We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but misses excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good but misses excellent.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The first drawback to this hotel is that it is difficult to find the first time. Check-in was quick and professional. Our room was great. It was a junior suite but was very roomy and comfortable. Bed and bedding were excellent. The sitting area had room for 4 or five people and the TV was large. The major problem had more to do with the bar/restaurant than the hotel itself. The first night, we went down to eat and were told that Happy Hour was still in effect for 15 minutes. We each ordered a drink. My spaghetti was fine--not outstanding--but fine. His shrimp alfredo was not good. The sauce was ok but the shrimp were way overdone. The shock came when we got our bill. We expected to have 2 drinks at Happy Hour prices and 2 at regular prices. Instead, our 4 drinks totaled $42.00! The next night we stayed in our room and picked up a pizza from the bar. It was excellent and we saved more than $60.00. So, if you stay here and want to eat, order the pizza and pick it up at the bar. I'd order off the menu for breakfast. The buffet isn't worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I am sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant. I wish I would have known then and there as I would have been happy to have adjusted that bill for you. If you do come back to try us again, please let me know of any issue, big or small so that we can fix it right away or at least adjust the bill accordingly. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    247
    74
    27
    29
See reviews for
155
127
62
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have been to many hotels in the Minneapolis area and I found the Crowne Plaza to be the best one for me. It is close enough to everything that I need. The Mall of America is not that far away, but far enough that I am not wasting everyday there. The best part about this hotel would be the staff! They make you feel like family! The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The restaurant offers a nice made to order breakfast, as well as a buffet if you desire. The dinner menu is always being updated and the food is excellent, and very reasonable prices. The bar is there if you want to enjoy a libation with friends. Parking has never been a problem. Getting back to the staff..... AMAZING! They will bend over backwards to ensure that your stay is comfortable and that you have everything that you need. I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you want a great nights sleep at a CLEAN hotel. Comfortable, Friendly, Reasonably priced, Great food and super staff. What more do you need? Oh, did I mention the pool and hot tub? Trust me, you will not be disappointed! Say Hi to Ashley, Tyron, George, Vicki and the rest of the wonderful staff !!

Room Tip: I prefer not to stay on the first floor. Personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYMako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for the great review. I think that is one that should go on our website! would you like a job as our PR manager? Thank you again for the amazing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple nights. Comfy beds and linens, with nice bed products for a great night sleep. Great bath products! Had dinner at the restaurant, wasn't impressed and was expensive. Nice pool and hot tub, it would be nice if it was open later. Would return to the hotel, not the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Nice review! Thank you for the wonderful words. You might be happy to know we have a new menu from our new chef. We hope you get a chance to try it in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fifteen minutes from the mall. While they run a shuttle at various times during the day, it's never at a convenient time. This is a hotel that used to be known as Crown Plaza Airport/MOA, the owners of CP renamed it Bloomington West. The other CP now bears the airport/ MOA designation. It is WEST, way west. It's being refurbished, but that didn't help us. We drove ourselves to the Mall, as
that is why we came.

Service is spotty. I went to the bar to get a drink and was ignored. The manager had to be called to unlock the taps and fridge. The front desk was very accommodating when the other CP, the nice one, picked her up and took her to their hotel. They had to call the driver from our hotel to go get her from the other hotel when I complained it was misbranded. It took 45 minutes there and back to get her. A total waste of time, that I believe needs to be resolved. At this time it is still listed incorrectly on travel sites. The hotel is sub par in more ways than you can imagine. Don't stay here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunburntbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneFOM, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We would like to apologize for the confusion between the two properties and understand the frustration it may cause. Our hotel name has been Crowne Plaza Bloomington MSP Airport/ MOA for the past 5 years. The Crowne Plaza Suites MSP Airport/ Mall of America rebranded from a Holiday Inn in 2011. It is our hotel policy to allow any guest who unknowingly booked the incorrect hotel to cancel their reservation with no penalty. Room rates, however, may differ as each hotel has different pricing structures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Made a quick trip to Minneapolis this past weekend and stayed with my favorite "hotel family", the Crowne Plaza Bloomington. I had the pleasure to be assigned a room on the newly renovated executive floor which I had not been on before. I was extremely impressed with their newly renovated rooms. The bathrooms have been totally transformed into an almost spa like ambiance with a large glass tiled shower with glass doors, Pendant lighting creates a soft glow above the shallow rectangular sink. A wood-like ceramic tile has been put down on the bathroom floor as well as the room entryway. Comfortable easy chairs have been added to the rooms a new addition from my last visit, a relaxing space to sit and read or watch a movie on the large TV. As usual, the beds were extremely comfortable and the sheets soft and comfortable. Breakfast Saturday morning was delicious, and I noticed they are now cooking fresh pancakes for their breakfast buffet. The scrambled eggs were some of the best I have ever had. The friendly staff encountered, including Ashley, Douglas, Jill and Travis went out of the way to make me feel at home during my weekend stay. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The beds here are very comfortable, and combined with the soft sheets really give you a great night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJGGSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so very much. We are always making little improvements. We are extremely glad you enjoy them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Called multiple times ahead of time to ensure that the two rooms I had booked were connecting. After arriving at 11pm we got to our rooms and guess what.... The rooms were not connecting. So we moved rooms at now close to midnight... got to our room and I must say we were disappointed...the rooms smelled musty like a basement that had been flooded. The curtains were stained. Overall very poor Crown Plaza. Don't stay here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldZIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneFOM, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your request for connecting rooms and that our cleanliness was not up to standard. The hotel has addressed these issues and used them as a training tool moving forward. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you will consider using the hotel the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carter Lake, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Rooms were clean and staff extremely friendly. Great pool and easy access to the mall which was nice for my family. Bar staff and atmosphere was great! Nice place to stop and watch the game before bed. I think from the minute we stepped foot through the doors until the moment we left the service and staff were phenomenal and family friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Address: 5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55437-1002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Crowne Plaza Bloomington is The Place to Meet. Whether you re here on a business trip, attending a meeting, on vacation or shopping at the Mall of America , your comfort and success are paramount. Located in the heart of the Bloomington, MN business district and just minutes from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and the Mall of America (MOA) with easy access to both downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Complimentary transportation is available to MSP Airport as well as Mall of America. The Crowne Plaza Bloomington hotel near Mall of America features a contemporary hotel design and leading edge technology that includes complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout, 42 high definition televisions in every room, a state-of- the-art fitness center with Precor equipment, core and balance accessories, and a Jr. Olympic sized indoor pool. Comfortably appointed hotel rooms, a full service restaurant and lounge, and the Priority Club Rewards hotel loyalty program makes this hotel The Place to Meet. The hotel was featured on NBC s Today Show for its unique women s floor, featured as one of the Best Airport Hotels by Business Week Online, rated one of the Top Hotels by the MSP/St Paul Business Journal, and the recipient of the Meeting Service Excellence Award from Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing