We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weather disruption”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Bloomington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Weather disruption”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was part of a group of weather displaced travelers who arrived right at a shift change. The woman, Karen I believe, who was going to be the overnight shift was great! she was polite, knowledgeable and moved with a sense of purpose to get the flood of customers checked-in as quickly as possible. The group, while nobody was angry, was obviously frustrated with having to spend an unexpected night in Minneapolis. Linda, who's shift had just ended, told the 3 groups in her line that she would not be helping anyone else since she was going home. I felt that this was a particularly tone-deaf remark and very poor customer service. It seems that if she could have stayed for 10-15 minutes, the group of customers could have all been checked in and properly serviced. The TV in the room was not working.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the review and staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    96
    55
    32
    21
See reviews for
97
58
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel was very clean. Even though the outside looked a bit old the hotel and rooms itself were very spacious and updated. The staff is very friendly! And having the hotel shuttle was AMAZING! We loved being picked up and dropped off door to door in a warm van.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm more than pleased your stay with us went well! Thank you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamosa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

In order to be able to return home this weekend we had to connect our flight to Minneapolis. We stayed at the AmericInn. It was very comfortable and we had a good breakfast before continuing our travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! Please make us your stop over again when traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Never have I encountered such an EXCELLENT staff to deal with at every level! I've made countless reservations for a variety of functions over 30 years, and the AmericInn West, Bloomington MN entire staff is by far the best of the best -- all across the board. Well done!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
WOW! Thank you for the fantastic review! I will be sure to pass along to my staff your great praise. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Good location if you're visiting the west side of the Twin Cities, as you can avoid the traffic snarls around I-35W
Rooms are clean and typical for this price.
The TV was crummy - poor picture quality (wavy lines) and the remote control was infuriating. You had to wait 2-3 seconds after pushing a button for it to take effect, and it only actually took effect 50% of the time. I was told "corporate is aware of this" - if they're aware, why haven't they fixed it?!
Also didn't get a morning paper - was told the delivery person had been late the last few days (this was at 7:30 am). If that's the case, find someone else who can deliver on time.
Lastly, didn't get a receipt delivered to my door, which I thought was standard practice (at least, it has been at every other hotel I've stayed at the last few years.) So I had to wait at the front desk to check out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaBearsWISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
DaBearsWISC- Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We have adressed the TV remote issues with the manufacturer and are awaiting a resolution. Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is basic but the really nice thing is the pool is perfect temp and the hot tub is great too! Also the staff were great. My only complaint is the rooms don't have a lot of light. But they are clean and the breakfast is also good

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommy56721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Mommy56721- Thank you so much for choosing The AmericInn Bloomington West! I'm more than pleased you enjoyed your stay. I must say that we do not have a pool yet, but will by Fall 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Location provided easy access to France Ave, mall of America, and American Blvd. the room was a standard room. I felt comfortable walking around in socks; the carpet was clean. The balcony overlooking the parking lot was big enough to have a chair on (which would be a nice addition). The sliding glass doors were easily secured with an adjustable bar so to could leave them open a just a bit for fresh air and still feel secure.

Staff was helpful and let me use the breakfast area to heat up supper (e.g., tray to use, plate for the microwave).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Lady_of_Shalom- Thank you so much for great review!! I'm more than pleased you enjoyed your stay! We will be undergoing renovations this year. Adding an indoor heated pool and whirlpool!! Come back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Bloomington
Park Plaza Bloomington
#34 of 43 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Address: 4201 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1120 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Bloomington West hotel is conveniently in the heart of Bloomington, near the Southdale Mall. We are located near several major Interstates including I-494, I-35W, and Highway 62/212. Our Bloomington hotel is just ten minutes from Minneapolis / St Paul International Airport and only five minutes from the Mall of America in a major business district close to many corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington (Airport Area) Hotel Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing