We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Hotel Boldon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sir William Fox Hotel(South Shields)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athol House(South Shields)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
250
124
53
29
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
124
53
29
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchxmas partyswimming poolsteam roomleisure facilitiesleisure clubcoach partybusiness parkafternoon teahuge bedgreat nightcouldn't faultlovely hotelthe ground floorone night stayfull englishpremier inn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

First stayed for the weekend at the begining of November, we was not informed on the web site that none of the facilities were available, but this did not spoil our stay. We stayed on the ground floor and the room was comfortable, clean and furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was spacious. A very large bed and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and pleasant therefore we returned again last weekend. The restaurant, bar and leisure centre was all up and running and once again great staff, Louise and Ruth on reception and the nice lady with the black hair was most helpful. We had a very nice meal from the Grill Bar. Very comfortable and friendly enviroment and the Manager Paolo took time to speak to us and was interested in our experience. Situated in a great location and we will be returning on a monthly basic to see family. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have been completely refurbished, where the rooms on the first floor have yet to have bathrooms completed.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetawayM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

WOW – What a review! Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your (second) stay here at the new Quality Hotel Boldon. It was an absolute pleasure to talk to you and I was delighted to hear that you are going to return on a monthly basis. Next time, I hope you will take full advantage of the facilities available!

We will of course do our very best to ensure each and every visit is an enjoyable one for you and
I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed here in November 2012, great hotel,great food,nice friendly staff, hotel also has a pool and gym,the buffet breakfast was amazing, all round great stay would recommend this hotel if your in the area

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copey9746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Copey9746,

Thanks for your fantastic review, reallly glad you like the new hotel and hope you will return in the very near future. We always welcome repeat business, please contact Ruth our Reservations Manager who will always ensure the Best Available Rate.

Kind Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My husband and I visited this hotel for a midweek stay. Our experience from beginning to end was very enjoyable, It appears that no expense has been spared, in the refit, to make this hotel very comfortable and attractive. The room and bathroom were spacious and furnished with contemporary fittings. We sampled a delicious meal (from an extremely comprehensive menu)in the restaurant, which was served by very efficient, pleasant staff. The chef even came to talk us through some of the choices available to us! Very helpful. Apparently the pool and entire leisure facilities are due to open on the first of December - we requested a tour and the Manager very kindly showed us around. We will certainly be back to sample the 'whole experience'.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renata_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Your warm validation is hugely appreciated and most encouraging. Please rest assured that we will keep working hard for you and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future now that we are fully open and operational - be sure to bring your swimming costume!

Regards

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here on a business trip - not out of choice. Bloody hell was it rubbish. I know they are refurbishing but TV not working, phones not connected , a crazy heater that sounded like a monster in the room, no bar, no minibar, no room service or suggestions on where to get dinner, no hot breakfast available in the morning and a weird tasting tea. That's if you can even find the entrance (it's hidden away with no sign). On the upside it was clean. Very disappointing and bleak.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hypnoparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Please let me offer my apologies for the fact that there were aspects of your visit to the Quality Hotel Boldon that did not meet your expectations. As you will have been aware due to the building work taking place during your visit; and the location of the temporary Reception, we have just completed an almost £4million investment into the brand new hotel. The hotel is now open and includes a Restaurant & Bar, Leisure Club and Conference Suites, as well as the fully refurbished 82 bedrooms.

Rest assured, your comments have been duly noted. I do hope you will revisit the hotel, if you do return I would like to make your reservation personally to ensure that you have an enjoyable visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct at the hotel.

Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

this hotel is undergoing a refit after a fire and i must say it is very tastefull. the room was very comfortable a few teething problems, the tv wouldnt work and we couldnt get the heater to work but the receptionist made a note of this and assured us it would be resolved. we will definately be returning to try out the new facilities

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Pam S,

Thank you for your review. Firstly, please allow me to apologise for the maintenance issues that occurred in your bedroom. As expected with a new hotel, we may suffer from a few minor teething problems over the first few weeks; I can assure you however that these issues have now been resolved. Keep an eye on our website – hotels-sunderland.com – for some fantastic accommodation packages once we open the whole hotel!

Kind Regards,

Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews