, to keep customers satisfied ( not a shower for free), but perhaps they knew they would give that small cabin to other customer the same day, because their location is all they need to be fully booked, no need to lose money.
That´s just my opinion, I´ll write a good review about our present accommodation, it´s been a great discovering thank you to Melkevoll Bretun!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the place is beautiful. not the ordinary "parking lot" arrangement of one camper next to the other, but plenty of "hideaways" to park at. a lovely, "barn style" common space with fire in the middle, clean showers and all the facilities (washer, dryer, etc.) available. the "lobby" is all glass, with great view outside, hot chocolate, coffee, tea and cakes, served with a smile. wifi available there. Inge is patient, warm and welcoming. it demonstrate the difference between a private, personal camping site, and an organizational one. highly recomended!

Room Tip: as far as a camper - just drive in, don't stay at the front parking lot, and you can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nushki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here 2 amazing nights in a roomy cabin. It's a beautiful location and my partner and I walking to briksdal glacier around 6pm in overcast weather to find we could have the glacier view to ourselves was a highlight of our trip - perhaps better than pulpit rock.

I would strongly suggest anyone coming to Norway come here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briksdalsbre
0.0 mi away
Sande Camping
Sande Camping
#1 of 3 in Loen
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olden Camping Gytri
Olden Camping Gytri
#3 of 4 in Olden
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flam Camping and Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lidasanden
Lidasanden
#4 of 9 in Stryn
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Folven Camping
Folven Camping
#6 of 9 in Stryn
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melkevoll Bretun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melkevoll Bretun

Property: Melkevoll Bretun
Address: Oldedalen, Briksdalsbre 6792, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Stryn Municipality > Briksdalsbre
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Briksdalsbre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping within walkingdistance of the Briksdal Glacier. Stoneage cave. Picknick house. Saunas. Playground. Center for nature info and glacier guiding. Internetcafé. Camping area. Cabins for 4 - 10 persons. Parking area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing