We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelled of stale smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Earth
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“smelled of stale smoke”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The front desk staff person upon check in was very unfriendly and was on a personal call when we arrived and did j ot hang up until a couple of minutes after we were standing there waitibg. The staff upon checkout was very nice. Our nonsmoking room smelled of stale smoke.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We had guest reservation issues that night that may have thrown my staff member a little off and not given you the proper service you deserved and for that I apologize. My staff is usually very good at guest service. Our rooms are newly refurbished and we are a smoke free facility, so the stale smoke odor you experienced is puzzling. I hope you give us another chance to show you we a quality hotel with great guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
13
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in town for a family reunion. There are only 2 hotels to choose from and this one has a pool. Wifi was slow and sometimes we had no signal even being next to the front desk. The rooms have been updated but not much choice for channels. Free breakfast is nice! There is no elevator. Overall I think the price is too much for this hotel. I have paid less for much better quality.

Room Tip: First Floor at either end of hotel to be by entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank You for your comments as it always nice to know areas we need to improve on to make our guest's stay better. I do however believe we are an above average hotel with a friendly staff and new refurbished rooms. I hope you give us another chance to serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at this AmericInn recently while visiting family in Blue Earth. We know the AmericInn chain to be clean and reasonably priced, with a few amenities better than the other motels in Blue Earth, so we stayed here. Overall it was very pleasant. Quiet, clean room, comfortable bed and good shower. The downside was going to the hot tub in the pool area, only to find it was cemented in. Apparently AmericInn corporate was not interested in paying to maintain a problematic hot tub, and this was their solution, which was very disappointing. The staff was friendly when we asked about this but only recommended we upgrade to a suite with a jacuzzi on our next visit. This may persuade us to stay at a different motel next visit. On the whole, very pleased with AmericInn Blue Earth. Just don't come for the hot tub!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
It is true we no longer have a public hot tub available due to maintenance and Government regulation issues. We do offer several whirlpool rooms which give the same experience as being in a hot tub, just more sanitary. I do appreciate that you recognized that we still do have many great amenities to offer our guests and I would hope not having a public hot tub wouldn't be a deal breaker for anyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have always loved AmericInns and looked forward to a return visit to this location. There was no one at the front desk at night ever. We were made to feel stupid when we didn't understand how to work their intercom system. I finally called from my cell phone to get someone to talk to. Everything we asked for from the night staff was treated like we were an intrusion and a bother. And their internet was impossible. Hot water didn't work in shower. We were told it was fixed and it wasn't. Had to ask for kleenex even after servicing in the morning when it was empty. Just not a positive experience which is too bad because we would like to be repeat customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It is always beneficial to hear of concerns from our guests, as that helps us improve our product. It is unfortunate that you had several instances during your stay that caused you to view our beautiful hotel negatively. I assure you that it was a fluke that you didn't get the type of service you desired as my staff is normally very good at attending to the guest's needs. I hope you do give us another chance to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MX
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We just run away from there . We came a family with kids. We were hoping to use the pool, but as soon as we arrived we realized with no explanation or possible date of opening, that the pool was out of service. The bedroom was a dissapointment as well, poor channel selection, and we couldn't even seen a movie on the laptop because the TV was all blocked, the internet incredible slow and plenty of disconections,and the bathroom was terrible as well, not even a garbage can in there. We surely would never come back or recomended this hotel at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmyMuggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
As always we try our best to please all our guests, but on occasion situations occur that are out of our control. Unfortunately, during this guests stay our pool was down for most of their stay do to issues beyond our control. It is up and running again and I do hope the guest does give us another chance to serve them better and show we are a very nice hotel with great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

very friendly atmosphere! friendly staff! overinght person made coffe at 3am cuz i was up and asked! front desk lady had everything ready for check in when we got there! nice quiet location close to school and the staff had knowledge of the city! the best part was the friendliness of the staff and the least would be no drinks in pool area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
It is always nice to hear positive reviews. My staff works very hard and it is always appreciated when it is noticed. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We were Iucky enough to make it to Blue Earth in a recent blizzard and got a room here. It is exactly what I remember from previous stays at other AmericInns. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, no elevators... Front desk staff wasn't particularly friendly. We ventured out to the Pizza Hut next door( a short drive) for supper. When we returned we decided to check out the jacuzzi. Initially it felt great, but the cold water coming from the jets below just made it not so comfortable to really relax in.
The free breakfast could use some help. I'm not sure if they are trying to save money by only having a few things out at a time, but the pastries, muffins, English muffins were stale anyway. I threw them away and kept trying stuff. They had a waffle maker which was nice because the Canadian bacon soaking in water and the "egg circle thingies " looked inedible. They had some dry cereal , hard boiled eggs, yogurt, envelopes of oatmeal. The "bold" coffee tasted weak, but they did have pump syrups to add to your brew if you enjoy that.
We were grateful for the room, just feel that the breakfast could use some sprucing up to meet the freshness standards. And maybe turn up the jacuzzi a few degrees? :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sklnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank You for your comments, it is the best way for us to know how we can do better. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. My staff always tries to provide quality service and if you had mentioned to them your concerns regarding the breakfast items, I'm sure we could have made it right with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Earth
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
#3 of 4 in Fairmont
94 reviews
17.6 mi away
Super 8 Fairmont
Super 8 Fairmont
#2 of 4 in Fairmont
188 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 4 in Fairmont
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn Fairmont
Quality Inn Fairmont
#4 of 4 in Fairmont
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Blue Earth
Super 8 Blue Earth
#2 of 2 in Blue Earth
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth
Address: 1495 Domes Drive, Blue Earth, MN 56013-1706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Blue Earth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Earth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Blue Earth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing