We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location. Great Staff. Average Property.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minneapolis Airport Marriott
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location. Great Staff. Average Property.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Free airport shuttle, free Mall of America shuttle, walking distance to MoA, friendly and accommodating staff, food at the onsite restaurant is tasty/great service, large pool and hot tub. Hotel is in need of all around updates and isn't the standard Marriott fare. However, with the service, amenities and room rates it's a good value.

Tip: very odd configuration. Ask for a room that's in the same wing as what's most important to you (Concierge Lounge, Pool, etc..).

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 4DMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, General Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We strive to exceed just an average stay. Please email me directly as I would love to hear more details of your stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    160
    133
    62
    32
See reviews for
97
71
29
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've stayed here many times and may have already written a review, but had to write another after my most recent stay, just to emphasize how excellent the staff is at this property.
From the front desk, to the restaurant and just about anyone you run into walking around, everyone is genuinely nice and interested in helping you out. The morning of my most recent stay was sporting a temperature of -16 (without the wind chill) and the guys at the front even offered to go get my car so it could warm up before I had to drive off. As others have pointed out, this is not the newest Marriott and could use some updating, but it's clean and comfortable and the staff more than makes up for any shortcomings. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, General Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for highlighting our amazing staff. They are the reason we have such loyal guests. Our bell staff certainly go above a beyond during the cold winter months by offering to scrape and dust off snow and ice from the guests vehicles. We do have several refresh projects within the hotel. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I think I stayed at this sprawling hotel 25 years ago and it's location near the airport and Mall of America may be the best reasons to stay there. All that's seems changed in all these years is the addition of a new check-in area and the rooms upgraded (same as all Marriott full service)
Pluses: 1. Excellent staff, front desk to restaurant. 2. location. 3. Bed was very comfy. 4. had a prefectly cooked Burger the one night I ate there.
Negatives: 1. Sprawling, signage is good but you still keep wondering if you're going in the right direction. 2. Restaurants - one by the front desk that looks a lot like a Courtyard, another buried beyond the meeting rooms. Buried and dark, just not beckoning. 3. Please plow the parking lot when you get snow. 4. Hallways, same old skinny ones from the '80s. 5. Concierge room. Again buried and I had to direct several people several times to find it. Food not up to par with other Marriotts, especially at night. 6. Restaurant food options were very limited. Past the 1st night I trekked over to the mall where there are plenty of selections.
MArriott should buy this place out and find a new owner that can compete with the many airport/mall area options

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, General Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty to Marriott and our property. I would agree about the hallways. I wish the hotel was built with the future guest needs in mind. unfortunately this is not reality.
We do have the best staff in town and truly hope to host you again on your next visit to Minneapolis. Upon that visit less snow would be appreciated by ALL here in Minnesota.
We promise to cook your burger perfectly again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel well in advance of our stay. The day of our arrival the entire region was engulfed in a blizzard. All flights at MSP were cancelled creating a rush on rooms.

We arrived quite late in the evening and were pleased to find that they still had a room for us. It turned out to be a terrific room; very clean and comfortable. It was one of the most comfortable beds in which I have ever slept.

The property would have received five stars from me if staff would have remembered the wakeup call I had requested.

So ... do stay here. Just remember to set your own alarm for a wakeup.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SenCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, General Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for referring to our property as a sanctuary. Although we had many displaced travelers during that storm, our associates rose to the occasion by their brilliant customer service. I apologize that your wake-up call was not received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The facility is a rambling affair, apparently the result of several major additions over the years. It is clean but slightly worn in spots. It seems well used, perhaps because it sits across the street from the Mall of America.
The service was uniformly good throughout all departments .... a real plus these days. The only thing I found truly objectionable was a charge of $10.00 per day for WiFi service, even in the meeting rooms. Come now. This is the twenty-first century. Given a choice I would always avoid a facility w/o free WiFi.
I was there for a Conference, which included meals. They were adequate, but completely institutional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room within easy access to an entrance if you're not physically fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Most Valable Guest,

Thnak you so much for your feedback concerning your stay. We look at each review that is given to us and want to make sure that we follow up with this feedback. We do offer free interent in our public space for our guest to use. It is avaiable in our lounge and lobby bar area. I will make sure that my staff makes our guest aware of this as they check in. I think that if we had provided you with this information it would have been much more user freindly for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
484 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

While the hotel resembles a Marriott in some ways, overall the property is not up to typical Marriott brand standards. The hotel has a bizarre and confusing layout and room numbering system. I had a map and was still barely able to locate my room. During my three night stay, I directed at least three other guest that were clearly lost and roaming the halls looking for their room. The concierge lounge is rather small and was very crowded at both breakfast and dinner hours. The service staff (front desk, maids, lounge, room service) did a good job, but overall were just not as polished as most Marriotts. The gym facility was nice and had many Natilus type of weight machines, treadmills, elipticals and the like.

If this were a lower part of the Marriott brand (such as a Springhill Suite, Courtyard, etc.) then I would rate it average, as that is exactly what this "full" Marriot reminded me of.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is very important to recieve feedback from our guest so we can continously make improvements.

I am so sorry that the size of our property can be overwhelming at times. We give each of our guest information as they check in to make sure that we can get you to your room quickly.

We pride ourselves on provding the most excellent service and hope that you did encounter this when you stayed with us. We are a Full Service Marriott that provides all the full service ammenties that many of the local hotels do not. If I can be of any assistance in the futre please feel free to call me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pound, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

When stranded late at night at the airport in January, we were happy to find a hotel close by that had rooms available for $99 plus tax. The phone reservation agent booked a room with a king but we were told upon arrival that only two doubles were available. The hotel smelled musty and looked like it had seen better days. Breakfast is not included in the rate. Upon checkout the following morning, we had to take our luggage down a hallway through the displays and people for a Lion's club convention which was very awkward.

On the plus side, there were plenty of plugs for electronics in the room. The Bistro served food until 12:45 am so we were able to eat and have a cocktail when we were starving and thirsty after a long day's travel. The food was quite good and the waitress was very pleasant and funny. The $17 breakfast buffet in the morning had hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit and juice, pastries, omelet station, eggs, bacon etc. The buffet was huge and very delicious. If you don't have time for a sit down breakfast, there is also a coffee stand if you want a quick cup of coffee and pastry to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59travelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mspmn, General Manager at Minneapolis Airport Marriott, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Travelmom,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We love to get feedback from our guest. I want to let you know that the weekend you stayed with us is not a typical weekend at the Marriott. We have a annual conference of the local Lion's Club's. It was a busy weekend for us with the fantastic organization. I hope that you will try us again, when you want to get away for a quite weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Mall of America
9.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver Grove Heights
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Inver G...
#3 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Airport Marriott

Property: Minneapolis Airport Marriott
Address: 2020 American Blvd E, Bloomington, MN 55425-1239
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 472
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the top hotels near the Mall of America and the Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport, the Minneapolis Airport Marriott offers complimentary shuttle service to MSP Airport and the Mall of America. Across the street from IKEA, located off of 494 between 35E & 35W, the Minneapolis Airport Marriott is a great place to stay when visiting the Twin Cities. Guest rooms are equipped with luxurious amenities and high-tech business services make it the perfect destination for business and leisure. 19,000 square feet of event space can be transformed to your specifications for business meetings, social events and of course weddings. Enjoy our two lush outdoor courtyards perfect for outdoor wedding ceremonies or receptions. Discover a new standard for hotels on your next trip to the Twin Cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis Airport Hotel Bloomington
Marriott Hotel Minneapolis Airport
Marriott Hotel Bloomington
Marriott Bloomington
Bloomington Marriott
Minneapolis Airport Marriott Bloomington, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing