We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is my second stay here this year. Both were business stays of four days in length each. The restaurant is typical hotel fare, small but adequate. The lounge is right off the lobby and not much more than a bar and a few tables. Unfortunately, I did not have a vehicle and there's not much nearby within walking distance.

Overall I like the hotel. If you are staying for a day or two, particularly if you're a business traveler, you will probably be satisfied with this hotel. Wifi access is free, which is always a plus.

One annoying aspect is the shower in the remodeled rooms. It leaks water all over the bathroom floor. During my last stay I thought it may have simply been the shower in my room, but after this stay I realize it is a design flaw in the shower stalls themselves. Make sure you have an extra bath towel to lay on the floor outside the shower to sop up the water or you will have a large puddle in the bathroom floor.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are working on the shower to get it so no water can get out. Thank you though for all the other great words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I am in the Minneapolis area, despite the fact that I could stay at higher priced hotels; the people are great, the food is great and they are very friendly; the gym is nice for a hotel and the pool and whirlpool are tremendous; it is near many great restaurants and attractions and only about 10 minutes from the airport

Room Tip: south tower is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your patronage and the spectacular review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I just stayed one night but it was a very nice hotel. Quiet, especially on a Saturday night. Tiled walk in shower was very nice. The bar/restaurant food was good, the breakfast buffet was great. No issues with the service, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. One should realize that this hotel is not that close to either the airport or the MOA. This was not an issue for me but it could be for some individuals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonGriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the review. This will be a useful review for people that are looking for a hotel in the Bloomington area. It's great that you pointed out some of the nice features of the hotel. Also, we are about 15 minutes from the Mall of America and 20 minutes from the Airport but with complimentary shuttle service to both. This is useful information to those that want to be close to the airport or to those that are looking to have a little distance from the airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we stayed two night in this hotel with a group for wedding. one of the few luxury customer service moments i have ever experienced in this industry. this is not one of the luxury brand hotels, but the
customer service in all areas from front desk to room service is exceptional, (would love to mention specially front desk customer agent Ciara Kingston). Rooms were clean, moderately specious and comfy. very near to airport and Mall of America and affordable rates. we definitely recommend to all. we again thank agent Ciara for providing us great luxury customer experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you and Ciara thanks you! This was a very nice review for us to read. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Got a good deal on priceline. Nice, large room. Comfy beds but both pillows were a bit hard. Nice pool and good fitnesroom with AC and 3 "running machines". Lots of parking. Great AC. TIP: Take the elevator down to 1. floor (below lobby level). Take the exit and park there. This will often be much close than use the main entry/exit. BF not included but free good coffee in the morning. Very quiet

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Those are some good tips. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just stayed two nights at this facility with a group. The restaurant and kitchen did an excellent job of providing me with delicious food to eat! They did what they could to help make menu items Gluten Free. Thank you so much! I recommend this facility for other Celiac's! It was clean as well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. More and more people are looking ways to meet specific dietary needs. That's why it's important to us that we have a kitchen staff that can deliver on requests such as gluten free food. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for 4th of July weekend because this is one of the overflow hotels for the convention that we attend every year (CONvergence).

The convention started on Thursday, but I had to work so we decided to get the room only for Friday and Saturday nights. (We only live about 25 minutes away). So by the time that we went to check in I had already spent quite a lot of time on my feet either volunteering or running around the con for about 9 hours. My feet hurt, my knee was killing me and all I wanted to soak in a tub.

Guess what? No tub. I was very disappointed. But then I tried the shower. It was great, wonderful water pressure and HOT water! Oh and my hubby is over 6 foot and the showerhead was tall enough. And it was stunning too, beautiful glass tiles.

We tried room service too. They were very friendly and prompt. The food was good too.

I think that our experience could hove been better if the outside was better taken care of. Though all 3 hotels we visited had the same issue - weeds, and lack of upkeep. I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the hotel. Inside it is a totally different building - very nice and updated.

Another easy fix - more hooks in the bathroom.

The bed: the mattress was almost as good as being at home (it wasn't home), the pillows were nice and fluffy and it had nice blankets not a nice fluffy duvet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tttgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you ended up happy with the shower. We hope you will stay with us next year for the CON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Address: 5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55437-1002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: £57 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Crowne Plaza Bloomington is The Place to Meet. Whether you re here on a business trip, attending a meeting, on vacation or shopping at the Mall of America , your comfort and success are paramount. Located in the heart of the Bloomington, MN business district and just minutes from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and the Mall of America (MOA) with easy access to both downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Complimentary transportation is available to MSP Airport as well as Mall of America. The Crowne Plaza Bloomington hotel near Mall of America features a contemporary hotel design and leading edge technology that includes complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout, 42 high definition televisions in every room, a state-of- the-art fitness center with Precor equipment, core and balance accessories, and a Jr. Olympic sized indoor pool. Comfortably appointed hotel rooms, a full service restaurant and lounge, and the Priority Club Rewards hotel loyalty program makes this hotel The Place to Meet. The hotel was featured on NBC s Today Show for its unique women s floor, featured as one of the Best Airport Hotels by Business Week Online, rated one of the Top Hotels by the MSP/St Paul Business Journal, and the recipient of the Meeting Service Excellence Award from Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing