We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Changed from the last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's Changed from the last visit”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had stayed at this Crown Plaza several years ago for the same event that brought us back a few years later. We loved our stay last time, but this time it was somewhat lacking.
Upon checking in the gal was friendly, but never let me finish a sentence. She was hurried except I was the only one at the counter. We had a large room, bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was pretty outdated. I was surprised by a jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom, although it had mildew growing in the caulking around the tub. The room itself was very cold as was the bathroom. We turned the heat up, but it didn't seem to heat the room and only upon leaving did we find a blanket in the closet, we surely could have used it.
The lounge served a fantastic burger, but didn't have beverages available that were on the menu. Breakfast both mornings was good, the first morning we had room service which was quick, hot and accurate. The second morning we had breakfast at the restaurant and it was also very good. My husband had the buffet and I ordered off the menu, which is basically the same menu for room service.
I would go back to the Crown Plaza, as it is convenient to everything I want to visit, but it would be great to see some facelifts in the rooms.

Room Tip: Room selection is rolling a dice, we've had really good here and mediocre also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mndivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Bloomington and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. At the Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites we strive to satisfy every guest every time. Unfortunately in this instance we failed to meet your expectations. Rest assured, this was not our standard.

At this hotel we value all comments, both good and bad, as they give us an opportunity to see how our guests view the product and services we provide. We will use your comments to improve and ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    195
    121
    53
    39
See reviews for
138
106
31
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights here and had a Lot of work to do online. Their internet was out for the entire stay. They said they were working on it and it should be on in an hour but it never came on. Unable to accomplish work because of this so now I have more work to do when I get home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Bloomington and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I was disappointed to hear about the internet issues that you encountered during your stay. This was not our standard.

We did have some internet challenges this past week which have been corrected. Unfortunately, in this instance, it sounds like we could have done more to help your stay be a success. We will use your valued comments to ensure that no one experiences the same issues you encountered during your stay with us. As Director of Rooms, it is my hope you give us another opportunity to make your next trip to the twin cities successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very convenient location when flying out. However when comparing to other such hotels in area this was not our favorite. The bar was nice and had good food and service. Check in was very efficient and friendly. The room was good size. Our biggest complaint was the bed and sheets, neither which was very nice. Not a good nights sleep. Bathroom had broken tile and half used toiletries. The rate was a little better than some but for the rate expected more. Nothing to complain about but will likely try one of several others that we have done before near airport/moa next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Bert H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the quality of our bedding and bathroom amenities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKEWOOD
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A great pick for near an airport - and w/o the expected airplane noise! Room was updated, clean, comfortable and the heat worked AOK against the -2 degree temps outside. Didn't care for the lobby arrangement as the help at the desk have to be blasted by cold air from the rotating doors but otherwise, was a great set up for an event on the ground floor Pippin Room. As noted elsewhere, the sheets ARE noisy. I don't care why. They just ARE. But warm and tolerable. A gentleman named Dale was particularly cordial and helpful and seemed to be everywhere. Breakfast buffet was above average and although I thought the price ($12ish) a bit high, wasn't so bad when I realized I could also ask for OJ, too. Just pay attention to their hours. Typical big city hotel prices. Loved, LOVED the Wild Rice soup offering. Cream based, thick and hearty. Sausage and Pasta quite substantial & yummy. The elevators were timely and appreciated! Plenty of 'em. The attitudes in the bar and restaurant for a 4 day stay were consistently helpful and cheery. So refreshing. Catching the shuttle was a bit of a challenge to find, but knowing that this particular hotel's shuttles were black helped. (There are other Crowne Plazas so that made sure I got to the right one. In a blizzard, that's appreciated!) The fact there are 2 terminals to arrive in to is a bit of a surprise. Southwest does not come in to the same one US Air does, for instance. Not hotel's problem, I realize. Just tricky when you are meeting someone via another airline's arrival. Be careful. Just saying. A+ for the Hotel. Will be back for the Dart tournament again next year, for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilworth, MN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with friend on a midwinter getaway for our families and while the hotel has proximity on its side, there isn't much else. Our rooms were all dated and physically dirty inside. It served its purpose, but not again will we be there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 56529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent midwinter getaway and thank your for taking the time to share your experience. At the Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites we strive to satisfy every guest every time. Unfortunately, in this instance we failed to meet you expectations. Rest assured, this was not our standard. We will use your comments to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I personally LOVE this hotel! The hotel is very nicely furnished and clean. The rooms are quite big and the pool is good size. The pool has a hot tub and a sauna which is nice for relaxing. Although the hotel does not offer a contenintal breakfast, the hotel is near a great iHOP restaurant where we ate breakfast everyday we were in Minneapolis. It also has a restaurant in the lobby which is okay and has a pretty good pizza. The hotel is also right next to the Mall of America and the Airport so all you airplane fanatics (like myself) can watch airplanes land and take off if you are on the right side of the hotel. All in all, the Crowne Plaza in Bloomington is an excellent hotel and an amazing value!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have much better views of the airport for airplane lovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We layed over here for one night on our way to AK for vacation. Great and easy choice! Very near the airport and, even better, VERY near the Metro Transit site (less than 500ft). Staff was very personable and willing to let us hand out in the bar a little after hours, due to late arrival of our flight.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RealtorK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis Airport - South
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
0.2 mi away
Hilton Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bloomington-Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America

Property: Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America
Address: 3 Appletree Sq, Bloomington, MN 55425-1635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America 3.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minneapolis/St. Paul! Enjoy your stay at the closest Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites to the Mall of America and MSP International Airport! The Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites MSP Airport / Mall of America is located in the heart of Bloomington, MN and is 15 minutes from downtown Minneapolis or St. Paul the Target Center and Mpls Convention Center. Suites: We offer more than 100 beautifully decorated suites with bedroom and spacious living room. All suites are equipped with two televisions, a refrigerator and microwave, two telephones and well-lit dining and work table. Features: The hotel offers free high-speed wireless Internet in all guest rooms. A fitness room allows you to stay on that fitness plan, or relax while traveling. Everyone enjoys our Junior Olympic sized pool. Meetings: We feature over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Location: For your convenience, we are located off of I-494 and 34th Avenue at the intersection of E. American Blvd & 34th Avenue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza MSP Airport - Mall Of America Bloomington/Minneapolis, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing