We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir William Fox Hotel(South Shields)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunderland Marriott Hotel(Sunderland)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Athol House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
260
130
54
31
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
130
54
31
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchxmas partyswimming poolsteam roomleisure facilitiesafternoon tealovely hotelgreat nightcouldn't faultroom was largethe ground floorone night stayfull englishgymweddingsunderlandasda
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What started off as a pleasant experience, ended up with the Hotel taking an unauthorised payment off my debit card and acting appallingly when I complained. I have only ever heard good things about this hotel but I have now cancelled all future bookings. The Staff are rude and are in need of some Customer Service training.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank fran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Francesca,

Disappointed you had posted a review following a resolution to our misunderstanding in relation to the billing for your conference last week, as you know, you supplied a card after week one of your conference, which we understood was to be used to settle your account on a weekly basis.

We strive to deliver only the best service to all of our guests, which I feel we did in the case of your conference both prior to and during your time here; rest assured it was never our intention to upset you.

Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the best hotel I have stayed in, in the north east for a 3 star hotel. Clean, tidy, comfortable bed, good facilities. Only gripe is that the breakfast plates are too small. Not sure why as its a buffet service.. get it sorted hotel manager...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Philylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Philylar,

Thank you for the review of your visit to QHB. I should mention that we were awarded Four glistening stars in our last inspection. Delighted you find the hotel 'clean, tidy, comfortable bed, with good facilities'.

Finally, thank you also for your comment regarding our plate size, however these are the 'norm' for the industry at 8 inches in diameter...we don't restrict the number of visits to the breakfast buffet however so feel free to pop back as often as you like!

Hope to see you again soon!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I've stayed at the hotel for quiet at few months now, returning every week.
Value for money is spot on, the fact that it has been recently refurbished has helped a great deal.

Staff are great, nothing is really ever any trouble for them. Front of house is always a pleasure as are the bar staff and restaurant. Albeit, the menu becomes a little mundane after so many trips there!

A real bonus for the traveller is the gym and pool facilities. Maintained well and always equipped with facilities in running order (gym)..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markgoggins32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Markgoggins32,

Thank you for your review of your (many) visits to QHB. Really pleased that you enjoy your stay(s) with us and it is our pleasure to keep inviting you back!

We are about to launch our new menus at the end of May and have just started our weekly special theme nights (posters around the hotel) - so watch this space!

Look forward to seeing you again soon,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Have just returned fro. A hen party here. The hotel was beautiful and clean the staff were fantastic. The facilities were all very high standard. Only down side was the distance from Newcastle as taxi was £20 every time. But over all excellent hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viki1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Viki1903,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. It was our pleasure to have you visit this weekend (you certainly appeared to have a good time!). If you do stay with us again we recommend booking transport in advance as our nominated Taxi Firm do offer us special flat rates when booked in advance...if you are looking to make your journey a little bit more special we also have a Limo Party Bus we can hire for you to start the night in style!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When I heard our staff night out was going to be held at this hotel, I was somewhat disappointed as I live in Newcastle and had never heard of the hotel so did not expect much. To my surprise the place had a modern and funky feel to it as it was nicely decorated throughout. I was slightly disappointed at just how many people were squashed in the place but this only added to the atmosphere especially on the dance floor. The meal was also disappointing as illustrated by the number of complaints the staff had to deal with but I did not allow that to spoil my night. Staff serving the food worked effectively however I believe the management should also acknowledge the two young men (David and Bede) who appeared to work all throughout the night who were up serving all night till around 5am and then again in the morning I was met by both of them maintaining their warm smiles and high standards serving breakfast. Overall, the night was a huge success and thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: Remember to make full use of their excellent spa facilities as they are often ignored in hotels
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

David M,

Thanks for your review of Christmas 2013 - we have just released details about Christmas 2014 and have something rather special lined up this year! Be sure to check the website for details!

Will pass on your thanks to David and Bede, I know they will be delighted to hear they had a personal mention!

Many thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews