We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My choice for business when in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Boldon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My choice for business when in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely hotel, great for business trips.

Clean and well equipped rooms, great gym and pool. Food is good value and room service quality also high.

Only ever had one problem during my stays - faulty TV - and was moved straight away.

Overall, I would recommend for the business traveller without hesitation

Only drawback is slightly pants wifi - but I have 4g so who cares?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wewantaborderterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Wewantaborderterrier,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to QHB, and thank you for being understanding about the issue you encountered with your TV – I hope you can appreciate these things happen from time to time especially with new builds. With regard the WI-FI, we have recently installed a dedicated ‘Guest Broadband line’ whilst we wait for our local telephone exchange to be upgraded to Fibre Optic Broadband - this however is out of our hands!

I hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    104
    46
    24
    34
See reviews for
103
92
11
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I celebrated my 50th Birthday with Vegas themed night for 100 guests. The night was just amazing the food was second to none as for the staff WOW nothing was a problem
If your planning anything special this is the place to do it Julie was a great party planner with her help nothing was impossible and I am hard to please.
A large party of us stayed over we used the lovely facilities had lunch in bar highly recommended and breakfast is buffet style and lots of it !!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Alison,

It was our pleasure to host our 50th Party a few month ago. I will of course share your comments with the team who I know will be over the moon to hear you all enjoyed yourselves. Don’t be a stranger now its all over however!

Warm regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

To celebrate my mother in law's 80th birthday the family decided to take her for afternoon tea. The food was amazing, the sandwich selection exactly right.. and the scones were warm! Delicious... combined with excellent service, nothing was too much trouble, we thoroughly enjoyed it and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Laura G,

Please allow me to wish you a somewhat belated 80th Birthday to your Mother in law! Thank you for the fantastic review – I am really glad that we managed to help you celebrate her special day.
Hope to see you again soon,

Thank you!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were coming up to Sunderland for a christening & stumbled upon this hotel as the usual Premier Inn's & Travelodge's were fully booked due to it being the weekend of The Ashes. We're glad that we did as it was fantastic.

We had 3 rooms booked & they were all clean, modern rooms with huge comfy beds! The shower was also amazing didn't want to get out! My Mum is disabled & they had a wet room which was ideal for her.

We ate in The Grill restaurant in the evening which had a good choice of food on the menu at a reasonable price and we all really enjoyed our meals. The bar area is also nice to enjoy an after dinner drink.

The staff were very friendly & helpful & went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

We didn't have breakfast in the morning as we thought it was a bit expensive at £10 each & there is a McDonald's literally 2 minutes away from the hotel.

We would definitely return to this hotel if we were staying in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Beckycha,

Glad to hear you were lucky to grab one of our last few rooms this weekend as the region was very busy!
Thanks for your review, its always good to hear we are continually going ‘out of our way’ to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant and enjoyable visit!
I hope you will stay with us again, just contact Ruth (our Reservations Manager) direct at the hotel and we will ensure you get the best rate available.

Best Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the Quality hotel. The staff were professional and friendly, the decor is very nice and the rooms are modern and comfortable.

As for the bed, well, it was like sleeping on a cloud. We had two amazing sleeps. The health club has a lovely pool with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which was well used. The food was very good although £14.99 for breakfast seemed a bit steep. It is £10 if you buy when checking in.

Overall, it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear KateyMoon,

Thank you for the fantastic account of your visit to QHB. To hear that you thought this was ‘one of the best hotels you have stayed in’ was amazing!

Really hope you will return soon – keep an eye out on our Facebook (/qualityhotelboldon) and Twitter pages (@QHBoldon) for special offers and deals throughout the year!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights having gone up to the NE for a family bereavement. For one night we had 4 rooms and my wife and I stayed an extra night. Room 205.

Check in for all rooms went very smoothly both receptionists were polite, professional and very friendly. A very good welcome. Nothing was a problem to them.

The rooms are very spacious and well laid out with good facilities and toiletries.

Dining ara and bar is clean and friendly. We only had breakfast in the hotel which offered sufficient variety.

The hotel has a gym and pool. My son in law used the gym and he was very impressed. My wife and I did not use it but it looked to be one of the best that we have seen in an hotel.

Location is great. Half way between Sunderland and Newcastle. Very close drive to metro centre. Very convienient for business travellers visiting Nissan.

Would I stay again yes.

One disappointment. Would have booked 2 rooms for weekend of GNR but initial price very high. Linsay the receptionist contacted reservations for a discount but even then it would have worked out at £460 for the the twp rooms for 2 nights !!!! Nearly double the normal weekend rate.

Otherwise no issues

Room Tip: Take your gym gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Robert P,

Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel – really happy to hear the team here at QHB have done themselves proud in delivering a first class service.

Sorry to hear that you encountered an issue when trying to rebook, the GNR weekend is a very busy one for us and however we are very competitively priced based on hotels of a similar standard in the region.

We always welcome return business however, and it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again; please do send your room requirements to Ruth, our Reservations Manager via sales@hotels-sunderland.com or 01915191999 and we will do our very best to assist.

Many thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

we have just spent two nights at this hotel visiting relatives.the last time we stayed here it was dreadful. But apparently the hotel has changed hands we can totally recommend it.the rooms are excellent the staff are extremely attentive and the food is fantastic (home made baked beanswith the burgers etc ) IT Was a great experriance after the last time we stopped here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Pauline S,

The team here at QHB will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel - we strive to deliver a first class service to each and every guest.

I hope you will choose to use us again next time you visit the North East.

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Property: Quality Hotel Boldon
Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing