We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed 21 September 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to visit my mother-in-law in Wisconsin. For our return trip, we wanted to stay at a hotel close to the airport to avoid the 2-hour drive to the airport early in the morning.

The hotel was well-appointed and appeared to have its furnishings updated recently – nice comfortably pillow-top king bed, flat screen TV, etc. The room was smaller than I expected but was fine for my wife and me for one night. It was quiet, too.

The breakfast in the morning is great and has a variety of items to choose from (including “make your own” waffles). We had to eat and run, though, since the breakfast opens at 6:00 and we needed to leave about 6:15.

The service from front desk folks was good – not spectacular, but better than average. We didn’t encounter any issues during our short stay.

The restaurant is convenient to the freeway so it’s about 10 or so mins from the airport or Mall of America. Not much in the way of restaurants within walking distance – we didn’t try the hotel restaurant.

All in all it was a good place to stay. I would stay here again when the need arises.

  • Liked — Location to airport
  • Disliked — Room a bit small
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TacomaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    229
    124
    93
    57
See reviews for
381
151
50
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Utilized Trip Advisor to find this hotel and I am pleased to say we weren't disappointed. The suite was two bedrooms with a King in one and 2 Twins in other with small sitting room joining them.

The rooms are very small and the advertised fireplace is just a fake electric one (does give off heat -but not a true fireplace!) The price of the room was a bit extreme for the size, but other than that
- we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Liked — Wonderful soft featherbeds!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lupiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2007

i stayed at the hotel for a week.
the rooms are very comfortable, clean and spacious.
the staff were very friendly and made you feel at home.
the facilities include a bar, restaurat, pool and PC's with internet access.
the restaurant food is good and the complimentary breckfast has a good variety of food to start the day.
the hotel also provides a very efficient shuttle bus service that serves the airport and shopping mall which is a 15 min journey time. busdrivers jim & brad are gentlemen.
i would stay here again if i was in the area.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — far too dependent on transport to access nereby shops, bars etc i.e no footpaths
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2007

This is not your typical Country Inn & Suites, it is way better than any other I have stayed in. The staff was very friendly, the rooms large and the beds were out of this world. They have an inside pool with a huge screen which shows movies.
The bar which stays open until midnight is small, but nice. If I ever visit this area again I will stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

My family (w/ 2 teens) stayed while in town for the Red Sox/Twins series. I chose this hotel for the location to the Metrodome and the Mall of America. We had never used this chain before. We have been suitably impressed!

The hotel itself is just off the I-494, which gives access to the Metrodome and to returning to Canada. There is a free hotel shuttle that runs to and from the Mall of America every hour on the weekend, every 2 hours during the week. I am seldom interested in the lobbies, but this one was gorgeous! It was a sort of Italian countryside feel, with comfortable chairs, plants, wooden floor and elevator doors painted in scenery! Just beside the elevators, there was a business center with 2 internet computers (but no printers). This room was decorated in a true library/den theme and was most comfy to complete any searches.

The room itself was nice and big, but the bathroom was tiny - so small that the sink had to be outside it (if you wanted to change clothes after a shower, there wasn't enough room in the bathroom!). The beds were heavenly, feather topped, and the window cover allowed next to no light in at all in the morning. The workout room had a recline bike, stepper, dumbells and a state of the art treadmill with its own fans built in! The big screen tv was a joy to have while working out! And the breakfast was good too, allowing us to make our own belgian waffles, cereals, muffins, bagels and the lot.

It was clean, smelled clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. Many restaurants were just a short walk/drive away.

We will definitely be back, and they have sold me on this chain of hotel as well!

  • Liked — The beds and the lobby feel
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RSoxFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2007

This hotel is beautifully decorated, staffed with the friendliest people, and the rooms are extremely comfortable with the best beds in any hotel! The food in the restaurant is outstanding! The decor is something you would not expect from a hotel restaurant and lounge. Even if you do not select this hotel to stay at I highly recommend going over for the restaurant and lounge.
The pool is decorated like a spa. Very relaxing for the parents and fun for the kids! You can even watch movies while you swim on a giant screen!!
We took the shuttle over to the Mall of America. It was very convenient and made it so much easier than the horrific parking over at the Mall! Overall this is the best hotel for the price anywhere in that area! I would highly recommend it for any occasion!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caryn0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2007

We stayed at the Bloomington West hotel in February 2007, and did the park and fly option. The review two below this one said that they could walk to the Mall, well that is incorrect. That is a different Country Inn and Suites. This is about 10 minutes away from the Mall. There is a shuttle but we didn't use it. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The hotel does now have a lounge and restaurant. We went to the lounge but didn't eat there. We wish we had though, the menu looked great and the food smelled wonderful. We ate at Billabongs across the street. It was the worst food and service I have ever had, it is a Outback steakhouse ripoff. THe airport shuttle service was very convienent. We will stay there again.

  • Liked — lounge
  • Disliked — location away from the mall
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ajrwdwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
Address: 5120 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington West
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn Bloomington West
Bloomington Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing