We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suggested”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There was only one incompetent person checking in guests, taking orders for room service, hailing cabs/shuttle, cooking up the food, etc etc. The worst hotel ever. The food was a crime. Pizza had half an inch of cheese with no sauce and was cold and stale, even though it was just cooked up. The Caesar salad was drenched with dressing; the salad was essentially buried by dressing as high up as the snow outside. Burger was insipid! How can someone possibly screw up a burger???

The driver in the shuttle to the hotel took forever!! I was waiting at airport and watching every possible shuttle from other hotels take their guests. Hyatt took over 20mins. The driver was a grumpy black guy.

Room is lit with unattractive fluorescent lights everywhere. Hallways had tray after tray of barely eaten food sitting outside rooms, allowing the rancid smell of awful food to diffuse throughout. Also we were facing a parking lot... How beguiling.

People who like this hotel may not have expectations. Thus, if you have low expectations and just wanna sleep, this may not even be the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We apologize that your stay was not a pleasant one and I will reach out to you to discuss in person. Our sincerest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this Hyatt Place for 4 nights. Overall our stay was just fine. We had booked the room with the Mall of America rate/package which entitled us to a MOA coupon book and VISA gift card. Neither of those were offered to us when we checked in. We had to ask for them later. Then it was a wild goose chase to find them. They never did find the coupon books but did credit our room for the amount of the coupon book, which was generous. And when I used the VISA card at a restaurant later, the waitress told me it didn't have the amount on it that the hotel said it should. That was embarrassing. So be sure to follow up if you use a package like that. There were 6 of us and our room was fine. Bathrooms are VERY small, but vanity is separate which is nice. Breakfast offerings were pretty bad for a hotel. But the staff went out of their way to find sugared cereal for the kids (but we had to ask for those cereals). Staff everywhere was very hospitable. We were on the 6th floor facing the park and ride and it was very loud (interstate noise). Very easy access to Mall, airport and interstate. (There is an IHOP less than a mile away.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMarieAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We are trying to improve guest experiences and, even though we are an airport property, try to make your stay as tranquil as possible. We apologize for the confusion on your package buy are glad we were able to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the first Hyatt Place I've ever stayed at and I was a little skeptical before the trip. I decided to stay here because I was going with a co-worker that has already booked her room; I typically stay at Marriott or Hilton properties.

I must say, this place had the neatest room layout that I've every seen for a normal sized hotel room. It had one giant TV that you could view from both the living room and the bedroom. The decor was modern and the room was spacious. I always like it when the vanity is in a seperate room from the shower so it's not all steamy.

The free breakfast was on par with any Hilton or Marroitt and the staff seemed friendly and welcoming. I will say that the workout room was REALLY small and there weren't any mats to sit on for streching.

FYI - there's a nice reasonable restaurant over in the Embassy Suites called Woolley's. It was much better than trying to find something at the Mall.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We provide a shuttle to the Mall of America to try and make it as convenient as possible for our guests. Thanks for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

A good hotel for an overnight stay. Food is not outstanding by any means but still decent quality. Location is great next to MOA and airport. All Hyatt place hotels seem very similar. We like the cozy corner sofas for the kids!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loewen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind words. We feel our rooms are ideal for families as well and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I just got here tonight. My room is dirty. The sofa is threadbare. My allergies have gone wild. In fact, it's so gross/dirty/dusty/musty my face is itchy.

I can't believe I paid 200+ plus to stay in this dump.

It is a horrible thing to spend the money, travel all day, get here and have the room be absolutely gross. Oh yes, the bed is hard and creaky.

If I wasn't so tired I would go find another place. But I'd be out my 200+ anyway.

This place is not the place. Find something else. Don't end up as uncomfortable and disappointed as I am.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank repeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for expressing your concerns. We take this very seriously and have conducted retraining of our staff to ensure the best possible experience in all areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here the night before we flew to Orlando Fl. Very nice lobby with a small bar area. Although we didn't use that service the prices seemed reasonable. The staff was very efficient and very friendly. Check in went smoothly . Room was very nice. Very clean hotel all the way through. Our room was large and efficient. Nicely decorated and had a "homey" feel. Although it is quite large it doesn't seem like it is. The Shuttle to the airport was wonderful....very nice driver . It was early which was nice!!! It was clean also. The location is very good close to MOA and the airport. Prices are average but worth it!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were very nice. Elevator was quick .Not much view though but then there really is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your concerns. We are committed to provinding a top notch experience and that clearly did not happen. We are working with our staff to ensure that this experience does not repeat itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hyatt Place Bloomington is very conveniently located near the airport and the Mall of America. Long term parking is located across the street. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bed and linens are very nice. We had a snafu getting the shuttle to pick us up at the airport and the front desk was very apologetic and helpful. The breakfast buffet is delicious with hot and cold items. I would recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nana5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for staying. We will work on teh shuttle issue and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South

Address: 7800 International Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1508 (Formerly AmeriSuites Minneapolis Mall of America)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#14 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £87 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining style and innovation, the Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport South located in Bloomington offers an array of services and features designed to meet the evolving needs of today's travelers. Featuring spacious guestrooms each with the Hyatt Grand Bed™ and a 42" flat panel HDTV. New Gallery Menu with mouthwatering options including our signature flatbreads, made to order snacks, entrees & much more available 24 hours/7 days a week. Complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet™, featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, steel cut oatmeal, fresh cut fruit, and more is available daily in our Guest Kitchen. Intimate Bakery Café serves Starbucks® specialty coffees & teas, premium beers & wines. Grab 'n Go case offers new sandwiches & greens from our Gallery Menu and bottled beverages for moments on the run. Complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel24/7 e-room with complimentary computers and a printerComplimentary onsite parkingComplimentary transportation to and from the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport (MSP) and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South Hotel Bloomington
Hyatt Place Bloomington
Hyatt Bloomington
Bloomington Hyatt
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South Bloomington, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing