We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff went above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff went above and beyond”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Staff went above and beyond to help us. Stayed there with family due to an aunt who is not doing well in the hospital and wasn't expected to make it much longer. When the desk person heard this, he immediately found a room for us for the second night (upgraded at the same price since our current room wasn't available the second night). He told us, "Don't worry about finding a room for the second night, I'll take care of it. Wondering where you have to stay is the last thing you should have to worry about right now." His kindess brought us to tears. Clean place. Nice breakfast. Very convenient location off the freeway. Felt safe and secure. Restaurant next door is wonderful and had DELICIOUS food!! But again, we'll never forget this nice gentleman from the desk and he has made us "forever customers." This was actually my second stay at this hotel; the first time was for business and had a great experience then too. There was a sports team staying at the hotel during this most recent trip and we didn't even notice, which was nice. Rooms were quiet, clean and temperature was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank periwinkle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear Friend,

I noticed that your review had not been responded and I wanted to share with you that your feedback is important to us. I am delighted that we were able to make your stay comfortable and accommodating! Our staff has been phenomenal over the years and we do share with them all the great feedback we receive. Thank you!

We would love to have you stay with us again when your travels bring you to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    113
    37
    27
    24
See reviews for
168
47
11
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We went for a soccer tournament with another couple and our 18 year old sons. The guy checking us in was quite competent and efficient, a pleasant surprise. They served warm chocolate cookies at the checkin desk! And they always have coffee available.
Nice room, good beds, quiet clean hotel, and the staff seemed to like their job. A wise employer keeps their employees happy.
The pool was deserted except for us, and the boys enjoyed the hot tub.
They serve a modest breakfast, which is nice so that you don't have to run out for food in the morning. They use a waffle mix called Carbon's, and it's the best I've ever tasted. I've been on a waffle quest for years, probably after a Country Inn and Suites stay. I've never been disappointed by this chain, and this stay was great also.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

From the moment we booked, we felt a sense of appreciation by the staff. We arrived at noon and early check in was not a problem whatsoever. In fact, they had a sign at their front desk welcoming us! The room was magnificient! King suites are definitely the way to go. Clean and fresh smelling. Staff always working to maintain cleanliness. Hot breakfast buffet was awesome! LOVE the waffle maker! Soccer teams appreciated the 24 hour fresh fruit and ice water. Parents appreciated the 24 hour coffee/tea/hot chocolate service and the cookies are to die for! After playing multiple games in rain and severe high temperatures, we were all thrilled to have laundry facilities available on site! We will definitely book our teams here again. 20 mins from National Sports Center, 25 mins from Albertville, 20 mins from Mall of America. You can not book a better located hotel! The only criticism I would have is that the pool area is quite small and VERY HUMID! Chlorine bothered most of our players eyes as well! Bring the saline solution!

Other than that, it was fabulous! Thanks for an awesome stay. See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WpgSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear friend,

I noticed that your review had not been responded by prior management. I wanted to share with you that your feedback is important to us and I am thrilled that the hotel and staff made it enjoyable for you and the entire team. We love our guests' and we always strive to do our best by offering the little extras!

We would love to have you and the team stay with us again when your travels bring you to Minneapolis and to the National Sports Center. We always have a warm beverage and cookies to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed here for four nights beginning Saturday, June 25. Got a really good rate by going directly to the Carlson website. I really liked this place. Very easy access to I-94/I-694 by using Shingle Creek Parkway. I would echo all the positive comments made by the previous reviewers - clean, comfortable, friendly staff. A few additional notes... This hotel will take pets for a non-refundable fee of $25 per stay. Our room, 215, had a small refrigerator. And the bathroom had a fan.

The breakfast buffet (6am to 9:30 Mon - Sat, 7am to 10:30 Sun) had DELICIOUS coffee - go to the canister marked "Bold." And they had REAL (not instant) Quaker Oats oatmeal available every morning. They had strawberries to go with the waffles, and each morning they had a slightly different assortment of hot breakfast offerings. (But when they offer the eggs benedict, you may want to pass on the Hollandaise sauce!)

The breakfast room can get quite crowded, so my wife and I would take our breakfasts out to the front porch where they have tables and chairs, or a bench if you prefer. It was wonderful: fresh air, the sun coming up, that delicious coffee, while reading our complementary newspapers (USA Today or the Minneapolis StarTribune). And as a special treat for bird lovers, we could see Cedar Waxwings and Purple Finches picking berries off the Saskatoon tree on the west end of the property. This quickly became my favorite part of the day!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitanes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

In Minnesota for a short family visit & decided to give this hotel a try. We were quite pleased with our stay! First of all, the people at the front desk were super friendly. When we checked in, they gave us a map & some tips for getting around town. Every time we passed through the lobby, we'd get a wave or a 'hello'. The rooms weren't fancy, but they were clean and they always gave us plenty of extra towels, shampoo, lotion etc. Another thing we liked was the free breakfast every morning. I know alot of people complain about these 'free' breakfasts, but I thought there were plenty of choices for our family and the food was fresh. They had waffles, english muffins, toast, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, pastries, muffins, coffee, and juice. On Sunday morning, they also had eggs, bacon, and potatoes. We probably saved $20-25 per day, not having to buy breakfast for our group. Finally, there was a great bar/restaurant connected to the hotel. We didn't eat there, but we got drinks one night. They were inexpensive, but really good. It was a nice, quiet place to unwind after a long day with family. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Minnesota.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbjgroupie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This was our first stay at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson. It was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The housekeeping still would clean our room, even in the late afternoon, if we had been up late the evening before. They always supplied our room with extra towels and supplies. We did not have to call housekeeping about even one issue. The breakfast room was very pleasant and the food was plentiful for free. Our small dog went with us and we were only charged $25 for our entire 8 day stay instead of a daily fee. We will definitely stay at Country Inn & suites by Carlson the next time we travel.

Room Tip: Book Ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here from Wednesday, July 21st 2010 through Saturday, July 24th 2010. The location is very convenient for Interstate access and free on-site parking plentiful. The staff were friendly and courteous. The pool area is quite nice and even has showers. The breakfast was okay, but the breakfast room not quite sufficient for the number of guests and the breakfast room staff of one hopelessly overtaxed. The room was spacious, bright, and clean, and had all the regular amenities at a competitive rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTea4Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear Friend,

I noticed that your review had not been responded by prior management. I wanted to share with you that your feedback is important to us and I am thrilled to read that your stay was enjoyable! You and other guests' feedback has been heard and I wanted to share with you that we recently have gone through some great changes that I think you will appreciate.

We would love to have you stay with us again when your travels bring you to Minneapolis. As always, we have our delicious cookies and a hot beverage to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklyn Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - North
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
#4 of 8 in Brooklyn Center
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Minneapolis North
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Northwest
3.4 mi away
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center
Address: 2550 Freeway Blvd, Brooklyn Center, MN 55430-1719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Brooklyn Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Brooklyn Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Hotel Brooklyn Center
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Brooklyn Center
Country Inn Brooklyn Center
Brooklyn Center Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing