We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. Great Staff. Cold Rooms and Lobby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Mall of America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Mall of America
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Hotel. Great Staff. Cold Rooms and Lobby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at the Radisson Blu Mall of America on business recently I will say that the room and the hotel are amazing place. Everything in the hotel itself was very contemporary and modern which gives a great opinion on first glance for your stay. However the rooms itself was cold, as according to staff the heat turns down to conserve energy, which in an location where it get's to -35 regularly (which it was) it not a great idea. The Lobby was freezing as well leaving the guest shivering while completing the check in and check out process, and making the amazing design chairs outside the lobby a worthless concept unless one was already in full winter gear.

With the bad out of the way the good, the staff was amazing even in the face of the cold lobby my Front Desk Agent was amazing and even managed a smile regardless. She explained everything that I needed to know and was able to direct me on how to get through the maze of a lobby, without any signs to direct a guest. The Room Service menu was a great concept on the TV, it was so nice to have access to see the menu without having to turn on a light for late night or early morning ordering, as well if you ever need to change it I assume that will be a lot faster. Plus I guessing that is gonna prevent them from walking off, which I am sure has happened in rooms that I have stayed with previously.

The pool and fitness centers were nice, and the Business Class Lounge included a great breakfast option as well coffee to get your day started out (or warm you up from the cold night). Overall the issues with the lack of warmth will most likely prevent me from staying again in the winter, but the next summer stay I have to the Minneapolis Area will be most likely at the Radisson Blu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,071
    608
    220
    121
    75
See reviews for
1,155
588
80
951
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I booked with the Radisson for the night before our trip, as we had an early flight. We were excited to be able to go to MOA by walking, while leaving all of our heavy winter wear in the room. We enjoyed the modern amenities of the hotel, but we were most interested in a good night's sleep, since our flight was so early. It was a nightmare to get in to the hotel to begin with. Wait times on the road were awful (not the fault of the hotel), as police had roads closed down for some reason. Traffic was backed up in every direction. I think the hotel was pretty booked because we didn't want to pay $22 for valet parking and decided to park ourselves - took forever to find a place to park. When we tried to sleep, all we heard most of the night was people talking in the halls and doors, doors, doors slamming all over! We could hear everything! I thought this would be a quieter hotel because it was new - wrong! If you're looking for a good night's sleep, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Mall of America, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize you were unable to get a good night's sleep. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Radisson Blu is a welcome addition to the local hotel selections. I have to travel to MN at least once a month for business and don't want to stay downtown as the commute to our corporate offices is too far. That leaves the hotels around the airport as our most convenient options and most of those hotels are very dated and in need of major updates or are so isolated they aren't worth staying at in the winter.

The Blu has a great on-site restaurant but is also connected to the Mall of American which affords a ton of additional options to eat without traveling out in the freezing MN winter! The rooms a new and clean. Club floor rooms have slightly upgraded amenities but are well worth it b/c the Blu lounge is really excellent. Breakfast is well stocked and worth the money alone, but at night they have a decent spread of food and provide alcohol (beer & wine) for FREE in the lounge - puts the more pricey Sheraton's to shame with the quality of this lounge and I'm a loyal Starwood platinum guest.

All in all the Blu is an excellent hotel for the area. It's new, clean, comfortable and a great place to stay in the winter especially b/c you aren't trapped in some old airport hotel. You can at least stretch your legs with a walk through the MOA after a long day at the office (if you want!) or take advantage of one of the many bars/restaurants available as well.

Best hotel outside of downtown for the reasonable price.

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth the upgrade price. The lounge is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a conference and I must say that I was very impressed by this hotel. The design of course is superb but what makes it special is the staff. We had all our meals there and the staff could not have been better. Very friendly, attentive and professional. The food preparation and presentation were outstanding. My wife and kids joined me for the weekend and they had a wonderful time. We went skying just 45mn from the hotel one day and spent the next day at the Mall! It was perfect. Can't wait to go back in summer!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PLGSLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The location is great for a shopping adventure at the mall of america. No parking issues, no need to bring your coat. Great to walk back to room and shower/change after fighting the bargains and carrying bags. The room is impeccably clean. LOVED the fold out baggage rack.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

If there is one thing obvious about this hotel, its that the staff have a very visible drive to satisfy customers. And not only one or two of them. Each staff member I have dealt with has been extremely friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and jumps at the opportunity to serve.
While the check-in area / lobby is somewhat mishappen and fills up very quickly due to its size, the rest of the hotel feels fresh and clean, and the rooms are well lit, with plenty well located electrical sockets, coffee machine, and quiet airconditioning.
Bathrooms are medium sized with a good sized shower and overhead shower head.
The Fire Lake hotel is decent if somewhat pricey, with a good variety of local meat dishes and a solid wine list - but it's boosted by the same service ethic that is found all over the hotel, making it a worthwhile experience.
The fact that the hotel is connected to the Mall of America means that, especially during winter, there are entertainment options on offer, as well as a very wide selection of faster, cheaper dining options.
On my first visit, I stayed on the 3rd floor, and had experienced a constant wind noise coming from the door, sounding like there was a blizzard blowing in the corridor. I also wish they had coffee available in the common areas for grabbing in the morning, or on the way out. Other than that, I have just selected this hotel for another 14 day stay, because I have yet to find another hotel with individual levels of service such as this.

Room Tip: Avoid room 320 due to howling wind noise coming from the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glf4drvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

First off I know everyone had their best foot forward due to this conference/attendees but let me tell...from the moment I arrived at the Airport until I was dropped off IT WAS AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE. The shuttle driver, was so informative, you could really tell she loves her job. The staff is all about "The Guest" The GM (Harry) is there bright and early in the morning...went down for coffee at 5:00 AM and he was already there checking on everything. I can not say enough about this hotel and the staff. EXCEPT Thank you for the great experience!!!!! The night before most of us were leaving it had snowed and icy rain had fallen...the door persons (Josh for one) made Snowmen and placed out signs wishing us safe travels, come back soon and sad to leave, It was something so small but touchrd us that they would stand out there in the blistry snow and ice storm to do that for their guests

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Minneapolis Mall of America
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Mall of America

Property: Radisson Blu Mall of America
Address: 2100 Killebrew Dr, Bloomington, MN 55425-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Mall of America 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Mall of America is the only hotel conveniently connected directly to Mall of America, the largest indoor entertainment and shopping mall in the United States. Just a short drive from the state capitol in downtown St. Paul and minutes from downtown Minneapolis via the Metro Transit Light Rail, Radisson Blu offers an ideal location among Twin Cities and Bloomington hotels. Rest well in one of 500 fashionable guest rooms and suites, each including premier amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access and room service. If you're looking for world-class cuisine, FireLake Grill House & Cocktail Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a scrumptious meal or gather with colleagues for a delicious microbrew. Keep your workout routine on track in the hotel's fitness center, which includes an indoor swimming pool and a fully equipped fitness room and an onsite spa. The hotel's location at Mall of America offers a highly trained team of event planners available to help you host professional meetings, conferences and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Mall Of America Bloomington/Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing