We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful trail”

Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Brainerd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fifty miles of trails to bike, hike, rollerblade and snow-mobile, depending on the season.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful trail with breathtaking views of quiet lakes and dense forest, with places to stop and explore about every 6 or 7 miles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exercise with nature”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place to take a scenic, quiet walk. The trail is accessible from many entry points and is used by walkers, and bikers in summer; snowmobilers and skiers in winter. It is a well maintained trail traversing many different ecosystems, allowing communion with nature while exercising.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 43Mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, scenic trail”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I love biking the Paul Bunyan Trail. It's beautifully paved, mostly flat, and very scenic. I use it, but also bike around many nearby lakes along the way. I especially love that it goes right through my favorite small town - Nisswa, MN. Such a quaint, little town! Trailblazer Bikes is located right on the trail, so if I have guests in from out of town, they can rent bikes there, and ride right out the back door onto the trail. Also, if I need some biking equipment or repair, they are very helpful. I love the coffee shops in Nisswa and, of course, the shopping. Enjoy the ride!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine River, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Try all parts of the trail!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Try the full length of the PB Trail to gain the full experience! Every town is a little different and has something different and fun to offer! Pine River has a lovely park & recreation area along the shores of the Pine River, a tributary of the Mississippi River! It's just five blocks, right, off the PB Trail! Grab a cool drink, pedal down and cool your heels in the "Pine"! Great break!
Pine River prides itself by being "The Birthplace of the Paul Bunyan Trail"! Yes, it all began in Pine River in 1983!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A local lover of the trail”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I love the trail. I run it, I walk it. It is convenient, peaceful, and can be an hour long event or an entire day. I live near Nisswa and have to visit the chocolate ox for ice cream when I finish or go to Rafferty's on main street for a great pizza.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blahblahlovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paul Bunyan State Trail also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan State Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing