We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service”
Review of 50's Grill

50's Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
twin cities
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My elderly mother liked to treat my family with a meal at the 50's Grill and it was always fun. We love the malts and pies! Though my mom has passed away we continue to eat there regularly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank photojerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you're looking a home cooked meal, this is the place. I love their burgers with homemade buns. The atmosphere takes you back to an era passed long ago. The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great old time food and waitresses in poodle skirts”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

When we want to go somewhere fun and special, we go here. The lobby is as if you stepped back in time. The 50's jukebox, and even a B/W TV. I like to show my G'daughter this is what my Livingroom looked like when I was a girl.
The food is wonderful and always fresh pie and deserts with ice cream. The waitresses are dressed in poodle skirts and are just darling. This place is like a destination and one of a kind a real Gem in Brooklyn Center. Close to the Brookdale Shopping Center. The best part it is down to earth affordable tasty food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Minnesota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Extremely fast and good food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I had the bacon cheeseburger with fries and a strawberry malt. The burger was a nice big size and cooked perfectly medium rare to my request. The fries were delicious. The malt was tasty and thick, even requiring a stir before I could pour it from the mixing cup into the glass. The total for my meal was about $12 to give you an idea. The atmosphere is a throwback to the 1950s including waitresses in poodle skirts. I will eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knutey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boring, needs a freshing up and a goid cleaning”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had an evening meal place was slow, food was blah, walleye sandwich smelt like fish, and looked anemic batter was like a fish stick, another meal was an orange salad, seemed like they made it on a bed of celery, chunks of celery, burger was ovet cooked and bland. Ice cream for.dessert was okay

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eyesdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 50's Grill also viewed

Brooklyn Center, MN
Brooklyn Park, MN
 

Been to 50's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing