We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place, not worth returning to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My family and I stayed here as we attended a wedding on premises in September, 2013. Very small bathrooms, and issues with a clogged toilet. When one of us went down to the pool to use the toilet there, it was clogged also. The whirlpool was inoperable, with a sign saying parts are on order. We had to ask the front desk twice to have our toilet unclogged, and then only received a plunger for us to deal with the issue. Having stayed at a La Quinta and a Hampton on either end of this stay, we all felt the Country Inn did not measure up.

The breakfast was very good, though there was not a lot of room to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffincville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnblgw, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Tripadvisor community and am very sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be. We appreciate the feedback regarding the bathrooms and the whirlpool and we will discuss our options to try to improve on these areas of the hotel. I do know that we are looking into expanding the bathrooms in the near future. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future if your travels bring you back into the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel in September and enjoyed everything about it except for one thing. First off the rooms were average but comfortable. The microwave and the mini-fridge are In the armoir so if you want to pop any popcorn you'd better remove your clothes before they take on the popcorn odour. With all that in the closet, there was very little room to hang anything up. The sink is outside the bathroom which is inconvenient because the towels are inside the bathroom. There isn't any privacy as far as using the sink. The washroom was very tight and small but clean and well stocked with products.
The whole hotel was very well maintained and there's obvious signs that renovations are in progress and some have been completed. The complimentary breakfast was very good but the staff couldn't keep up to the demand. The times we went down, there was a line up at the hot foods waiting for the warming trays to be refilled with eggs, sausage, gravy, and hash browns. When it was there it was very good. But by the time one tray got replaced the other one was empty. They need more help in the kitchen to keep the flow of hot dishes flowing evenly. On the weekend it was difficult to get near the waffle makers, even though there were two.
This hotel has a beautiful sunroom dining room, an inner restaurant adjoining it and a very cozy little bar with seating around the bar and at several tables. The menu was the same for dinner every night we were there. We ate there twice after long days of touring the city but for the other three nights we searched out other restaurants. The breakfast room is open in other Country Inns that we stayed at so if we wanted to go down in the evening and meet friends to plan the next day's activities or to talk or play cards we could. The bar and all the area was closed to the public on two nights that we were there for a private function. (weddings). We were told we couldn't use the breakfast room and were asked to leave. The wedding party may have paid for the facility but we as paying customers and travellers also paid for the privilege of using it. There weren't enough chairs in our rooms to get together so this was the ideal place. The next time we travel we will probably stay at a Country Inn and Suites (we like them) but we will check to see if the bar/restaurant area can be closed and the rest of us forced to go elsewhere. If that's the case, we would stay in another chain.
Overall this hotel was very good. It was handy to I-494 and easily accessible to all parts of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was lots of parking all around the hotel even on the nights when there were special functions being held there. I'd recommend this hotel if you're not wanting to relax in the bar every single night. Private functions pull rank on the paying hotel customers/travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller200247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The front desk staff is always warm, welcoming and helpful. I have stayed several time at this hotel and appreciate how helpful and accomodating the staff is. The room are comfortable and the value is good. I will continue to chose this hotel for my Minnepolis travel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jonathan helped with a logistical issue in a way that truly went the extra mile. Extremely helpful and friendly staff! The room is comfortable, but the people who work there make the hotel memorable. I cannot rate the spa because I did not use the pool or workout areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel was great! Very easy to get too, extremely friendly staff! The bed could have been a little softer, but we weren't going to be in the room very often so it was ok for the time we stayed. We checked in on September 6th and checked out on September 8th. The breakfast area was great, had a lot of options. The pool area was also very nice, the only downfall to it was that the jets in the hot tub could have been more powerful. Overall, very relaxing. The hotel was in the center of everything that we were going to be doing that weekend. 15 minutes or less from everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A late booking for me an was very pleased. Room was comfortable; front staff was friendly; and I thought the cost was reasonable to what I got (clean/comfortable/near the airport). Did not participate in the breakfast (VERY early morning flight).

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Drmah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in August on a family trip. The staff were welcoming. The included breakfast was decent (not exceptional but good). Cookies at the front desk are a nice touch. The pool area was unexpectedly beautiful and we used that a lot. Our room was dimly lit and the decor, dated. Pillows were small and feather; I asked for foam but only one was available in the entire hotel! Room was small, but adequate for 3.
There are better hotels in the area, I am sure (a nice Hilton Garden Inn right out back, for example).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West

Address: 5120 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1235
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £86 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington West
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn Bloomington West
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing