We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Boldon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday. The room and bathroom were lovely. The pool was a big hit with our little girl who woke up every morning demanding to go straight down.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We'd definitely stay again if we were in the North East.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonam212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Nonam212,

Thank you for the review of your visit to the Quality Hotel Boldon, delighted to hear you and your family made full use of the facilities (even if it did restrict your lie in!).

Please do keep your word and stay with us again soon; contact Ruth our Reservations Manager direct at the hotel to ensure you are given a preferable rate!

Many Thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    104
    45
    24
    32
See reviews for
101
92
11
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent one night in the Quality Inn Boldon as the last night of a Shearings coach trip to Scotland.
The hotel is new and very modern. An enormous double bed, two armchairs, a desk with chair, a large flat screen television with lots of Freeview channels and tea and coffee making facilities as well as two bottles of water made the room complete. The bathroom had a bath with removable shower head and a selection of toiletries.
The food was very good with the only complaint being that the dining room was freezing due to overactive air conditioning. One other comment was the coffee wasn't up to much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Wolfhill,

It was a pleasure to have you stay; I know the team here at QHB will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, even though pretty short.

Hope you will return soon – we will of course make sure the restaurant is slightly warmer this time!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Well. It's great for the money. Limited room service after hours.
Value for money drinks.
Room ok. But dated bathroom.
Green n brown depressing but room ok for £390 for two rooms three nights. I'd say it well worth it.
Lovely fitness suite n pool but as a woman I see too many men too many men fit n pumped

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear mlanaka,

Thanks for your review of QHB. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. With regard your comment about the bathrooms, we are currently in the final phase of upgrading the bathrooms and hope to have this work completed very shortly. I hope you will continue to use the Quality Hotel Boldon and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Many thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We use this hotel because it is one of the best ones closest to our family, even though it is 6 miles from where we want to be. There's nowhere else in Sunderland we would stay. We have tried other similar hotels but at one we had to pay a fortune for parking and another the bed and pillows weren't as soft or comfortable as the t.v. adverts would have us believe. Other than that, we have stayed as far out as Durham City, which added 24 miles to our journey to visit family every day.

Room Tip: We always find the main lighting in the bedrooms not as bright as we would like. NOT everyone has go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanHam1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear SanHam1953,

Thank you for your review. We really hope you will visit us again soon. Keep an eye out on our Facebook/Twitter pages for special rates if you are ever in the in the area again! /qualityhotelboldon - @QHBoldon.

Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely hotel, great for business trips.

Clean and well equipped rooms, great gym and pool. Food is good value and room service quality also high.

Only ever had one problem during my stays - faulty TV - and was moved straight away.

Overall, I would recommend for the business traveller without hesitation

Only drawback is slightly pants wifi - but I have 4g so who cares?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wewantaborderterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Wewantaborderterrier,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to QHB, and thank you for being understanding about the issue you encountered with your TV – I hope you can appreciate these things happen from time to time especially with new builds. With regard the WI-FI, we have recently installed a dedicated ‘Guest Broadband line’ whilst we wait for our local telephone exchange to be upgraded to Fibre Optic Broadband - this however is out of our hands!

I hope to see you again very soon!

Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I celebrated my 50th Birthday with Vegas themed night for 100 guests. The night was just amazing the food was second to none as for the staff WOW nothing was a problem
If your planning anything special this is the place to do it Julie was a great party planner with her help nothing was impossible and I am hard to please.
A large party of us stayed over we used the lovely facilities had lunch in bar highly recommended and breakfast is buffet style and lots of it !!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Alison,

It was our pleasure to host our 50th Party a few month ago. I will of course share your comments with the team who I know will be over the moon to hear you all enjoyed yourselves. Don’t be a stranger now its all over however!

Warm regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

To celebrate my mother in law's 80th birthday the family decided to take her for afternoon tea. The food was amazing, the sandwich selection exactly right.. and the scones were warm! Delicious... combined with excellent service, nothing was too much trouble, we thoroughly enjoyed it and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Laura G,

Please allow me to wish you a somewhat belated 80th Birthday to your Mother in law! Thank you for the fantastic review – I am really glad that we managed to help you celebrate her special day.
Hope to see you again soon,

Thank you!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Property: Quality Hotel Boldon
Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing