We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights having gone up to the NE for a family bereavement. For one night we had 4 rooms and my wife and I stayed an extra night. Room 205.

Check in for all rooms went very smoothly both receptionists were polite, professional and very friendly. A very good welcome. Nothing was a problem to them.

The rooms are very spacious and well laid out with good facilities and toiletries.

Dining ara and bar is clean and friendly. We only had breakfast in the hotel which offered sufficient variety.

The hotel has a gym and pool. My son in law used the gym and he was very impressed. My wife and I did not use it but it looked to be one of the best that we have seen in an hotel.

Location is great. Half way between Sunderland and Newcastle. Very close drive to metro centre. Very convienient for business travellers visiting Nissan.

Would I stay again yes.

One disappointment. Would have booked 2 rooms for weekend of GNR but initial price very high. Linsay the receptionist contacted reservations for a discount but even then it would have worked out at £460 for the the twp rooms for 2 nights !!!! Nearly double the normal weekend rate.

Otherwise no issues

Room Tip: Take your gym gear.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Robert P,

Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel – really happy to hear the team here at QHB have done themselves proud in delivering a first class service.

Sorry to hear that you encountered an issue when trying to rebook, the GNR weekend is a very busy one for us and however we are very competitively priced based on hotels of a similar standard in the region.

We always welcome return business however, and it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again; please do send your room requirements to Ruth, our Reservations Manager via sales@hotels-sunderland.com or 01915191999 and we will do our very best to assist.

Many thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Boldon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

we have just spent two nights at this hotel visiting relatives.the last time we stayed here it was dreadful. But apparently the hotel has changed hands we can totally recommend it.the rooms are excellent the staff are extremely attentive and the food is fantastic (home made baked beanswith the burgers etc ) IT Was a great experriance after the last time we stopped here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Pauline S,

The team here at QHB will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel - we strive to deliver a first class service to each and every guest.

I hope you will choose to use us again next time you visit the North East.

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on sat night. Lovely big room and decorated really nice. The bed was the biggest most comfy ever..had the best sleep in ages. Very welcoming receptionist. Would defo stay again. Good facilities with well equip gym and nice pool. Nice to see water and biscuits free to.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Julie A,

Delighted to hear you had 'the best sleep in ages'...we certainly do have the perfect beds for sleepy heads!

Hope you will return soon - keep an eye out on our Facebook Page /qualityhotelboldon or Twitter @QHBoldon for our special offers!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were made to feel welcome and were promptly attended to with a friendly and sincere sense of purpose. Allowed to peruse the tempting menu at our leisure before our selection was quickly delivered, we were then left to enjoy the well presented options we had chosen. Our tasty selection from the light bite menu was an ideal lunch. Tempting puddings were left for another day and two coffees completed our visit. Overall a relaxing rendezvous with excellent service (and oh yes, we will return for those puddings!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gillfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Gillfran,

Thanks for the superb review of your visit to QHB. Over the moon to hear you will return for those puddings - look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Lovely hotel, really nice staff and great pool. After an awful experience at Gateshead the week before (see my review on Swallow Hotel, Gateshead!) we decided to visit the area again. What a difference a week makes and a lovely hotel makes too!
Could not fault a thing
Highly recommend the restaurants - the sticky toffee pudding is the BEST!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1kissimmeejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear 1kissimmeejean,

Thanks so much for the review of your visit to QHB - I hope you will return in the very near future. Please do let me know when you do as I would love to meet you to thank you personally!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with my family as part of his 50th birthday. We meet for drinks in the hotel bar then came back after going out for a meal. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile especially on check in and departure. Hotel has fantastic facilities such as the gym and swimming pool. Will most certainly stay again in the near future

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattylevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Mattylevi,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to QHB. I hope you will keep your word and come back very soon - keep an eye on our Facebook page Qualityhotelboldon or Twitter @QHBoldon for special offers, deals and events posted daily!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

i satyed here as a support worker for one night. on arrival we were awre that we could not check in until 2pm but on arrival at 11.30 were told our suitcases could be stored in the lugage room till later. The young lady on reception said she would check us in then to save less time when we returned from our concert. on checking she said that our rooms were in diffrent corridors of the hotel but she woulod check and get us closer. This was without been asked and she did just that. We then chose to have a sandwich which came with fries at a price of £4.95. Good value for money. this was served aby a very young gentelman wiht fair hair and a smile who was very pleasnant and poilte.we then asked the young lady on reception to organise a taxi which she did straight away no problems. Off to our show we went. on arriving back at 9pm we got into our room staight away and were even asked if we could manage our luggage. our rooms were large clean and spacious. a credoit to the house keepers. The taix firm used by the hotel are highly reccomended. a lovely gentelman who was very pleasandt and made us feel nothing was to much trouble. the only down side was the bread and oil starter which was 2 small buns priced at £3.25 aand the cheese board at £6.25 whic were 3 small pieces of cheese and 3 oat cakes with chutney. The main course of prawn and chicken skewers was delicious. The sticky toffee pudding looked lovely i will be having that should i return. breakast yum yum ye we had to wait for fried eggs but so what they were runny and fresh so worth the wait. the resturant staff were one of the best plesnt temas i have seen oin a long time and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff team. They are a credit to the quality hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shalaw444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Shalaw444,

Thanks for the review of your visit to QHB. We always welcome any feedback, and I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef regarding the appetiser and dessert. I know the team will be delighted to hear that you consider the staff a credit and I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Hope you will return soon,

Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
741 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sunderland
80 reviews
4.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
730 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing