We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade was a downgrade! Not the room I reserved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #42 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My fiance and I wanted a cheap getaway for the night and that is EXACTLY what we got. I booked a Deluxe King room on hotels.com for under $85 after taxes on the morning of our mini trip. Even though it was last minute, I assumed that I was being accurately charged for what was available that night.
When we got there, we not only had trouble getting through the parking lot, but we were surprised to find multiple buildings. My reciept during check in was blank, but I assumed it would be correct regardless. I signed and initialled the service agreement anyway.
Thankfully we were in the building with the pool, but the building itself smelled musty. Our room was NOTHING like what I booked. We had 2 full sized beds and a random foldup bed next to the door. I double checked the receipt which said Deluxe Queen Double. I immediately called the front desk. After some confusion, I was told I would get a call back. A different person called 10min later to claim that the room I choose was already taken, so we got a free upgrade. The view sucked and my fiance and I had the choice of a small shared bed or sleeping alone!
The random lights all over the room made no sense and didn't even adaquately light the room! Not to mention the bathroom was small and hard to get into without fully opening the door, climbing in the tub, and then shutting the door.
At about 9pm, we went to the pool downstairs. The water was surprisingly warm and the perfect depth. We were concerned about the cleanliness, though. It seems they use salt as a cheap alternative to chlorine. I'm not sure if that is the right thing to do.
Getting back from the pool to shower, the pipe with the showerhead wasn't fully secured to the wall, so when the water was on, it pulsated for a few minutes!
The beds were firm and the pillows were soft, but since there wasn't a way to control the temperature of the room, the thin blankets were not enough.
We checked out just before 11am and we didn't look back...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KandiMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Northwood Inn and Suites for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it didn’t turn out to be the enjoyable stay you.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The information on the website was checked to make sure that what was being shown concerning our establishment was accurate.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the shower, Blankets and Vacuumed carpets in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• I am glad you find our pool warm. Pool staff received our commendation.

I am pleased to tell you that we do take our guest reviews seriously. I hope that you will reconsider and that the next time you are in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Northwood Inn and Suites. I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

If I could give this place 0 as review I would. this by far was the worst hotel room I'm ever seen or stayed at. not only is the outside a horrible sight, so run down, looks like you would get murdered if you walk outside Alone. when we first got there the room the hall everything smells like marijuana. we ended up having to go get new room keys four different times because ours quit working in the doors. our phone was broken didn't work at all, the headboard fell off of the bed, there was Holes in the curtains and the bedding was all stained. the couch bed was broken, it wasn't being held on by any of the springs anymore. When I went to go get a refund because this was a horrible experience I was told to call a third-party being the manager. not only can we not get a hold of the manager but we also never got A single apology from any of the three employees. I am still waiting to hear back from the manager after 2 Nights After I stayed there. I would not recommend anybody stay at this place It is horrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikieala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Northwood Inn and Suites for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• We shared your report of the Bad smell to the management, maintenance and housekeeping in the hope that they can see that this does not happen to any more of our valued guests.

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you had with Rooms keys, headboard, Phone, Curtains and Bedding and instructed to fix the problem.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Northwood Inn and Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased. We shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here and it was the worst experience ever. We left after bringing our stuff in to go to the Walmart down the road and when we got back, decided to lay in the bed. We smelled an....odor as if the linens hadn't been washed in ages. It literally reeked of B.O. we went down to the office to get a refund and the lady (who I assumed was the owner) told us to call the 3rd party in order to issue a refund. No problem, we go outside, call the 3rd party and they said they'd have to speak with the receptionist. No problem so we go back inside and the original lady was nowhere to be found, only to be replaced with a large man who refused to speak to the 3rd party in order to issue a refund and during the phone call, this man yelled at both my husband and I and berated us for asking for a refund. It was an embarrassing experience. He eventually yelled that he would allow the refund and since the 3rd party booker was on the phone this entire time, he was able to authorize it. What a sneaky move to run away from customers and try to replace her with a large intimidating man who didn't even eant to hear why we were leaving. Never stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AleSal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Northwood Inn and Suites for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via Trip Advisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for any Refund issues you encountered. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience, and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

While the motel room looked nice, the beds were bad. One had such a bad dip in it, we couldn't sleep there. The sofa sleeper wasn't good either. The shower curtain bar was falling off the wall making it impossible to close the curtain. The TV was nice and the pool was warm. The wifi was unsecured. If I could have given zero stars for a rating, I would have.

Room Tip: Stay at another motel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brewerzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Guest:

The Northwood Inn thanks you for choosing us for your recent stay and the review.

We have noted your valuable review and take it with due seriousness.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have addressed to your observations like bed sheets, towels and also the amenities in the best possible manner and would like you to stay us again.

Assuring you a fine stay next time,

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is an older motel but kept very clean. The staff was very pleasant and personable. There is an indoor pool but we did not use it. It is very close to the Mall of America. We would stay there again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We've used the Northwood Inn and Suites twice now when flying out the Minneapolis airport. The hotel is nothing fancy but we've only needed a place to sleep and a very early ride the airport in the morning. The convenience of the taxi at anytime we want is what made us book here for the second time. You just tell the person at the front desk when you want to be taken to the airport and the taxi is there waiting for you - no messing around with a shuttle at certain times or waiting around for other guests. It's only about a 10-15 minute ride to the airport. Pick up at the airport is super easy and quick too. The hotel gives you a card with the taxi service phone number on it and you give them a call when you've got your luggage. The taxi drops you back off at the hotel. Easy as can be. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip out of Minneapolis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Well we tried canceling when we first arrived because the sight of the place is just horrific. It looks run down. There were two cop cars outside of it and talking to someone about who knows what. The staff was rude when we requested to cancel our reservation, stating we had to get it approved by the manager. We got the managers number who basically hung up on us, and when we called back, he said he talked to the owner who said they had to follow policy and could not give us our money back. So, we paid $74 for a crappy room that felt totally unsafe. This place should be shut down. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Northwood Inn and Suites during your recent visit to our area.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Front desk staff and the Manager received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in seeing that the rooms are properly clean before assigning to our valuable guests.

I hope that the next time you are in our area you will once again choose to stay at the Northwood Inn and Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#33 of 42 in Bloomington
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bloomington MSP Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn and Suites

Address: 1225 E 78th St, I-494, Exit 3, Bloomington, MN 55425-1064
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range: £59 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northwood Inn and suites Bloomington! The Mall of America is 1 mile from the Northwood Inn & suites for numerous shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Northwood Inn and suites is four miles from Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and offers comfortable accommodations while having a central location near the region's main attractions. Guest services include 24-hour attendant, free parking, indoor heated pool, business services and a complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Dining options near the motel include Denny's, Split Rock Grille, Shells Café and Outback Steakhouse. The Water Park of America is three blocks from the motel featuring the largest indoor water park in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Northwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwood Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Travelodge
Bloomington Travel Lodge
Travelodge Bloomington
Travel Lodge Bloomington
Northwood Inn And Suites Bloomington/Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing