We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Boldon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for a business trip recently.

Have to say I was rather disappointed considering the price I paid. Although the hotel looks quite new, the decor of my room was tired. The bathroom needed a bit of TLC and a blast of air freshener.

Worryingly one of the windows could not be closed as the handle was missing.

I was hoping to use the gym while I stayed, but that was closed due to flood damage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimeroPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
PrimeroPedro,

Thank you for the review of of your interaction with QHB from which I was very disappointed to read everything was not to your satisfaction. I wonder if you would be so kind and contact me direct at the hotel to discuss this further.

Hope to hear from you soon,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    113
    51
    26
    37
See reviews for
108
100
13
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We liked this hotel. The standard of the hotel is mentioned in it's name Quality! Stayed for two nights, liked our room well equipped and spotlessly clean. The food was well prepared and the menu well thought out. Would like to mention Jackie who worked hard to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The rest of the staff pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline1965190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Caroline1965190759,

Brilliant review of your interaction with the hotel, I will be sure to pass on your comments to Jackie who will be really pleased she has earned a personal mention on TripAdvisor!

Be sure to keep an eye on our website or Facebook page for accommodation offers in the future!

Many thanks,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stay here as often as possible as have family in the area. This is a lovely hotel with restaurant, bar and gym, although the latter was out of action when we last visited a week ago due to storm damage. The rooms are clean, as are the towels and bed linen. We find the nightly rate a bit steep at £85.00, in comparison to a Travel Lodge down the road at £55.00 per night but I guess you get what you pay for. This hotel has also allowed us to check in early although this is not advertised. Roomy car park, excellent site for Sunderland and Newcastle as you can be on the motorway in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available - this hotel hosts lots of weddings at weekends so availability can som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Melb228,

Thank you so much for the review of your visit to QHB. Really sorry about the Gym being out of action, however we are working very hard to have normal service resumed ASAP - this was however beyond our control. Your understanding was very much appreciated and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Really hope you will return to the hotel in the near future!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am so glad you sent me back my kindle which I so stupidly left behind. Thank you! I have stayed at the hotel a couple of times on business and am due back in September. It is great to know you will look after me so we'll.
sometimes reception can be a bit slow at check-in and check-out - maybe that's because you are busy looking after other customers.
Looking forward to seeing you in September
Rachel Hinde
( sent from my husband's trip advisor account)

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Chris H/Rachel,

Great to hear the Team went beyond your expectations...also that you received your Kindle! I will make sure I share your kind words with the Team who I know will be delighted to hear they have pleased another happy guest!

Looking forward to seeing you again in September!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from visiting the swimming pool at QHB . Very relaxing atmosphere in such clean and pleasant surroundings. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Particularly enjoyed the spa. Would definitely recommend a visit - I will certainly go back

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
BarbieNewcastle

Great to hear you continue to use QHB and chose to post your very kind words on TripAdvisor! Would be great to meet you one day to thank you personally! Hope to see you soon!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and used it as a base to explore the area, great location to all the main roads and close to the metro station too.

Our room was lovely, very modern and bathroom was nice. The leisure facilities are a bonus too after a long day sightseeing you can go for a swim.

We dinned in the restaurant twice, on the first night, the menu was limited as they didn't have half of the dishes, but what we did have was great.

There was a hiccup with our account regarding a pre auth, but that was soon sorted.

All the staff are very friendly and always willing to help or have a chat.

We will be returning after this successful trip and we really did enjoy our stay, so we will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank razinsun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
razinsun85,

Thank you for choosing to stay at QHB recently, our location certainly lends itself to exploring the area. Delighted to hear you found our rooms lovely and bathrooms nice. Really sorry about the minor incident regarding your pre-auth upon check-in however you have my assurance this has now been addressed with the Reception Team to ensure this doesn't happen again!

Please do let me know if you choose to return to QHB as I would love to take the time to meet you and thank you personally for such a great review!

Warm Regards,

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here very much. The hotel is lovely the staff are brilliant and very professional. The facilities are very good and very clean. will definitely be staying here again! The swimming pool, Hot Tub and Sauna are well worth using.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo F, General Manager at Quality Hotel Boldon, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Scottr32,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to QHB. Really hope you will keep your word and stay with us again soon, keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for special offers!

Paolo Franchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Boldon
3.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
4.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
713 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
727 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
411 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Boldon

Property: Quality Hotel Boldon
Address: Jct A19/A184 Witney Way | Newcastle/ Sunderland, West Boldon NE35 9PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > West Boldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Boldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Boldon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QHB - The North East's most 'fresh, funky chic...FOUR STAR' Hotel.The Quality Hotel Boldon is one of the regions newest and stylish hotels combining the standards and quality of a four star venue.Our unrivaled location is central to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham, Washington and South Tyneside with easy access from all major networks and public transport. QHB needs to be on the top of everyone's list of places to visit!BedroomsIt's not all about hard work and no play... Here at QHB we have 82 en-suite bedrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi rules the airwaves and our 32" plasma TV's will keep you entertained. Great beds for sleepy heads, en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower, IPod Docking stations (on request) and digital TV. We also offer same-day laundry, toiletries, room service, hairdryers, ironing facilities and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.The Grill & Lounge Restaurant, The heart and soul of QHB, a dining concept which is simple, offer the highest standard of service in a relaxed and unrivaled setting... A touch of sophistication with a fusion of Grill and Home-cooked inspired menu. With a wine list to match and a cocktail list that will leave you stirred but not shaken!Boldon Fitness, after one of our team gives you a quick induction on the state of the art, 28-piece cardiovascular and resistance equipment in our gym, you can wind down in our 15 metre heated swimming pool. We also have a Sauna for complete stress reduction, relaxation and all-around better health. Then lie back in our 12 seat Jacuzzi or steam away your worries in the fragrance Steam room. Perfect for those who need time to unwind and recharge before bravely heading out onto the corporate front line.Meetings & Conferences. We are a purpose built superior conference venue with state of the art facilities hosting events for a total capacity of 425 delegates. Eight versatile conference and banqueting suites are at your disposal for whatever event you may be planning. QHB also houses a dedicated conference floor which has five meeting rooms with secured access that can be hired exclusively with a dedicated conference lounge. All suites are equipped with air-conditioning, state-of-the-art AV systems and complimentary Wi-Fi. Car Park. Access to car park complimentary for all guests and residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Boldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing