We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wings were great, but the salads weren't so great.”

Mad Jacks Sports Cafe
Ranked #13 of 56 Restaurants in Brooklyn Park
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Minneapolis area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The wings were great, but the salads weren't so great.”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We ate at Mad Jack's last night. This included my 14 yr old son, my husband & myself. We don't have a lot of restaurants to choose from in Brooklyn Park, but this has always been a favorite of ours.
They have small TV's in most booths & my teenager & I love to tune into something while we are there. But last night they didn't have any of those booths available, unfortunately.
My son ordered the wings appetizer, which was on special due to a football game being televised. He had the dry rub preparation and it was wonderful. Our server said this method of prep was her favorite, so we went with that and we were happy that we did.
My son & I decided to split the fettuccine alfredo. We both liked it, as we often do.
I ordered a sided salad to go with my half of the meal and I was sorely disappointed. When it arrived it had a few mixed greens with large chunks of iceberg lettuce. There was one slice of cucumber and one slice of tomato. The eye appeal was awful and the taste was also awful. I felt like I was being punished with such a boring and lacking side salad. I mentioned this to the waitress and she brought out a wonderful variety of shredded carrots & red cabbage (which I thought should have been in the original salad to give it some appeal), chopped green onions and red onion slices. This made the side salad wonderful. Our waitress was very helpful and punctual.
My husband ordered the Greek salad and liked what was in it and how it looked, but he said it was very salty. Of course the olives and feta cheese would add some salt, but the dressing was overly salty, unfortunately.
We both would have liked some bread or cracker choices with our salad.
We asked our waitress about the sparseness of the salad and her comment was cute "I guess that's all you get for a $2.00 salad."
We will return again, but we sure hope they start paying a little more attention to their salads.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycampers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
50onthego
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere....Service...not so much”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I went here three weeks ago with friends. Our visit was based on my recommendation. The food was excellent as usual. However, after our food was served, we never saw our waitress again. We all wanted another beverage but could not get her attention no matter how hard we tried. We went 2 HOURS without a server. My friends are much more polite than I am. Had I been there with my husband, we would have gotten a manager to request a server.

Last night, my husband and I visited again. I ordered toast with my salad. The toast finally arrived when I was nearly done with my salad despite being assured three times that it was "on its way." My husband planned on ordering the Cuban sandwich, however, based on a rave review from our waitress, he took her advice and ordered Cuban toppings on a burger. He was served some sort of chicken sandwich.

So good food, great atmosphere....but the service is definitely iffy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bar in a unlikley location.”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Not the best part of town but this Bar is a really good hangout with some great deals and food. They also have a really cool outdoor area to smoke, drink and stay warm under a Hockey Rink sized heater! Your hair almost starts on fire it's so nice and toast. Very good for a cold MN winter. The indoor of the resturant looks very nice and has been updated over the years. The Apps and food are also good. Can't go wrong with Mad Jacks!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryanking02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I brought our two young kids out for an early dinner. The staff was very accommodating to a young family, and the food was great!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dazzlingdaveyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson Island, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place for food, drinks and entertainment”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I are regular patrons of Mad Jacks. They offer a great menu selection at reasonable rates. Great happy hour offers. Entertainment includes karaoke on Saturdays, bar poker on Sundays, magicians, live music and much more. Service from the staff is always top notch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Jacks Sports Cafe also viewed

Brooklyn Park, MN
Brooklyn Park, MN
 
Brooklyn Center, MN
Brooklyn Center, MN
 

Been to Mad Jacks Sports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing