We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely fast and good food”
Review of 50's Grill

50's Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Hope, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Extremely fast and good food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I had the bacon cheeseburger with fries and a strawberry malt. The burger was a nice big size and cooked perfectly medium rare to my request. The fries were delicious. The malt was tasty and thick, even requiring a stir before I could pour it from the mixing cup into the glass. The total for my meal was about $12 to give you an idea. The atmosphere is a throwback to the 1950s including waitresses in poodle skirts. I will eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knutey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boring, needs a freshing up and a goid cleaning”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had an evening meal place was slow, food was blah, walleye sandwich smelt like fish, and looked anemic batter was like a fish stick, another meal was an orange salad, seemed like they made it on a bed of celery, chunks of celery, burger was ovet cooked and bland. Ice cream for.dessert was okay

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eyesdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food but not great”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Everyone seems to speak highly of the 50's Grill but I don't understand why. The food is good, but not great. The restaurant is not the nicest one in town (Arby's inside looks better). The service is good and efficient but not outstanding. This restaurant has been around forever. My son worked there over 20-years ago. So what brings me and hordes of others back. Part of it has to be the food. Right out of the 50's. Turkey, meatloaf, chicken pot pie, the comfort food we remember as kids, cooked home style. Ice cream Sundays, shakes, and fountain drinks; drinks I remember from the drug store as a kid. The foods not great but it's good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMessersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is great comfort food!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I checked Tripadvisor for a good spot in Brooklyn Center as we were there for the evening. The place is great, attentive waitresses in poodle skirts, private booths and real comfort food. I was going to fast the next day for medical tests so I went big and chose the turkey dinner, ti was great, close to what Grandma made. My wife had the Chicken Pot Pie and really enjoyed it.
The deserts were very tempting, but we held off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PamandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A unique and pleasing surprise along the interstate”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were very pleased with the food and service at the 50's Grill in Brooklyn Center. I had a wonderful meatloaf with potatoes and gravy, just like home. The bakery is impressive and the pie was delicious. The beer selection was adequate and we both had a wonderful time enjoying our dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 50's Grill also viewed

Brooklyn Center, MN
Brooklyn Park, MN
 

Been to 50's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing