We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our Gibb River Road Expedition”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drysdale River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drysdale River Station
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On our "once in a lifetime" trip to the Kimberley in May this year,we stumbled across the Drysdale River Station.after a long and bumpy day on the GRR .
Met by Oscar,a happy jovial gent ,we ventured into the "the tin shed" paid our dues and proceeded to an unpowered campsite.
The area was clean and the amenities block was a delight - you can image the bride's joy when she saw the line-up of washing machines!!!
Late afternoon we ventured across to the bar ,made a phone call from the Refrigerator and enjoyed jovial chatter with some of the Staff and locals before sitting down and tackling the Kimberley Beef Burger.
Just sensational !!!
Location is a great launching pad for the tough drive to the Mitchell Falls.
Before I left, I had the pleasure in buying the last T shirt in the place which I still proudly wear around Perth.
Dont miss Drysdale River Station !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snatchem_and_Shackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent a night at Drysdale on our recent OutBack Spirit tour.
I was rapt. We were in the middle of no-where.
We slept on modules a bit like shipping containers, but totally comfortable, complete with en-suites and air conditioning. Public telephones were stored in refrigerators cabinets. The bar and dining area were al fresco which suited the environment completely.
The Restaurant was staffed by a group of young Germans who had trained in 5 star establishments in Europe, but who had come to Australia to broaden their experience, and how they must have done so! They were a delightful group of young people.
Drysdale was basic but more than adequate. We enjoyed our experience thoroughly.

Room Tip: If you want to experience out-back Australia, here is your chance to do so. It's a pity that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tonbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Received a very warm welcome from the manager who I had corresponded with well in advance of our stay.
We stayed there in order to do the flight to Mitchell Falls and the Prince Regent river.
They are jolly staff and do avoid burger. Accommodation is basically in portacabins but was fine but small for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The camping area is (inevitably) a bit dusty, and their powered site set-up is weird, with only one connection point, so that meant if you wanted power it meant camping in a non-shaded area! We opted for no power, and camped under the trees. Lots of space to spread out your camps.

The facilities here are really good, washing machines and a big washing line, wash up station and good hot water showers. I'd have liked a camp kitchen. However, no complaints, because their bar and restaurant was just fantastic! Their burgers really are the best in the Kimberley, and their buffet dinner was plentiful and well cooked. Staff were really nice.

Not wishing to risk our car on the drive to the Mitchell Falls we took a flight from Drysdale Station to see the falls, river and harbour. Expensive yes, but it was a great 2 hour flight, I can recommend it.

Considering their remote location, they do this really well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a critical stop on the way to Mitchell Falls for diesel & water if nothing else - but this station offered so much more. It has a genuine Station "feel" to it - much more than El Questro which, while fab, is totally tourist focused. Fabulous, friendly, knowledgeable staff - great for advice about road condition, journey times and local areas of interest.

The highlight for us, however, was the lunch at the small cafe - amazing food! I'd drive a long way on corrugated roads to have one of their hamburgers again...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DrJFK_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Did the day tour over the top of the Kimberley's to Mitchell Plateau and falls with lunch at Drysdale
River Station. Our pilot was Jake from Aviair and he was excellent. Best flight ever, so considerate, informative and a great pilot. Highly recommended. Thanks Jake for a great day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were greeted with wonderful country hospitality. Each & every one of the staff are super friendly.
We stayed on our way up to Mitchell Falls. Spent the afternoon catching up with the washing in the excellent laundry facilities. Plenty of grassy sites in the shade. Private bathrooms with plenty of hot water. Good little shop to stock up on supplies before heading on up to Mitchell Plateau. Prices reasonable considering how remote the location is. Good bar for a drink at the end of the day.
On our way back from The Falls we spent the night again, this time treating ourselves to dinner in the restaurant. It was a lovely home cooked style of a meal, served up with a smile and plenty of seconds for those with a big appetite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drysdale River
0.0 mi away
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
#30 of 74 in Kimberley Region
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 3 in Purnululu National Park
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt Hart Homestead
Mt Hart Homestead
#583 of 923 in Western Australia
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drysdale River Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drysdale River Station

Address: Gibb River / Kalumburu Road | North Kimberley, Drysdale River, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Drysdale River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Drysdale River
Price Range: £114 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drysdale River Station 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a hotel, not a motel, not a farm stay, not a bed and breakfast, not a roadhouse, but we ARE an Australian outback mixture of all these things.While we are a general service center, even more important to your fun &comfort is our Beer Garden, "Kimberley North". Offering shaded tables, coldbeer, good food and on cold nights a log fire all combine to ensure it is the hub of the North Kimberley.Our web site offers a huge amount of information and useful links for Kimberley travel.We now also offer new air conditioned accommodation rooms with en suite. Choices of Queen bed or king size single beds are available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing