We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carter Lake, Iowa
1 review
“Great service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel can be considered a hidden gem. I have stayed here before a couple of years ago and it was a good value. So I stayed again....what I didn't expect is the vast improvements made. The service at the front desk and bar were stellar! They staff I encountered were efficient and very friendly. They made a point to know my name and reference it later. The shuttle to local area was awesome!!! The increased the value of my stay. The rooms were clean and exactly what I needed for my 3 night stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mngwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so very much! Keep talking about us! Tell everyone and maybe we won't be hidden any more. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    254
    78
    27
    29
See reviews for
160
130
66
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milbank, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is like a pig...wearing lipstick. They have attempted to do updates to modernize the hotel, but you can still tell its a pig. The remodeled bathroom is weird, they tried to pack all the modern amenities into one tiny little room, and it doesn't work. You could see the bumps and lumps of the old bathroom through the wallpaper, the shower door is in the way of the toilet, no room for anything on the bathroom counter, the pocket door is impossible. We had 2 double beds...not queens! The airport shuttle man was a CRAZY driver...and seemed mad at the world, not the best "welcome back to MN" after spending a week in paradise. He went to pickup a guest at a nearby bar on the way back to the hotel, waited 30 seconds for him to show up, called the hotel and told them..."i waited for 5 minutes, he never showed up"...glad I wasn't the guy waiting for the shuttle. Checked out the $15 breakfast buffet, everything was empty, looked cold, and not worth 15 cents. The pool was bigger than average for a hotel, my kids would have liked it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valley467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for the review. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and we have been getting wonderful feedback about our latest renovation. We are quite proud of our 2.5 million dollar update to our bathrooms. Each year we spend millions on updating our hotel and use high quality materials and products in these renovations. We thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Loved this hotel! The decor was classy yet comforatble, the staff was exceptional and everything was very clean. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and the prices reasonable. Although I don't think the hotel is new, our room showed very, very little wear and tear.

There was one maid in particular who I felt embodied excellent customer service. While I was waiting for my husband to park the car, I was struggling to move a number of bags to a seating area. She saw me and offered to help me take my things to my room, even though she was busy tidying up the entry way. Later, I saw her down by the pool and she was scrubbing the floor with so much energy and dedication! I could see, by her example, that the staff are what make a place great. Everything was clean and I could see why!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mngirlodim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
That's wonderful!!! You said it perfectly! I have nothing more to say except, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar falls
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

hotel and staff were great, shuttle service was great, shuttle driver Rick from airport to hotel was very polite and and gave great directions on how to get back to freeway on drive home, would highly recommend this hotel, we have stayed here 4 times and will return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. We will be looking forward to giving great service to you the next four stays and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Bloomington, MN and I wanted to share how pleased I was with my experience. I stay at this hotel frequently for business and I want to commend two people in particular.

Sai, the bartender is phenomenal! She is very friendly, engaging and she always makes me feel welcome. As a "semi-regular" at the CP in Bloomington, she is a friendly face for the weary traveler.

Also, on my most recent stay, Nancy in housekeeping did a stellar job. She was super friendly and even left me a nice note to say,"have a great day". I thought that was exceptionally nice and it made my day (I had a particularly bad day, and it really brightened it up for me).

I would highly recommend this hotel not only for it's convenient location, but also for it's comfortable rooms. Most of all though, I recommend it because of Sai and Nancy!

Michael C.
Atlanta GA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
That is wonderful! Thank you for writing such a great review. Those two are truly wonderful and we will make sure they read your great words. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighorn river montana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had to overnight in Minneapolis for a early flight. The hotel was convenient, very clean, and the price was great. The food was excellent. Very friendly staff. There is a beautiful pool area, although we did not use. It would be great for children!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfishmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are glad that we were able to make your visit a happy experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is great. The staff is amazing and helpful beyond compare. The rooms and facilities are terrific. The bathrooms are....problematic.

When we checked in, the front desk attendant was wonderful. Friendly is an understatement. He is genuinely nice to guests and not just going through the motions. It was so refreshing to be greeted by someone with such a great attitude and friendly personality.

We went to our room on the third floor and were quite happy with it. My husband and I were traveling on business related to his job, so we had a room for the two of us with a king sized bed. The room was furnished with a nice desk, a chair with ottoman and a huge 42 inch TV. We had just arrived from a 5 hour drive to get there, so both of us needed to make a quick stop into the bathroom. I called dibs on it first.

I walked in and was impressed with the huge shower and very modern design and decor. I turned around to close the door and realized there was no door. Or at least, it seemed that way. After a moment of us trying to figure out where it was, we realize it was designed to be sliding door. Only it was slid all the way into the wall with no way to get it out. No handles or anything. After getting the tips of my fingers around the very top part of the door I was able to pull it out from the wall. Problem solved, right? Not really.

I rolled the door closed and it hit the wall and bounced back. It doesn't shut. The door (which is on a track) does not align up with the frame, so the door doesn't shut. After a few moments, we realized we could get the bathroom door to close if someone from the outside pushed inward on the door while someone else slid it closed. We tried it and it worked. Then we realized there was no way back out.

There's no handle or anything on the door to turn or pull on. Just a round latch that you can't get your fingers around to help you open the door. Both my husband and I spent about 5 minutes pulling and pushing on the door from both sides before we were able to get it open to free me from the inside.

We thought this HAD to be a fluke. So we switch places and he went on the inside of the door and I went to the outside. We pushed it shut then tried to open it. 15 minutes later we were able to get him freed. At this point I figured it was time to call guest services. We must just have a room with a quirky door and figured we might be able to get moved to another room with a working door.

When I called the attendant was super friendly, but let me know this was an issue with all the doors. I could move rooms, but the bathrooms had all just been remolded and they were all like this. He offered to get a hold of someone from maintenance to send them to our room to see if they could do something to help it. He called them, but they didn't have someone with the supplies to work on it until the next day.

I figured it was such a nice place, a faulty bathroom door wasn't that big if a deal. We just wouldn't shut the door, since it wasn't aligned up correctly to shut anyway. However after the ordeal with the door, I then realized that the door was designed with a frosted glass panel on it too. About 80% of the door is this panel. So one on the outside of the bathroom can see the silhouette of someone inside the bathroom. The door is right in front of the toilet, so with the right lighting, it seems you get to watch the shadow of your roommate using the toilet.

Between the door not shutting, locking people in and being partially transparent, I have to wonder why they changed the doors from traditional bathroom doors. The bathroom is sectioned off and private for a reason. This design seems to have taken away much of one's typical bathroom privacy.

The next morning I tried to ignore my annoyance with the bathroom and decided to get a shower before we left. My husband warned me that the shower leaked like crazy, and had made a huge pool on our bathroom floor when he used it. So I went in and found all our towels being used to mop up the floor. I then tried to start the shower to get it warm. We were staying during some of the coldest times of the year. It is late January in Minnesota and the temperatures outside are WAY below sub zero. So this makes water going through pipes really cold until the hot water has been turned on. It's that way every where you stay in Minnesota right now, even at home. The problem I found was trying to get the water turned on without getting hit with a ton of freezing cold water.

The way the shower is designed, half of it opens up and the other half is a solid glass panel. It opens on the farthest section away from the faucet. The shower is so huge that the only way to reach the faucet to turn the water on was to get all the way in the shower and stand there and get hit by the freezing cold water and jump out wet and cold to wait for the water to heat up. I kept jumping in and out getting hit by the cold water, trying to adjust the temperature to hot. After about 5 minutes or so of this and the water not warming up, I gave up and got dressed, I would just take a shower when I got home that night.

I was so baffled by these bathrooms in this hotel. It such a nice place, but it's like someone made using the bathroom a complicated task. Can't shut doors, get locked in when you do, have your roommate see what you're doing while you're in there, and have to be hosed down with freezing cold water over and over in an effort to get the shower turned on to use it. Then if you can use it, you create a swimming pool on your bathroom floor.

This would be one awesome hotel, if they would just put in a NORMAL bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the many other aspects of our hotel. I also want to thank you for the detailed review of our new bathrooms. We are eagerly looking for input from our guests about our newly designed rooms. Details like the ones you offer are tremendously helpful. Some designs look good on paper but then we need to have real travelers use them and put them to the test so that we can discover how to adjust them to make the best experience possible. We have our engineering team reviewing your suggestions and examining each room. Thank you again for all that you have shared and I am hoping that when you come back to visit you will enjoy the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
1.0 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Address: 5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55437-1002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Crowne Plaza Bloomington is The Place to Meet. Whether you re here on a business trip, attending a meeting, on vacation or shopping at the Mall of America , your comfort and success are paramount. Located in the heart of the Bloomington, MN business district and just minutes from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and the Mall of America (MOA) with easy access to both downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Complimentary transportation is available to MSP Airport as well as Mall of America. The Crowne Plaza Bloomington hotel near Mall of America features a contemporary hotel design and leading edge technology that includes complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout, 42 high definition televisions in every room, a state-of- the-art fitness center with Precor equipment, core and balance accessories, and a Jr. Olympic sized indoor pool. Comfortably appointed hotel rooms, a full service restaurant and lounge, and the Priority Club Rewards hotel loyalty program makes this hotel The Place to Meet. The hotel was featured on NBC s Today Show for its unique women s floor, featured as one of the Best Airport Hotels by Business Week Online, rated one of the Top Hotels by the MSP/St Paul Business Journal, and the recipient of the Meeting Service Excellence Award from Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing