We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

From the moment my family of five walked in, the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. Pool area was nice. Breakfast had many options. Front desk personal were very nice. This is an excellent place to stay for the price. We already decided this will be our place to stay when we go back. The customer service is above and beyond!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twegge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
It was my sincere pleasure to read your comments on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad our staff members made a good impression and I'm thrilled to see you'll be staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Please introduce yourself if you have the opportunity during your next visit. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    450
    134
    33
    31
See reviews for
1,020
247
67
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Started our weekend trying to get a flight out of O'Hare. Our airline bumped us put us back on and then bumped us again. I called three times to change our reservation and each time the person who answered the phone was extremely pleasant about making the change. And the best part is they didn't charge us for the night we cancelled even though we were not within the cancellation period. Once we arrived the shuttle picked us up at the airport within 10 minutes.
Our room was as expected. We had a suite for 6 people. The room was very clean and everything we needed. My criteria for a room is that it be clean and I feel safe. I really don't care about the decorations. Normally we are only there to sleep and shower. We don't vacation to sit in the room. Travelling with 3 children the pool area was perfect. There are 2 smaller pools and 2 hot tubs. We never shared the pool either time we went. We walked to the mall as there is a catwalk going over the road that is only on the other side of the parking lot. I'm sure we were able to walk there in the same amount of time it would have taken to ride the shuttle. The breakfast was very good with a nice selection of both hot and cold foods. Again there wasn't anything more to ask for. All of the personnel we came in contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. This would definitely be our first choice again should we be in this area. I would also look to more Country Inns for other destinations based on this stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful endorsement of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted to see you had a positive experience with us and I'm so glad you'll be back to stay with us again. We are grateful for the recommendation and I'm sure other travelers researching the area will appreciate your heartfelt comments. Best regards, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I suppose it should be obvious, but the "Country" in this chain's name should bring up images of blue geese c. 1988. This particular property is clean and well managed, but terribly outdated...rooms are small and dark, decor is HIDEOUS, and while everything was reasonably clean it was also worn. It's like a time capsule of country-kitsch from 20 years ago. I suppose some people won't mind, but having stayed at Hilton and Crowne Plaza properties a few minutes away in recent weeks, this was something of a surprise; those two had been renovated (probably several times since the 1980s) and were actually quite nice. New beds, new-style bedding (white duvets changed daily), very nice modern bathrooms (i.e. walk-in showers, tile, sliding doors, etc.), higher-quality amenities, pleasant lobby spaces, etc. By contrast, this Country Inn looks and feels very much like something that should be attached to a Cracker Barrel somewhere in Missouri. (Perhaps the TGI Friday's and IHOP that are attached are a sign, and I'm just being unfair; that said, the rooms are the same price as the Hilton and Crowne Plaza on Priceline.) The suite we stayed in was oddly designed, so that the only window was in the bedroom; as a result the rest of the suite was dark, small, and felt like a prison. The sofa bed and chair were horrible, really like the stuff at a Motel 6 (i.e. very hard, plastic feeling, nasty to sit on). The bathroom showed the only sign of updating, looked to have new counters and tub, but even these looked long out of date. Public areas were clean but again, terribly out of date; UGLY carpet, decorations that looked like they were from the local Family Dollar store, nasty wallpaper, etc. Really: the entire place needs to be closed for a two months and updated if it is going to compete with other area properties at the same price point. A good renovation would put it at four stars, three is generous for its current condition.

ON THE GOOD SIDE: staff were courteous and efficient. Everything was reasonably clean (bedspreads were ratty, walls/ceilings showed wear, but were clean). There are two small pools and two relatively large hot tubs; they were clean and pleasant enough. The breakfast everyone raves about in other reviews was good for what it was, among the best free hotel breakfasts at this type of property (equivalent to Fairfield, Holiday Inn Express, etc.), including hot entrees and a decent selection of fruit/yogurt...much better than the diabetes-inducing junk at a typical budget hotel. The breakfast room is nice, large, well lit, and reasonably clean even with the morning crush; this is a good deal for those traveling with kids. Free books, newspapers (McPaper only though), and cookies at reception are nice. Location is near-perfect if you're going to the mall; they have a shuttle but it's 2-3 minute walk to the skyway connection to the Radisson Blu attached to the mall itself.

Warning: parking is terrible, or at least was during our stay. The lots was not well plowed even though it has been weeks since we had much snow. There were not enough spaces and we had to wait to park...seems they do park-and-fly which takes up a lot of spots and makes it hard to plow the lot.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter. Best to avoid rooms on the tower sides that face inward (toward each other) if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwanda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad you liked our breakfast and the location. It's great to hear our staff made a good impression, as well. We do have renovations scheduled this year and I hope you'll be back to try our new look and feel. We appreciate your business and I look forward to meeting you during your next visit. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for three nights with my daughter and granddaughter, Room was large and clean. Shuttle to Mall of America but we also walked using the sky walk which is only about a block walk. Breakfast was better than most with hot eggs, meat and biscuit and gravy. Hot coffee/tea in lobby at all times. Pool is small but was not busy. The only real problem is the lack of parking. Because they have the park and fly over half the parking spaces were taking by this. You could tell because these cars were covered with snow. Many people complaining they circled the parking lot for an hour or better before finding someone leaving. Also the parking lot and sidewalks were very slippery and the four days we were there we say no one even trying to salt/sand the sidewalk. I am a club Carlson member but have been staying more at Homewood Suites. There is a Homewood Suite right by this place and will probably stay there next time and hope there parking is better,

Room Tip: stayed on top floor in the front of motel so close to lobby/breakfast and no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Our parking area is shared with the Homewood Suites, Chevy's, Fridays and IHOP. We would be happy to direct you to an open spot if you ever encounter difficulty with finding a parking space. As a valued Club Carlson member, I hope you'll be back to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Pretty clean and very close to MOA. Great place to stay if you want to be with in walking distance to the mall. Decent morning breakfast. The pool area was crazy there were a number of birthday parties and such and it made it hard for our little kids to enjoy the water and the hot tub was packed. Over this was a decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADM20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I'm so glad you liked our location and felt our hotel was clean with a nice breakfast. We do have renovations planned and I hope you'll be back to stay with us again to see our new, updated decor.
Best regards, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very good experience. We did the stay and fly and we will do this every time we travel from the cities. Our battery was dead after a week of -20 degrees and they jump started our vehicle! Conveniently located. Good places to eat and shop!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj1of5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I'm so glad the park and stay worked out well for you and I'm delighted to see our employees were friendly and helpful. We'll look forward to seeing you again when you are flying out or just spending time in the area. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to other travelers researching the area. Sincerely, Jodie Grannes, 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for one night last week and was happily surprised by the Hotel. The room was much more than I expected in the way it was laid out and the how clean it was. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and helped start the day off right! I will definitely return...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radisson_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JodieLG, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad you had a good experience with us and I'm thrilled to see you'll be back to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. With gratitude, Jodie Grannes 952-646-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Address: 2221 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America is a hotel with a perfect location for your next business trip or family vacation. Amenities include: complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high speed internet, two heated indoor pools, services like a fitness center, and a free shuttle to both Mall of America and Minneapolis - St.Paul International Airport. The location is perfect as the hotel is located next next door to the world-renowned Mall of America. Also, the light rail is only steps away making it easy for guests to explore the attractions of the downtown Minneapolis or other Twin Cities attractions. The Minnesota Zoo, Fort Snelling, Target Field and the Science Museum of Minnesota are just a few other top spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites At Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn And Suites At Mall Of America
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington At Mall Of America Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing