We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #42 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We've used the Northwood Inn and Suites twice now when flying out the Minneapolis airport. The hotel is nothing fancy but we've only needed a place to sleep and a very early ride the airport in the morning. The convenience of the taxi at anytime we want is what made us book here for the second time. You just tell the person at the front desk when you want to be taken to the airport and the taxi is there waiting for you - no messing around with a shuttle at certain times or waiting around for other guests. It's only about a 10-15 minute ride to the airport. Pick up at the airport is super easy and quick too. The hotel gives you a card with the taxi service phone number on it and you give them a call when you've got your luggage. The taxi drops you back off at the hotel. Easy as can be. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip out of Minneapolis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Northwood Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Well we tried canceling when we first arrived because the sight of the place is just horrific. It looks run down. There were two cop cars outside of it and talking to someone about who knows what. The staff was rude when we requested to cancel our reservation, stating we had to get it approved by the manager. We got the managers number who basically hung up on us, and when we called back, he said he talked to the owner who said they had to follow policy and could not give us our money back. So, we paid $74 for a crappy room that felt totally unsafe. This place should be shut down. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Northwood Inn and Suites during your recent visit to our area.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Front desk staff and the Manager received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in seeing that the rooms are properly clean before assigning to our valuable guests.

I hope that the next time you are in our area you will once again choose to stay at the Northwood Inn and Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

if your looking for a large, comfortable, clean room with a nice TV, fridge and micro.....this is the place. Very limited choices for breakfast, but for the price you can't beat it. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I am from VA came to MN for business trip. I booked a hotel online. When i get there i thought its not a nice place to stay but after a while i realize that i was wrong. Staff from hotel treated me very good and friendly. I had a delux king size room and that was bigger than i thought. Room was nice and clean with flat tv, fridge and microwave. I would surely stay here again when i visit Bloomington again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for...this hotel/motel looks better from the outside than its inside.

While the room was large, it was horribly dated and not even up to Motel6 or Travelodge standards. The bathroom was cramped and in serious need of being renovated ... just like the guestroom decor.

So if all you want is a place to crash for a few hours, this place might do. This motel's location is close to MSP airport and Mall of America.

But for use, this place is a little creppy...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Northwood Inn and Suites and staying with us during your recent visit.

We appreciate your review and take your observations quite seriously to improve our guest services.

Appropriate steps have been taken that such an unlikely incidence never occurs again.

The housekeeping and maintenance staff have been really put to task to attend each of your point of observation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Northwood Inn and Suites. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I travel to Minnesota with my family and rented a room at this hotel. The room was a deluxe double queen it and it was very nice and big enough to stay with my family.There was a flat screen tv, microwave, and fridge in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Staff was really friendly and they have good facilities for parking . I had visited the hotel in the winter during snow , but still i could park my car safely in the snowfall. The rooms are spacious and bigger than my expectation. The swimming pool was nice and clean . They serve breakfast too !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#33 of 42 in Bloomington
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bloomington MSP Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington West
Days Inn Bloomington West
#40 of 42 in Bloomington
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn and Suites

Address: 1225 E 78th St, I-494, Exit 3, Bloomington, MN 55425-1064
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: £55 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northwood Inn and suites Bloomington! The Mall of America is 1 mile from the Northwood Inn & suites for numerous shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Northwood Inn and suites is four miles from Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and offers comfortable accommodations while having a central location near the region's main attractions. Guest services include 24-hour attendant, free parking, indoor heated pool, business services and a complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Dining options near the motel include Denny's, Split Rock Grille, Shells Café and Outback Steakhouse. The Water Park of America is three blocks from the motel featuring the largest indoor water park in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Northwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwood Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Travel Lodge
Bloomington Travelodge
Travelodge Bloomington
Travel Lodge Bloomington
Northwood Inn And Suites Bloomington/Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing