We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better inside than out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Bloomington West
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Eureka Springs
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“better inside than out”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel looked a little seedy outside with smokers puffing away right outside the entrance and the building itself needed repair and sprucing up. However everything worked in my room except for the light in the bathroom. My room was small, especially the unlit tub/toilet room. The bed was fine and that's what counts most. The staff was fine. The breakfast was satisfactory. Not a scenic area. OK for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank CoachBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    193
    246
    200
    229
See reviews for
408
207
116
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ok place stayed here last year and seems better, always questionable people hanging around entrance but overall nice people and clean room. Easy walk to chili's and shuttle to the mall was nice.we took shuttle to mall of America and driver was a little hard to understand because I only speak English but we did figure it all out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethalto, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent Wed-Sunday at the Days Inn. When we first arrived, the desk clerk was extremely rude. I asked a question about a charge and she was curt and rude, so I said nothing else, nor did she. We went to our room and opened the door, and the musty smell was so strong. We had to open the windows, but then realized that the screen was torn out of the window. Don't bother asking for an extra towel, bc there are none to be had. How 4 people are to share 3 towels is beyond me. The carpet was soiled and very old. It needs to be updated and the staff need to be more friendly. I would of paid an extra 10 bucks to stay somewhere a little nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

So, first... I should say that most of the hotel staff wasn't unfriendly, but they were unprofessional in that they didn't follow standard hotel procedure for safety. #1) They said my name and what room I was in loudly, while I had people standing behind me. #2) We had to get duplicate keys several times throughout the course of the weekend. At no time did a single person ask to see my ID card while requesting keys, or even verify more detailed information. Considering that the person we asked each time was completely different, I can't even say that this was a case of recognition.

All rooms are supposed to have refrigerators in them, and I had called two weeks prior to my arrival to ensure this. When we arrived, the refrigerator was just gone. Even if this was a last-sell room, we should have been notified at check-in instead of hoping we'd just not notice. To the staff's credit however, they managed to find and fix a refrigerator and get it to our room by the end of the evening.

The doors don't close by themselves, so you have to be very careful about shutting the door behind you. The floors of the upper hallways are very uneven at some points, and my friend tripped. She twisted her ankle pretty badly, and we had to get her a foot brace.

The breakfast was okay as far as motel breakfasts go. The girl who was working the dining area seemed very polite and nice.

Overall, I probably won't be staying at this hotel again, especially considering that the other hotels in the immediate area are similarly priced. But, if I had one major thing to critique... please put your employees through safety training! Don't just give out keys to anyone who asks, and don't announce the room number out loud!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Helpful courteous staff on all shifts. Housekeeping friendly and rooms very clean. Breakfast area clean and food trays kept filled. Knowledgeable staff of area dining and directions. Easy to get in and out. Quiet area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Bloomington
Park Plaza Bloomington
#35 of 43 in Bloomington
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bloomington West

Property: Days Inn Bloomington West
Address: 7851 Normandale Boulevard, Bloomington, MN 55435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Bloomington West 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Days Inn
Days Inn Bloomington West Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing