We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and food”

The Classic Grill at Madden's
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Brainerd
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant at Madden's Resort
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The service was fantastic and the food was really good also! I Loved that they have a indoor and outdoor seating. Gorgeous views

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for dining at The Classic Grill at Madden's and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

The Classic Grill crew love what they do and we're so glad that you enjoyed the experience and the ambiance. The views of The Classic golf course are lovely and easily enjoyed from inside or on the patio; we appreciate you mentioning it.

We always love to hear from our guests and you are so kind to share your experiences with other travelers. Thank you and we hope to see you at Madden's again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
magnolia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“coconut shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

the grill's best food...all of it!! but the coconut shrimp is divine. we order just that and then ordered it again....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of The Classic Grill at Madden's! The jumbo Coconut Shrimp with Oriental plum sauce is one of our most popular appetizers, a tie with our Bleu Beef Wontons with Hoisin sauce. We're glad you enjoyed it and appreciate you visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The food was excellent, but it was made even better by enjoying the view. The patio, where we ate has a view of the 9th and 18th greens and fairways. It's a beautiful course and the view is fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of The Classic Grill at Madden's! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food as well as the view and ambiance of the patio. We light a fire each night on the patio, as well, which also adds to the experience.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you to The Classic Grill at Madden's again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best food of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were staying at Madden's resort and tried all there restaurants and by far this ones the best. It was so good we even can back a second night in a row. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank cmwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for dining at The Classic Grill at Madden’s and for sharing your positive review on Trip Advisor.

Madden’s has many dining options ranging from pizza to elegant lakeside dining. The Classic Grill is an intimate setting overlooking The Classic golf course that is very popular with our guests and area visitors and residents.

We are pleased that you enjoyed it enough to return for a second time and look forward to your next visit with us. Your recommendation means so much to us- thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Classic Grill shares the building with the golf shop and is located on Madden's Classic golf course. Nice lounge and white table cloth tables are inside and there is outdoor patio seating. It is not a large restaurant so the noise level is low thus conversation between diners is easy going. They do not take reservations.

Three of us had the Steak and Lobster and we all upgraded to the fillet instead of the sirloin. The flavor and tenderness of the steaks were excellent and the lobster was fantastic. The other person in our party had salmon which was very good also.

We spend most of the summer at our lake home in the area and The Classic has never let us down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara L, Manager at The Classic Grill at Madden's, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Steven C,

Thank you for sharing your review of The Classic Grill and Madden's! The intimate setting is very popular with our guests, as is the outdoor seating with fire pit. We appreciate your kind remarks for the dishes you chose and will let the staff know how much you enjoyed it. Since you seem to enjoy seafood, I wanted to make you aware that we are offering fish specials throughout the month of June. The full list is on Madden's website on The Classic Grill page.

We are fortunate to have you in our area for the summer and look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Classic Grill at Madden's also viewed

 

Been to The Classic Grill at Madden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing