We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barely approaches average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“barely approaches average.”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

stayed here twice, 120 days the first time and about 1 hundred days the second. the bed was new but standard. the hotel was clean. when i did get my once a week cleaning it was great. wasn't the greatest value for the price/ no rewards program. lots of temporary housing for homeless/questionable people there.several white out blizzards they weren't prepared for. snow removal was adequate in the parking lot but staff did int keep doorways accessible and they were blocked open chilling interior of hotel. undesirables propped doors open. no dishwasher. no oven. no coffee in lobby, nor breakfast when i was there. old school 19 inch tv's, lower than the level of the bed so you couldn't watch tv from bed.limited cable. (Like 4 espn's and three fox news channels and a very few other channels.poor internet, wasn't fast enough to stream video and at night / weekends was even slower. ended up using phone as a hot spot. they charged for internet and the provider booted me off for streaming (No it wasnt porn) paint in room was semi fresh. and looked good. carpet was okay in room and down hall. did have to dig my own car out after blizzards. GREAT locatiion though, walmart, eddie chengs, and outback semi close. (Not walking distance) bus stops to mall of america and airport across street, 2.50 to airport or staples or metrodome or MOA. NOT a great value, next trip got a marriott brand for 3.00 more a day with underground heated secured parking and security video, better more fully equipped room, grab and go, just in case store, they NEED a plan for blizzards, all hands on deck.. Hispanic houskeepers were over the top, outstanding. others were average.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    17
    30
    48
See reviews for
31
21
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here on an annual girlfriends trip to MOA. We always get a good deal on Priceline so we are taking a gamble where we stay, but NEVER has it been even close to this bad! For a 2 star hotel we expected fewer amenities and no breakfast, but... This place smells awful, (cigarette smoke and food) and is in need of serious updating - the halls are so filthy I would never leave my room without something on my feet, but that was a moot point as our three rooms were so far apart from each other that there was not going to be any quick visiting anyway! That was before we got to the room. When I got to my room, it smelled a little better inside, but when I went into the bathroom I notice the toilet had "waste" that took 3-4 flushes to get rid of. Additionally, the lock was broken on the door... The door was hanging crooked or something so that it didn't close properly and the deadbolt wouldn't lock and the steel bar thing wouldn't flip closed over the ball... (Whatever those things are called) and I really didn't feel safe. The next morning I could smell cigarette smoke in my room and my throat actually became irritated! I met up with my friends smelling like cigarettes. Add to that the lack of housekeeping service for three days... And pick up clean towels and toilet paper at the desk if you want it... Ugh! Never again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Heather - Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the level of cleanliness in your room and odor you smelled in the common area of our hotel. In response, our housekeeping staff is deep cleaning our common areas and we are working to improve our cleaning services so our hotel is more in line with our company's high standards. As well, I am sorry that the door to your room was in need of repair and you did not feel safe. I can assure you, as the hotel's manager, our maintenance staff is looking into this now and will ensure it is in working order for future guests.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at blm@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After booking a guaranteed room with hotels.com, the hotel called me to say that my reservation was being switched to another Extended Stay America in another suburb of Minneapolis. When I called back about this issue, I was told that the hotel had overbooked rooms. This was the night before the Monster Dash, a half marathon with 16,000 runners in St. Paul. When I travel, I chose a hotel based on location and an included breakfast, I did not want to change hotels, to one "ten" minutes away. Nothing is ten minutes away during construction and on a morning of a big race. When I asked about compensation, the original caller said that there would be none. I have worked through www.hotels.com for over ten years and have never had my guaranteed reservation booted;because the reservation is made and my credit card has been used, I typically arrive at a hotel quite late. I later find out that this hotel is rated 36 of 38 hotels in Bloomington....no wonder!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Overall, I love the Extended Stay Hotel chain. It's nice to have a studio/mini apartment for a long work weekend, be able to cook in-house, etc. This location did not have full kitchenettes - only stovetops and microwaves - so if you are looking to stay long-term, be aware you won't be baking, and you'll be washing dishes by hand. Only a minor inconvenience, but when I choose a studio, I'm looking for more than a hotplate and a sink. The fridge is full-size.

This particular location is going to have to get a lot better before I will return. Out of an entire staff, only two people seemed to have any idea of how to run a hotel. The cleaning staff were all over the place, and had rather sketchy attitudes. I personally witnessed "Ampy" having trouble with scheduling, incorrectly writing down rooms to be cleaned, and taking over jobs that other employees could have been doing, rather than delegating. She appears to somehow be in a managerial position.

Erica, and one other older gentleman who worked at the front desk were awesome - if I had any trouble with the room, or needed towels, I went to them rather than taking chances with the other staff.

When I found that my car had been shimmed open and robbed (cigarettes, my kid's portable DVD player and a miniature orchid, of all things), I called the office to lodge a complaint and find out if they had security cameras to review (they don't). I don't recall the name of who I spoke to, but she told me I had no options but to call the police, and would not let me speak to a manager, or give me a district manager's phone number. She was entirely unconcerned, which makes me wonder if this kind of thing happens often in this area.

Overall...I probably won't be staying at this particular location again, but will continue to support the chain in other parts of the country.

Room Tip: Just don't. There are plenty of other places to stay in Bloomington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AardvarkTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 3 weeks on business. Comfortable room with kitchennette. Front desk staff Erica deserves a special appreciation. She was very friendly and helpful through the stay.
Expected hotel to have hot breakfast and fitness center. But I guess this is what we can expect for this price. Worth the money.

Room Tip: pick 2nd floor if you are a non smoker. the whole of 3rd floor smells like a smoking floor. Choose A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaidy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Pros: great location, friendly staff. basic grab and go breakfast (coffee, instant oatmeal, oranges, packaged blueberry muffins, etc). Thick walls, always a plus for hotels, lots of washers and dryers to do laundry. Clean. Wide stairwells. Cons: are the smells, our bathroom had a bad odor so we had to get a plug-in air freshner and that helped. Elevator smelled like cigerette smoke. People smoked outside the main entrance as well. No automatic entrance doors, when you're hauling in a lot of stuff and have to pull open two sets of glass doors, its not a good thing.The room was small and the kitchen was small, ok for maybe 1-2 people, we had 4 in our party so it wasn't enough space for us. The entire place is in need of renovation, it reminded me of an old Motel 6. $2 to wash and $2 to dry your laundry. Not many channels on the TV. Internet access worked great though. It was ok for a few days but like everything else you get what you pay for. I would not stay here again only because we had young children and this place wasn't kid friendly, would have liked a playground, pool, more channels, that kind of thing. The only thing I really liked at this place was the very friendly staff, although I found most Minnesotans to be friendly. There is a great Goodwill store right across the street and we went there to get jackets and pants because we were unprepared for cold weather in July and its worth taking a look, great bargains there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4jolly_ranchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff and onsite laundry facilities. Still, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one overall. Please know, our staff is striving to improve our offerings. In fact, our hotel is going to be receiving some refreshes in the coming months which includes room upgrades.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at blm@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We checked in at 2:00 AM after a long drive. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are dated but we didn't mind, because it was clean. We got a great price on Priceline and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the helpful and friendly staff. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Minneapolis - Richfield
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Mall of America Minneapolis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#34 of 42 in Bloomington
514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bloomington MSP Airport
2.4 mi away
Park Plaza Bloomington
Park Plaza Bloomington
#37 of 42 in Bloomington
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington

Property: Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington
Address: 7956 Lyndale Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55420-1133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Bloomington
Bloomington Extended Stay
Extended Stay Bloomington
Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Bloomington North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing