We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”
Review of Gull Four Seasons

Gull Four Seasons
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brainerd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gull Four Seasons
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Gull Four Seasons Resort is a family resort that is dedicated to providing families with fun and comforting vacation with activities for all ages. My four year old loves the playground and my eight year loves all the different games in the game room. The indoor and outdoor pool makes fun no matter what the weather decides to do, which is really nice with the cold July we are having. On warmer days the kayaks and canoes are fun to take in the lake and the volleyball court and the tennis court are wonderful activities to do for low or no cost right at the resort. The cabins are very clean, comfortable and the two-bedroom is perfect for my family of four. One of the best things about this resort is the grassy area is all around you, trees on both sides of the property and green grass around every unit. Truly has the feel of the cabin by the lake.
First, second and third generation that has owned and worked at the resort are amazing and know how to operate a family resort that creates a fun and comforting atmosphere from my toddler to my grandparents.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just finished our 14th year here. We rented a 4 bedroom and 3 bedroom condo. Enjoyed the beach, the pool, biking, tennis courts, fished, the new game room and played lots of bocce ball. We grilled, took a couple of movies in, hit the turle races in Nissawa, minature golf at Pirates Cove. Dan, Sue and family our great. Very accomodating. We've booked already for next summer.

It would be great if interent was a little more stable.

Room Tip: We like the condos as they are close to the water. All rooms have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed for a week in the 5-bedroom cabin. Found the cabin to be spacious and clean, with everything in working order - except the TV, which was fuzzy. Staff member was there within 30 minutes of informing them of the fuzzy TV, and they had the cable company there to fix the problem ASAP after they couldn't fix it. Plenty of silverware, utensils, dishes, and cupboard space to do all of our own cooking for the week - dishes were not dirty, as a previous reviewer claimed. The area surrounding Gull Lake is heavily wooded, so there are a lot of bugs, but they weren't a nuisance in the cabin - just a spider here and there - and there certainly weren't spider webs "all over". We had 4 children aged 5 and under, and had no problem with them playing on the floor - and this is from a family of clean freaks. Furnishings are dated, but they are functional and comfortable. Beds are a little hard, but we slept fine.

There are plenty of activities for all ages - indoor/outdoor pools, sandy beach and swimming area (although swimming area has smooth rocks rather than sand), plenty of boat lifts, arcade room, playground, tennis court, volleyball net, etc. Pool was great, since the lake was unusually cold - nice hot tub to relax in, and a kiddie pool that the kids enjoyed. Huge amount of green space at the resort - people were out playing baseball, bean bag toss, etc., all week long. Contrary to what an earlier reviewer would have you believe, there is not a "curfew" in your cabin. We were up playing games in our cabin as late as we wanted. Also, the beach was not "full of garbage" and my brother-in-law used the sauna and had no problems with it.

The staff was kind and very helpful, quickly responding to any requests. The area around the resort is beautiful - perfect for a walk, jog, or bike ride. I would recommend a trip a few miles up the road to Nisswa. Make sure to get some pizza at Rafferty's and ice cream at The Chocolate Ox.

Overall, this isn't a 5-star resort, but it's simple, clean, affordable, and fun. We will certainly be visiting again next year.

Room Tip: If you don't like firm beds, bring one of those foam mattress toppers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have gone here for 5 years and have rented the 4 bedroom condo and 5 bedroom cabin. Each time we have gone, we have found the owners and staff to be very friendly and helpful. Referring to a couple of the other posts on this page, our TV was fuzzy and we asked them about it and they were here within minutes and had their cable company out to fix it right away. We love the location as there is a nice beachfront and plenty of boat docks if you are looking to bring your own boat or looking to rent their pontoons or fishing boats. The indoor pool and hot tub is great on rainy/cold days and there's another outdoor pool that is great for warmer days. There's a new arcade room that we enjoyed along with the tennis courts and playground for the kids. Referring to other posts, it was pretty clean when we arrived, and there were a couple bugs here and there which is expected in a cabin, nothing terrible. Referring to another post, there are no curfews and you have a lot of yard to play catch, bean bag toss, or anything else you'd like. It's a very family friendly place. We have age ranges from newborns to 60 and there is something for everyone. We will be coming back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 1 week Saturday to saturday, We also reserved and rented the pontoon for the entire week, and rented the biggest cabin they have, 5 bedroom.

First of all I would like to say that upon arriving you need to pay all fees in full leaving you no options for negotiations.
So first and foremost when entering the cabin that was said to be cleaned just vaccumed and furniture shampoo cleaned as well, it was not clean at all. We cleaned and wiped down the entire cabin before unloading any of our things as we had 4 families and 4 babies who would be crawling on the floor. However the vaccume they provided just kicked dirt and dust all over. If you are a family with kids I would recommend not coming here. There are no activities for children other than an arcade that any child under 13 would not know how to play. All beds and blankets were uncomfortable and scratchy. I found a spider in my bed so that should tell you if it was clean. There was spider and Cobb webs all over, along with bugs. All of us were stuffy from the time we arrived due to dust and mold. Sitting on the couch and chairs dust would come up. TV was super fuzzy and did not work. Indoor pool and hot tub area had sand and was dirty. Super loud from pump room that has a board missing and very hot and muggy. Sauna did not warm up at all even after an hour. Beach was full of garbage and rocks & furniture was trashed. The owners are extremely rude and in my opinion should not own a business. They suck your money and give you no options. Any week boat rental has to be returned Friday by 8pm, you pay for a week for 5 days. You need to bring everything! Silverware and utensils are horrible. Dishes dirty. They give you no towels or soaps for cabins at all! If you want a nice family vacation do not come here. Way overpriced and not worth it. Outdated, unkind, unkept, and just down right ridiculous. Office hours have no flexibility for check in or out, or anything! We made the best out of a bad situation. Just stay away!! So many more beautiful resorts around for better price and service! Such a waste of a beautiful Location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The owners and employees are amazing. They are kind and always in good spirits. The cabins, however, are nothing special. The place has great potential, but it's not worth the money or drive for now. The cabins are not clean, they don't offer towels or even hand soap in the bathroom, they sell overpriced individually packaged ice cream that they buy from the grocery store, which I'm assuming is the cheap store brand because it tasted like cardboard box and white mud, the swimming pools and kiddie pool (inside and out) were not clean, and they charge for EVERYTHING. The blankets were super hard and felt like paper. They have furniture in the cabins that looked like they were decades old. You can actually see spiders hanging out on their webs when you pull out the bed in the sleeper sofa. I saw a small cloud of dust come out of the sofa cushions as I placed them on the chair before pulling out the bed. The place is dusty and moldy, so if you're allergic to dust and mold, I would recommend staying away or asking for a thorough cleaning before arrival. They don't enforce any sort of noise control, so people are up much past 2 Am drinking, laughing and yelling.

If they cleaned the place more and actually gave people more, like free local calls and hand soap, they can turn it into something special. Also, they really should stop selling horrible ice cream. They have the customer service skills on lock, I just wish they would put their all into the place and actually perfect it. I feel that they are wasting the beautiful location and view. A land like that deserves far more.

Again, the owners and employees are great people. They make jokes all the time and treat you like family. If that is enough for you, then by all means, go and enjoy yourself. The view of the lake is breathtaking. However, if you require a clean place that also smells decent, avoid (at least until they work on the place).

Staff of Gull Four Seasons, if you're reading this please know that my family and I appreciate your kindness. This was difficult to write, but I feel it to be my duty to be absolutely honest about my travel experiences. If at all possible, maybe work on these minor things to perfect your business. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fatma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice quiet, condo is very large, comfy bed, all amenity s needed, no restaurant or bar but who cares, just a nice quiet resort on a beautiful lake, the grounds are immaculate , don' see a lot of negatives here. Going down road for breakfast, just a real nice location for a vacation.

Room Tip: Condos are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gull Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Four Seasons

Address: 4132 St Columbo Rd, Brainerd, MN 56401-7275
Region: United States > Minnesota > Brainerd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Brainerd
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing