We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great up north treat”
Review of Iven's on the Bay - CLOSED

Iven's on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Hours: Closed for Season.
Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great up north treat”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The fish is great. Had the flight of wine & beer. Fun to do with dinner. Good couple restaurant. Will visit agin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pillager, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing delicious food!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary by going to Iven's on the Bay for a "special" dinner. We were not disappointed! To start - the caramel apple tini was so smooth and delicious - a perfect fall libation. My husband and I each had the almond crusted walleye - I had the salad and rice pilaf and veggies, and my husband switched out Yukon gold grilled potatoes for the rice. The walleye was melt in your mouth wonderfully delicious. The serving was very generous and the rice and veggies a perfect compliment. My husband enjoyed his Yukon gold potatoes and commented that this was the best walleye he had ever had - and he's had a lot of walleye in a lot of restaurants. The wait staff was awesome - attentive without being intrusive. Our water was kept filled, plates taken away by anyone who happened to be walking by - the entire team worked together to make our dining experience wonderful.
We finished with coffee - again very good, and the pumpkin cheesecake with homemade caramel sauce that we shared was out of this world!

I highly recommend Ivens to anyone who wants an exceptional evening out with a delectable dining experience. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmack50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best food in Brainerd”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very accommodating for families, a foodie's delight. We really enjoyed everything from appetizers to dessert. Great wine options, a must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best drinks menu anywhere. Could improve on main courses”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I wanted to like Iven's but the food was so-so. The drinks were excellent, desert great.

We had sashimi for starters, as good as can be in Minnesota. No complaints there.
Wife had halibut, very good, didnt need the blue cheese on it though.
I had the scallops, bland, no spices or salt. Actually pretty bad.

I will go back there and give them another try.

You should give them a try but stick to the fish and lots of drinks. :-) the saki lychee martini is awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Fl
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Oneof the Best Restaurants in the Area”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Iven's was excellent. They had very professional staff and friendly waiters and waitresses. The menu was extensive and had a large selection of fish. I had the Walleye. There was a huge wine list and about 8 selections of Mojitos...we had two different ones each. It wasn't directly a water view but nice enough by the window to enjoy the trees....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iven's on the Bay also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing