We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Break Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Walton, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fall Break Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked last minute on Priceline. The price was good.
The hotel has both good and not so good qualities. But, overall the experience was good.
The Good:
The hotel had new carpeting.
The check in was helpful and fast.
The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.
The hotel is very close to the airport, so you would expect to hear airplanes but we did not hear them, just watched them land.
The pool was big and the hot tub was nice.
Good full size towels in the pool area.
Nice work out room.
It was convenient to the Light Rail.
Nice TV in the room.

Not so good:
The parking situation was strange. You definitely want to unload your stuff at the check in lobby because it is difficult to get to your car based on how the hotel is designed.
The hotel does not look nice from the outside-absolutely no curb appeal.
Room smelled of old smoke.
Our room had a terrifically noisy air conditioner and a noisy, broken toilet.
The pool area was not clean and the pool water was cold.
No free breakfast even though the internet booking said that parking and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    193
    121
    53
    38
See reviews for
136
105
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you're staying near the Mall of America or the MSP Airport, this hotel is just fine. The location is wonderful, easy access to the MOA and MSP Airport. The parking is odd for the hotel, as that it is on the top, uncovered floor of a garage. I couldn't imagine parking there in winter with snow. As you enter the door from the garage, the smell of chlorine from the pool can be a bit much. However, the gym is incredible, great workout.

Room Tip: Great hotel if you want to shop at the MOA
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marknbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for business in mid-September, and my husband came along for a mini vacation.

The rooms are pretty spacious, with very comfortable beds. The air conditioner was a wall-mounted heat/air unit, which was LOUD AND COLD and blew directly onto the bed! There was a good sized fridge and microwave, and lots of storage. The rooms were clean, but we had to go find the maids down the hall to get an extra towel (they only provide 2).

We used the well-equipped gym regularly. There is a good variety of equipment and weights, and they provide ear buds for use on the elipticals/treadmills/bikes. I tried both recumbent bikes, and they are both broken (wobbly seats with missing bolts). The pool is huge - nice and quiet - but a bit awkward to get to - and everybody coming in or out of the parking lot walks right past (on the 2nd floor) and can look down from the balcony. You feel a bit on display sometimes. We tried the sauna, but found you had to turn it on at least 1/2 hour before entering for it to get to a decent temperature.

The buffet breakfast is really good - and really good value too. They will even let you take coffee to go when you are finished eating.

All of the public areas (reception, restaurant, hallways, elevators) are clean and inviting. The elevators are very fast. We had to wait about 2 minutes once, and found that very strange. They usually showed up in less than 20 seconds.

All in all, a really good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessgrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a business trip apart from the hotel looking awful, rooms just ok chairs ripped mucky walls etc, needs yo be looked after better, good bar area. Tram around the corner to the mall of america, again not brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank north12345john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
To North12345john,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay was just average. Please contact me so I can find out some more info as to why it was just average. Thanks again for the review.

Sincerely,

Jim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great waitress and great bartender. Best sweet Manhattan I've had. I stayed here many times and will keep coming back just for the great service. The room service is okay but the bar is where its at! Close to the airport so you get interesting people coming in. Lindsey was the greatest waitress I ever met very fun if I knew how to spell the bartenders name I would say great things about her.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5921959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hotel is nice, has a mid-century modern decor...looks dated to me. Rooms were spacious, we had a King suite. Travelocity deal. Best part, we came for the game and were able to ride the train to the metrodome from the hotel. Very nice to park there and ride train/bus to and from the game for $12 one day pass. We could have taken more advantage of that alone. Clean rooms, friendly people, Caribou coffee downstairs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSP_MPS_Gmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oskaloosa, IA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I booked this hotel through priceline and got a decent price, but I would not pay regular price for it. I was rather surprised that they only had double beds in their two bed rooms, even Super 8 has queen beds! No free breakfast provided, but the room was nice and clean and close to the airport and Mall of America. I would stay here again for the right price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roses4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America

Property: Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Address: 3 Appletree Sq, Bloomington, MN 55425-1635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minneapolis/St. Paul! Enjoy your stay at the closest Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites to the Mall of America and MSP International Airport! The Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites MSP Airport / Mall of America is located in the heart of Bloomington, MN and is 15 minutes from downtown Minneapolis or St. Paul the Target Center and Mpls Convention Center. Suites: We offer more than 100 beautifully decorated suites with bedroom and spacious living room. All suites are equipped with two televisions, a refrigerator and microwave, two telephones and well-lit dining and work table. Features: The hotel offers free high-speed wireless Internet in all guest rooms. A fitness room allows you to stay on that fitness plan, or relax while traveling. Everyone enjoys our Junior Olympic sized pool. Meetings: We feature over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Location: For your convenience, we are located off of I-494 and 34th Avenue at the intersection of E. American Blvd & 34th Avenue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall Of America Bloomington/Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing