We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just had our daughter and son inlaws wedding on saturday 31st of may ! What can i say , an absoloutley fabulous day from beginning to end , we cant thank the the general manager and his team enough they pulled out all the stops, a special thankyou to julie duncan too who provided everything we asked for.. Stuck for a venue ? Look no further than the Quality Hotel Boldon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deegee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Deegee7,

What an amazing review! You all seemed to have a fantastic time celebrating Angie & Marc's wedding last Saturday - it makes all the difference when we have such wonderful guests staying with us, so thank you also! I do hope you will all keep your word and will continue to use QHB, we will always extend our warm welcome to you all. I will make sure I pass on your kind words regarding the Team and especially to Julie who I know worked so hard with this, and every wedding she is involved with.

Hope to see you all again soon!

Many thanks

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    105
    46
    24
    35
See reviews for
104
93
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here a few times now, rooms are clean and well equipped.
Most of the staff are nice people but some lack in quality which could perhaps be improved by regular team meetings.
Leisure complex is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
John F,

Delighted to hear you find our meeting rooms 'clean and well equipped' and that you find our leisure club very nice. We do hold regular departmental Team meetings and HOD meetings, however I have noted your comment to discuss at our next meeting!

Warm regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I'm still here, so this is an "as it happens review". We're here for a friend's wedding and having the most wonderful time. The staff are superb. Every detail is catered for... our opinion, backed up by the bride
Friendly, helpful and accomodating to the nth degree. Facilities are sparkling. The food was gorgeous. A great venue, a great team. A credit to their manager. You can't go wrong here. Ever been to a wedding and been stung on drink prices? Not here. Fair and reasonable. If you are looking at wedding venues... The search ends here. Thanks for s great day to you all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank J40CBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p5olof, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
J40CBM,

This is the first time we have had a 'live' review, and what a pleasure it was to read! Really pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us at Angie & Marc's wedding - you guys were fantastic! I can only agree that the Team are a credit to me and I know they will be delighted that this has been recognised.

Hope you will consider us for any future visits...we promise not to change the house music playlist too much - enjoy the CD!

Many thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Quality Hotel during a visit to the area. We had stayed there a couple of years previously when the hotel was going through a refurbishment after a fire.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the work carried out. A new fitness centre and swimming pool has been added to the facilities provided. This is free of charge to hotel residents. The restaurant menu looked tempting although we didn't get a chance to try any of the food. The room was very spacious - massive bed provided. Interestingly there was no toilet roll holder in the bathroom - maybe they haven't got round to fitting one yet.

Being on an business park there aren't many social attractions on your doorstep but there is and ASDA supermarket, a pub, cinema and a number of restaurants just a 5 minute walk away.

We are often in the northeast and will certainly be returning to this place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LutonOssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
LutonOssie,

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your return visit to QHB! Even more so that you were 'pleasantly surprised' by the new hotel! Really sorry about the fact you had no toilet roll holder, these have now been fitted in the new bathrooms (we were waiting for them to be delivered via our supplier!) - thanks for your understanding however!

Really hope you will make a return visit soon at which point I would love the opportunity to meet you to thank you for your review personally!

Warm regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My son held his wedding and evening reception at this hotel and we had a fabulous time. From beginning to end we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were met with drinks and various tit-bits which were circulated by several staff. When we went into the room it was beautiful and the meal was very filling and not small portions. The evening was great too disco was brilliant. The wedding co-ordinator could not have been more helpful. Would recommend this hotel for anyone's wedding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Ann R,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your interaction with QHB, I will certainly ensure your kind words are passed on to the Team. Really hope you will continue to visit us here at the hotel and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks
Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

What started off as a pleasant experience, ended up with the Hotel taking an unauthorised payment off my debit card and acting appallingly when I complained. I have only ever heard good things about this hotel but I have now cancelled all future bookings. The Staff are rude and are in need of some Customer Service training.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Francesca,

Disappointed you had posted a review following a resolution to our misunderstanding in relation to the billing for your conference last week, as you know, you supplied a card after week one of your conference, which we understood was to be used to settle your account on a weekly basis.

We strive to deliver only the best service to all of our guests, which I feel we did in the case of your conference both prior to and during your time here; rest assured it was never our intention to upset you.

Regards,
Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the best hotel I have stayed in, in the north east for a 3 star hotel. Clean, tidy, comfortable bed, good facilities. Only gripe is that the breakfast plates are too small. Not sure why as its a buffet service.. get it sorted hotel manager...

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Philylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Philylar,

Thank you for the review of your visit to QHB. I should mention that we were awarded Four glistening stars in our last inspection. Delighted you find the hotel 'clean, tidy, comfortable bed, with good facilities'.

Finally, thank you also for your comment regarding our plate size, however these are the 'norm' for the industry at 8 inches in diameter...we don't restrict the number of visits to the breakfast buffet however so feel free to pop back as often as you like!

Hope to see you again soon!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
4.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Property: Quality Hotel Boldon
Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing