We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

The Classic Grill at Madden's
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Brainerd
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant at Madden's Resort
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We attended the Jack Pine beer pairings 5 course meal. It was delicious, service was attentive and the atmosphere was classy. Would highly recommend to our friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of The Classic Grill at Madden's!

The 5-course beer pairing dinner was a fun event for opening The Classic Grill for the season and we hope you'll visit us again to experience our new full menu! We appreciate your compliments for our staff and will be sure to let them know how much you enjoyed their service.

The atmosphere of The Classic Grill is an intimate dining experience, like none other in the area, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you at The Classic Grill again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy, cozy, atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We love this restaurant because the food is always outstanding with beautiful presentatio and interesting menu specials. The staff is friendly and efficient, and the surroundings are just perfect any time of the year. The dining area is small and cozy with a big stone fireplace, comfy furniture in the bar area to sit and have a cocktail while waiting for your table, and outdoor seating with a stunning view of one of the top rated golf courses in Minnesota! The Classic is my favorite spot in the Brainerd Lakes area to dine and to bring visitors. It never disappoints!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattyminnes0ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for visiting The Classic Grill at Madden's and for sharing your rave review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the intimate setting and hope you know that we have re-opened just for Valentine's Day, February 13-16. We'd love to have you join us and try our special sweetheart menu!

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you at The Classic Grill at Madden's again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Fall and Winter is a great time to visit this location at the Classic Golf Course (in America's top 50 public) and enjoy the superb service and excellent fare from the executive chef. Great Ambiance with the snow outside framed against a lovely fire in the outdoor firepit. Our window seat also gave us a great view of the huge cracking fire in the stone fireplace.

Our server was excellent and knowledgeable. The Classic is featuring cuisine form around the world -- this week it was Australia! Our guests had lamb and a fresh catch Australian whitefish and my wife chose two excellent appetizers while I had the stir fry. The lamb was prepared to perfection and my stir fry was spicy and tasty. The Fish has a special sauce just right for the offering. The Restaurant has a good wine list and we chose an Australian wine to fit with the theme.

Be advised the Classic Grill closes after their new years party and doesn't reopen until April (except for Valentine's day--but confirm that) This is a definite must if you are looking for fine dining in the Brainerd Lakes area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We live nearby so we are familiar with Madden's classic Grill. This is probably one of the Brainerd Lake's more classy restaurants. The wait staff is very attentive and tends to your every need. The food and plating is exceptional. Since it was our anniversary we were offered a complementary desert which was very good. The setting for the restaurant is refined. The prices are on the high end, but what you might expect at a quality venue.

Helpful?
Thank Dnkcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Classic”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Each time I visit Madden's I make a stop at the Classic for Lunch. They have many options and it is fun to watch the golfers come in.

The beautiful surroundings make it a great place to eat outside. The greek burger that I had was a bit on the salty side but still very good.

I enjoyed the fresh herbs that surround the eating area and being used in the dishes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mplsgossipgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Classic Grill at Madden's also viewed

 

Been to The Classic Grill at Madden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing