We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flatters to deceive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stay from 25th - 27th May
Very disappointed in Hotel no wireless until 28th...
Room large bed comfortable. One of handles to window broken off
Toilet roll holder missing. Kettle broken and shower only part works. Staff friendly. Good location not sure I will stay again whilst in area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny10harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Johnny10Harvey,

Thank you for your review of the Quality Hotel Boldon, I was pleased to hear you found our team friendly and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep in one of our king sized beds.
I can only apologise for the issues you encountered that have resulted in the negative comments above. With regard the Wi-Fi; we are currently working hard with BT in order to resolve the issue, unfortunately the blame does lie with BT and our hands are tied until this can be fixed. I can only apologise for the fact your toilet roll holder was missing, also that your kettle and shower were broken.
I can however assure you that we are reaching the final phase of upgrading our bathrooms with only a handful left to refurbish. I do hope you will contact me direct at the hotel and visit us again should you be in the area, at which point I would like to personally make your reservation.
Warm Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! I was greeted at check in by the general manager Pablo, who offered to show me around the hotel! Who was very attentive and polite! He had also left a letter in my room welcoming me to the hotel!
Once I had settled in my room (which was lovely, very modern and lovely decor) I made use of the gym facilities and pool, everything was brand new and so clean, really good facilities! I spoke to a young lady just before entering the gym, she was very helpful and offered assistance if I needed it.
The bar and restaurant area was spacious, and the food was amazing!!
I will definitely be using this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ash1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Ash1408,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on here for us, it was a pleasure to meet you and I really hope to see you again in the very near future!

Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed last night at this hotel and it was clean and modern. The food is better than average. Service was friendly and attentive. I would reccomend this hotel if you are staying in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mjrwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Mjrwhite,

Short, sharp, and straight to the point! Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past few months, both times for two nights. It is very nicely decorated throughout and the rooms are very nice. The bed is enormous and very comfortable - I had to have two blankets though as the quilt wasn't warm enough for me, and we were lent a fire for the room which made a it difference.

The bathroom is nicely presented and very clean.

The breakfast was slightly disappointing - we were told that it is so quiet on a Monday that breakfast is served rather than being able to help yourself. The portions were rather small, but the food was nice enough and the dining room is very pleasant. I noticed how busy the dining room was as we arrived on the Sunday so I presume the Sunday lunch is very good.

We used the gym which was very well equipped and probably the best hotel gym we have been in. The pool was too cold for me it my husband went in whilst I kept warm in the bubble pool!

The staff at this hotel deserve a special mention, I felt they could not do enough for us and they were friendly and helpful at all times, which was appreciated.

The hotel is near a decent pub serving good food at very good prices and also a Frankie & Benny's, a large Asda and a cinema amongst other shops. It is within easy reach of Newcastle and very well priced - particularly when compared to the prices charged in Newcastle itself.

I would definitely stay here again and am p,eased to highly recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tateypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Trolleylumps,

Firstly please allow me to thank you for staying with us over the last few months, and secondly for commending the staff in their service delivery – we truly value each and every guest and will always go that extra mile where possible.

Hope you will return again soon – please do point yourself out as I would love to thank you!

Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Utterly transformed since the refurbishment, this is a really pleasant and clean hotel with great facilities. There's a good sized bar / restaurant area, not to mention a lovely looking pool and gym (although I didn't use them).

The rooms themselves are well fitted out - nicely furnished, good modern bathroom, decent sized flat screen TVs, teas and coffees, working A/C etc. All in all a cut above your typical budget hotel. Location is convenient too, just off the A19 roundabout.

Having stayed in most of the hotels in Sunderland, I'd say for the price I don't think you can do better.

The only complaint I do have is that the free wifi rarely works. I've stayed here several times and it only worked once. You can see the network and (sometimes) connect to it, but the nasty little yellow exclamation mark never goes away. It's really frustrating, but doesn't merit knocking off a star as at least you're not paying for it. And I've been in so many UK hotels where the wifi doesn't work, I'm beginning to think it's something people just don't care about here.

Room Tip: A noisy hotel at the weekends with a lot of revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigGiantPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Lame Planet,

Delighted to hear that you think you ‘can’t do better’ for a hotel in Sunderland, we do strive to deliver four star service and above to each and every guest. I am sorry you encountered a problem with our WIFI. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI to Fibre Optic Broadband, this is an area-wide problem and it’s in the hands of BT to push through the upgrade – I am on their case daily for this issue. On the plus side, we do not charge for our WIFI, and will continue to do the same once we upgrade to fibre!

Hope you will return soon!

Warm regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel on a living social spa deal, it was a nice spa but could do with a water machine and plastic cups.... And maybe a little seating area, just a little badly designed!
Our voucher included lunch which was delicious and couldn't be faulted!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank glb006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Glb006,

Thanks for the review of your spa day at QHB, we are now offering Afternoon Tea with use of the leisure facilities for £9.95, just call the hotel direct to make a booking!

Since your visit we have had a seats installed and loungers are due to arrive any day now for the pool side. There is a water machine in the gym - sorry no one pointed this out to you on your visit!

Thanks again,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed recently on business for one night.

Large car park with plenty of spaces. Met by a really friendly smile from reception and check in was easy.

My initial impression of the surroundings was a good one. I was on the first floor and was directed to stairs / lift area, passing the nice looking dining area & the Gym.

When I reached the floor I was met by builders and it looked like many rooms were being updated particularly the bathrooms as the baths were in the bedroom area.

My room was a good size, the bed was huge and comfortable. Free wifi was excellent and allowed me to crack on with work for the afternoon.

As expected the bathroom did look tired, however I asked reception on leaving and she advised the whole hotel is being renovated so cant argue too much about it. The shower was the most powerful I have ever experienced and felt very invigorated afterwards!!!

The gym was modern with machines and freeweights. I visied the gym around 530 and it was busy so had to wait for apparatus, however it seemed quieter later in the evening. Pool was a good size and emptywhen i used. The sauna,steam room & jacuzzi were also very good.

I chose to eat away from the hotel at the nearby Frankie & Bennys up the road, however I will review this seperately.

All in all a good hotel. Service was excellent and staff really friendly and efficient

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear MattA1977,

Thanks for your review, just like our showers, we like to make sure our guests are ‘blown away’ by their experience at QHB!

I hope next time you will visit our Grill Lounge to dine in, we are about to re-launch our menu – and I must say it’s looking delicious!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
746 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sunderland
91 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
434 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing