We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch, if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tavern Grill

The Tavern Grill
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went for a business lunch. Our limited selections don't do the extensive menu justice. I must return to try the "Build A Burger" and "Build A Pizza" checkbox cards.
We tried a wonderful White Chili soup. Just spicey enough. And we had the Fish Tacos. Possibly the best fish tacos I have had: Cod (not tilapia) filets, shredded cabbage, avacado, guacamole.
Important for lunch: Service was prompt and responsive. Three servers made sure we got our food as soon as it was ready if our primary waitress was busy; all were friendly and efficient.
A bit pricey for a lunch: $35.00, and we split, so this would have been the price for one rather large lunch (soup and sandwich) and two drinks. Drinks were expensive: $2.70 for a Coke. But the drinks kept getting refilled, never really getting below half full before another arrived. No split charge I noticed when they nicely split our taco plate.

I haven't been to this location since it was an overpriced, mediocre "Italian" restaurant. The decor hasn't changed, and that's fine. It's a nice looking wood-and-stone interior.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MnVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    73
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Breakfast/brunch buffet here is so good. Go! You wont regret it. Lunch and dinner offerings are good too. Always enjoyable. Great service.

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch is terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had reservations for 9 and they accommodated us immediately. The only table that would fit us was next to the bar, a high top and noisy, but we made it work. The Hostess checked to see if there was anywhere else she could fit us, but it was very crowded and busy. The wait staff was prompt and very helpful. The best parts of the Brunch. the cinnamon rolls are the right size. Generally restaurant rolls are too big to eat anything else. These came 3 in a 6" skillet. Perfect. Second highlight was ordering an omelet from the kitchen. every table has pads with available ingredients. Check off whatever you want, put your name on it and the waitress will deliver it hot from the kitchen. No need to stand in a line while the rest of your meal languishes getting cold.
The brunch was extensive: salad, fruit, small scones and croissants, two varieties of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, two kinds of potatoes, a rice and fish dish, pancakes made to order with strawberries and whipped cream toppings and prime rib. Everything I tried was delicious. Coffee was refreshed regularly and they changed a tv channel for us to something that was of interest to the table.
We had two small children (4 years and 20 months). the wait staff was very accommodating to get them settled with boosters at the high top. Everyone was helpful and friendly. I can imagine without a reservation, there would be a long wait as The Tavern Grill is very popular.So call ahead and enjoy@

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food good but long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We did call ahead for 5:30 on a Friday night. We arrived and they said we hadn't called! We had it on our phone so they said we'd be next. That took 21 minutes. We were seated and waited on but drinks took forever- had to ask for pop refills. Our orders took a VERY long time. When we asked for something- instead of getting it our waitress stopped at two tables to take orders ( then forgot). We had a well behaved 6 year old in our party of 5 but !!!!! When we asked for the check she presented it to my husband and it said $0!!! Then we had to wait again for her to come back, look at it- never apologize and get a corrected form. The food tasted good but I doubt we will hope back for a long time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank proach1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our #1 Restaurant in Blaine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent food and service. The Ahi Tuna is always amazing, great salads. When they over cooked our steaks, the gave us brand new meals. We love their appetizers and the artichoke/crab quesadillas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing