We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problem Resolved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Silver Lake, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“Problem Resolved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had posted a review earlier about a terrible stay I had at this hotel. This is a follow up to that posting. I had booked my hotel through Southwest Airlines Vacations. I got no results from the hotel directly but Southwest managed to get me a full refund. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your time. We are very happy that your problem was resolved. However, we are interested in hearing more about the issues you initially had at our property, so we can follow up with our management to ensure the same issues do not occur in the future. We ask that you contact the hotel so we can follow up on our end as well. You can call us directly and ask for our guest service manager. Thank you to choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    85
    61
    26
    10
See reviews for
83
42
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel staff here were so kind and helpful. We took their free shuttle to and from the Mall of America and the drivers were awesome! The hotel room was very clean and the hotel itself was very quiet. The pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. Although they didn't have a continental breakfast the restaurant attached (Green Mill) had a deal in which kids eat free. By the way, the food there was excellent! The staff found out that one of my children had a birthday and when we returned to our room in the evening they had candy, balloons, party hats, and decorations on the bed for my 9 year old. They also had a card signed by all the staff. Everyone was so nice that we decided to stay an extra night....great trip, great hotel, awesome staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynevern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We are so pleased that your stay was excellent and that our staff exceeded your expectations. Going above and beyond for our guests is the best part about our industry, and we truly love to make a difference! We hope that your child's birthday was a blast and hope to see you next year! We will pass along your kind words about the Green Mill restaurant and thank you for your comments! We look forward to your next stay and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, KS USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stay at this property every summer on our way north to the Minnesota lakes. Location is extremely convenient; right off I-35W at 94th street. There's a Starbucks one exit south at 98th street. The Green Mill restaurant menu is typical for this level of property but it provides perfectly fine fare for weary travelers. My wife is quite fond of the wild rice mushroom soup. The property has ample, convenient, free parking. But be aware that this is a suburban property. It's more convenient to the airport than to the downtown Twin Cities. If you're looking to be in the center of things, you may wish to investigate other properties closer in. But if you're looking for something less expensive out in the suburbs, this is worth considering.

Our rooms have always been clean and nice. My wife has a fairly low "ick" factor threshold and she never has a problem staying at this hotel. I am a seasoned business traveler who usually gets booked at city center upscale properties for various industry meetings and conferences. With that background I nevertheless have no complaints about this nice little Holiday Inn. I'm not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about with the comments on the "dated" lobby or the rooms showing wear. Look folks, this isn't the Four Seasons, the Carlton or the Intercontinental, so don't expect it to be. It's a nice suburban Holiday Inn in Minnesota. For what you're paying to stay here you're getting your money's worth.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the outside of the property. Much quieter. Avoid rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakecabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! We appreciate all of your kind words and are beyond pleased that you keep returning to us. We are so happy that our location is convenient for you and that you enjoy our on-site restaurant! We love that your rooms are always neat and clean when you stay and thank you for your comments. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
553 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time. The staff here were very nice and helpful. The hotel was showing a lot of wear. The lobby was dated and needs updating. My room was well appointed but looked and felt old. They need new beds. The room was clean and had an iron and board.
It's a nice property but it could use an update.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are so happy that our staff made your stay enjoyable and that your sleeping room was nice and clean. We will pass along your comments to management about your concerns. We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I just got back from four days in the Minneapolis area for the annual Shriner Imperial (convention). Our group of Shriners stayed here. The hotel did a great job of taking care of us and trying to make everything we needed happen. The biggest problem was that there was nothing close. We traveled by bus, so it wasnt possible to go out in small groups and there were no attractions, restaurants or entertainment within walking distance.

The hotel did have a shuttle that when available would take you out, but that can be a problem timing wise. The rooms were clean. The overall area was also clean. The hallways seemed a little dated but once you got in your room all was well.

I think this would be a perfect hotel if you are just on an overnight stop.

I was a little disappointed at the need to stifle our group. Our shriner group is a drum and bugle corps and a few times we wanted to play music and the hotel asked us to stop. a couple of nights they asked us to leave the pool area because of the apparent noise we were making and it was just a little past 10 pm. Not sure what they expected when a Shriner Drum and Bugle Corps booked a large section of rooms.

Still all in all, i was very satisfied by the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billiken_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for your thorough review, your time is greatly appreciated! We are so happy that our staff took such great care of your group during your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your clean sleeping rooms as well. We apologize that you feel like your group was stifled, however hotel policy states that the pool area must be quiet after 10pm. We have to maintain a level of respect for all hotel guests across the board. We enjoyed hosting your group and hope to be your hotel of choice next time your in our area. We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W and we truly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip with 19 others who were all working the same event. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was quite friendly. The free shuttle makes getting to and from the airport and MOA quite easy.

Room Tip: If pool smell bothers you, get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicyclemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your clean and comfortable sleeping room. We thank you for your comments about our staff and will be sure to pass along your comments. We hope that you return to our property the next time your event is in town or just for a weekend getaway! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
286 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Easy access off the highway.

The very friendly staff had all of our keys ready on our arrival. They simply handed us our key packets and we were on our way to our rooms--no lengthy check-in....Awesome!

This is an older property, somewhat revamped but not all the way there. Our room was well-sized and clean but smelled musty. There wasn't accessible power on both sides of the bed, just one point on one lamp, so two people could not each have their phones nearby, charging on the nightstand while sleeping--one person loses out, unfortunately. Our bed was soft but very comfortable.

Our room was quiet. Our colleagues had stayed up late, laughing in their rooms, which could be heard in the hallway yet we heard nothing in our room. So the walls seemed solid.

The bathroom smelled strongly of mold yet there was no visible trace; perhaps there's mold lurking behind the wallpaper. The shower/tub seemed scrubbed and mold-free, as did the shower head. The shower water pressure was good, and the hot water worked well. The bathroom had a constant-on fan that wasn't very loud (yay!), just a low-level "white noise" type of sound, and it worked well enough, leaving just a light film of steam on the mirror, which dissipated quickly.

WiFi was free and worked OK, not necessarily speedy.

Parking was free in the hotel's large, open-air lot.

In the end, there was some good about this hotel and some not so good. I might stay here again if the price was right.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspso, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you very much for your thorough review, we sincerely appreciate your time. We are very happy that our staff was accommodating and offered a seamless check-in. We will bring up the issues in the sleeping rooms to our Chief Engineer and we will be sure to follow up. Thank you for making us aware. We truly hope that you would stay with us again if your travels bring you to the Bloomington area. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn I-35W!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South

Property: Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South
Address: 1201 W 94th St, Bloomington, MN 55431-2334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story brick building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport (Mall Of America) Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bloomington - Airport South Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing