We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Carlo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Thank you Carlo”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After a long wait at the airport and a rubbish flight with United we arrived at the hotel to be advised that our travel agent had booked us into the Holiday Inn, Bloomington, Illinois!! This did not phase Carlo on reception - he cancelled our reservation, booked us into a quiet corner room and directed us to the bar at the Ramada. He effortlessly rectified what could have been a difficult situation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We do believe that you are referencing a different property here in Bloomington. We already spoke to the other location to pass on your kind words and great feedback. We are happy that you were taken care of and that Carlo in particular made an impact. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    85
    61
    26
    10
See reviews for
83
42
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Upon arrival, I realized I had booked the wrong Holiday Inn as this one was seemingly in the middle of no where. I had hoped to be walking distance to IKEA as my family had tickets to the Cirque Du Soleil show held in the adjacent parking lot. The location turned out to be no issue as MOA and IKEA were literally a 5 minute drive or we could take the free shuttle. The property, located right off of I-35, was also 5-10 minutes from Galleria and Trader Joe's, and 15 minutes away from ValleyFair. So...turns out the location was great!
We had booked a room that was to accommodate 5 adults. Our room with 2 queen beds would not be able to do so and we were upgraded on the spot to a 2-room suite. Every question or request was met efficiently and with a smile from Erne and her daughter Heather. They couldn't do more for us! Thanks:)
The fitness room, although small, had a decent selection of equipment as well as a flat screen TV and water cooler. The pool area was clean, and the pool large enough to do lengths.
We ate breakfast in the Green Mill restaurant and although the service was very slow, the server was friendly and kind and put forth her best efforts.
Aside from some obnoxious guests partying on the poolside patio, the stay was very good and we would consider staying again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopRasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic words! We are so pleased that your stay with us was pleasant and you had great interactions around every corner. We will be sure to pass your kind words onto Heather and Erne. We love to hear compliments about our staff members, especially when we can give them personal recognition. We are so happy that our location was convenient for you and that we were able to get you into a room to accommodate your needs. Thank you again for this wonderful review, and we sincerely hope to serve you and your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The staff Julia Valley, Lynette Haugen ,Erne Joyner &Jessica Smith all did a great job with my group from the time I booked the group .Check in was great Jessica and Erne were great Lynette made sure my shuttle schedules for airport pick up and light rail schedules' for the game Sunday were on time
The rooms were great the staff great .Hotel is very clean .I will be back
Thank you
Abraham Jeffries

Room Tip: if you enjoy the pool or spa ask for these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abraham08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We sincerely enjoyed having your group with us. They were such an awesome group of people and had all of us smiling and laughing with every interaction! We are so happy that our staff was able to accommodate all of your requests and special shuttles. Also, we are pleased that the cleanliness of our property met your standards. We truly hope that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be your hotel of choice if you decide to come back to Bloomington. Thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn I-35 Airport South, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Sunday 8-25-13 (one night stay)

Stayed here for one short night, using the park and fly option. The hotel was very convenient to the airport and also to the Mall of America. Check in was quick and easy and they were very well organized and prepared to set me up with the parking and airport shuttle. The room was very nice and very clean. Not a single complaint.

I did not have time to check out the restaurant nor the pool area but they looked really nice too.

In the morning they were waiting for me in the lobby and even carried my very heavy bag out to the shuttle. Quick trip to the airport and dropped off right where I needed to be. On the way back it was super easy to call them after leaving baggage claim and they picked me up maybe 20 minutes later. I really wish I could remember her name because she was great (it was about 9:00 p.m. on Sat 8-31-13). I am sure management can see who it was and give her the recognition.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback from your recent stay! We are so happy that we were able to make your trip seamless and accommodate all of your needs. We are pleased that you enjoyed the staff, room and shuttle service. The shuttle driver that you were referring to was Kelly! We are so happy that she provided you with friendly service and will absolutely recognize her for it! We sincerely appreciate you taking your time to review our property and truly hope to have you back in the near future. Keep us in mind the next time you’re planning a business trip or vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pros: Nice pool area, workout room was in great shape, rooms were very clean and came with a fridge/micro.
Con: The A/C unit was very loud and rattled all the time. There is no free breakfast provided but there is a Green Mill restaurant in the hotel. We did not try it though. Front desk gal wasn't all that friendly but did her job.

The Mall of America is fairly close and the hotel does provide a shuttle.

Room Tip: This hotel is right off the interstate so easy to find, but in a business/manufacturing area so no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for taking the time to give us both the pros and cons of your experience. We are so happy that you were pleased with the fitness and pool area as well as the cleanliness of your room. We apologize for the maintenance and service issues you encountered, however. We will immediately bring this to the attention of the department heads and be sure the issues are resolved. As we are a full service Holiday Inn, we have the full-service restaurant attached. Typically the Holiday Inn's that do not have an attached restaurant will offer the complimentary breakfast. Again, we thank you for your comments and hope to have you back again if your travels bring you back to Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Room was generally clean, but it was small. Bed was not soft - no give. Bathroom fan didn't work. Internet connection was slow and kept getting reset (couldn't stay logged in.) Limited TV channels (especially for the room price.) Breakfast buffet had more choices than other places.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaBearsWISC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have spoke to our Chief Engineer regarding the wireless internet and we are currently trying to work on the issue. The issue we were encountering with our satellite provider has since been taken care of and we apologize that this affected your stay. We hope to have you back in the near future so we can show you the hotel experience you deserve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago metro area
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stay at Holiday Inns a lot, and have found they vary from location to location. In this case, we can honestly say that the filth and rude customer service have convinced us to never stay at a Holiday Inn property again.

Check in took 20 minutes, with only one customer in front of us due to an understaffed front desk. We could have dealt with this, until we walked through the hotel and saw the room & facilities (see photos).

The room smelled musty and dirty, carpet was filthy, bathroom had mold, broken fixtures (photo) peeling paint and a bathtub that looked like it was older than we are (in our 40s) with peeling sealant and cracked porcelain. We refused to even take off our shoes in this place, it was so dirty.

The pool is miniscule and even my 9 and 13 yr old sons refused to walk barefoot in the area AND to go in the pool (photos). There is a weird, dark restaurant seating area next to the pool area as well as several large groups eating and dropping food everywhere near the pool. There was no one on duty or attempting to keep the area picked up.

Finally, the wifi bandwidth is a JOKE...my husband is a physician who needs access to his health network files at a moment's notice when he is traveling. Over the 2 days we stuck it out, he was only able to log on once, despite being connected. The front desk told him just to "sit in the lobby, it's better there". Unfortunately, due to legal health privacy laws, he is unable to sit in the lobby to work online, which is WHY we booked a hotel w/property-wide wifi in the first place!

The Green Mill restaurant, which is affiliated w the hotel and where you get use your breakfast vouchers was equally filthy and after getting 3 of our 4 orders wrong (twice!), we left and went somewhere we had to pay more to eat.

After two nights, our family unanimously decided to check out, mid-stay. We paid more, but very much enjoyed the Best Western directly next to MOA.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We would like to sincerely apologize for all the issues you encountered during your stay. We will be sure to address all issues with the corresponding department heads to resolve the problems. We strive for 100% satisfaction and are always trying to better ourselves. Again, we are very sorry and we hope you reconsider Holiday Inn as a brand. We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South

Property: Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South
Address: 1201 W 94th St, Bloomington, MN 55431-2334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story brick building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport (Mall Of America) Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing